We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really don't know how this place gets the rating it does.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luigi's Italian Restaurant

Luigi's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 282 Restaurants in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“I really don't know how this place gets the rating it does.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I watched the servers get coffee cups off of a tray that was sitting over a trash can in the cabinet. I saw under the drink station when the opened it to change a syrup bottle. It was the nastiest mess I've ever seen and it sits out in the middle of the restaurant. Food tasted like it came from the local retail grocery store. Service was average at best. I'll never going back after watching how they refilled drinks. That's a story in itself..

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    39
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great anytime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

they make the best pizza, nice crunchy crust i love it. Sometimes it's busy but the food good and the staff is really nice. To be honest its a great pizza lunch date

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I visited this restaurant for lunch a few times during my recent visit to Midland for business. This is a very convenient location for downtown workers who can easily walk to this restaurant from most any office building. The restaurant is small and is very busy during the lunch rush. The staff is very friendly and efficient towards getting folks in and out during their lunch hour. The portions served at lunch were just right. Menu was extensive for such a small restaurant. Really enjoyed the meatball sandwich and pizza as well as their lasagna. Highly recommend you consider this place if looking for a lunchtime meal in downtown Midland.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“West Texas Tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have eaten here a couple times in the last month having received several gift cards. The pizza is a thin crust and people either love it or hate it. It's different, not standard 'NY Style" but good, especially dipped in Ranch dressing. The salads tend to be a bit drenched in dressing which is not a problem for me since I like their ranch but you might want to order it "on the side' for the first time. This last time I had the Veal Parmigiana and it was GREAT! Definitely my new standard order. Our waitress was very friendly even though it was super busy. Get here early, or call ahead, if you don't want to wait. There were also several people picking up 'to go'orders so that is an option as well. Luigi's has signs posting a 2 drink maximum per guest because they care about their patrons. Wouldn't it be great if all restaurants were as responsible?

Oh they also have a great Pastrami sandwich too!

It is usually crowded and noisy, its called being a popular restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

too crowded food was cold and just flat too noisy and crowded and not impressed with service or food

Helpful?
Thank whit p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luigi's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing