We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Del Sol

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Casa Del Sol
Ranked #67 of 283 Restaurants in Midland
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

i thought i had this place hidden to myself and a few of my friends. we will come here when the other places are impossible to get into. but now, it is beginning to catch on and is quite busy and has trouble keeping the staff. the food is typical texmex but very tasty.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aggietraveler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wylie
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Baja fish and Tequila fish dishes are very good for a restaurant so far inland. We'll stop there again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BethanyLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Mexican Stir Fry...so GOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Seems like Midland has more than it's share of Mexican food restaurants (but what do you expect...we are in Texas). This is one that you should try however. Their salsa/hot sauce is fantastic. It has a great fresh taste. The atmosphere is very casual in fact you can catch your favorite sports activity on their TV. The bar is a comfy place to sit and visit w/ your buddies. My favorite off the menu is their Mexican Stir Fry! You can get beef, chicken or shrimp mixed w/ veggies and rice, Mexican style. The portions are huge. Order the small or be prepared to take some home with you..which is what I do. Their enchiladas are amazing too. Casa del Sol will not break your pocket book! It's a small and quaint place just east of downtown. The service has always been good and the wait staff is friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rtmidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“everything has been good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We are covered with Mexican restaurants but Casa Del Sol is very good. The chicken tortilla soup is one of my favorite and the fajitas have always been great.

Helpful?
1 Thank lujacque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great salsa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Cozy restaurant, location has had many prior incarnations.

Good food, ok service.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank znn786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing