We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Midland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very nice room with comfortable bed. Coookie was good on arrival. I enjoyed the stay and the staff was very friendly and courteous. A band playing outside was warned about but turned out to be no problem noise wise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review of our hotel. We are so pleased that you had a great stay! I do hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    153
    90
    62
    48
See reviews for
83
73
28
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall, the room was clean but I've stayed in business class hotels that were nicer and much cheaper than this Doubletree. I like the Doubletree brand but this room certainly was not worth $300/night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Aleasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. Currently, we are a bit higher priced than other Double Tree properties you may have stayed at. We are experiencing a boom economy due to the local oil and gas market, you will find that all hotels in the Permian Basin area are higher priced right now. I am glad that overall you had a good stay and didn't have issues with maintenance or our staff! I do hope we see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here on May 29 on a business trip to the oilfields in New Mexico. Checked in, was exhausted (after midnight), was given a warm cookie (nice), put went downhill from there. I was directed to room 622, and waved to a nearby elevator bank. Went up, and COULDN'T FIND THE ROOM. There was no number on that sixth floor that corresponded with my room number. Went back down, turns out I was directed to the wrong tower - another elevator bank exists all the way in the back - nearly 8 minute walk from the front desk to a tiny, two-person elevator you could easily miss. Front desk should have seen I was going to the wrong elevator bank, but alas they didn't bother to tell me. Finally found the room, went over to turn on the A/C unit, and the cover fell right off the thing onto the floor. Bathroom grout had signs of mold, and the reading light by the bed kept flickering off for no reason while I was trying to read, finally couldn't take it anymore so I just turned it off. The carpet was worn, and the room smelled really musty. For nearly $300 per night, this is about as bad as it gets, particularly for a Hilton (I'm an Honors member, and generally have good experiences in Hiltons). When I met my colleague for breakfast the next day, turns out his room didn't even have a BED. He needed to go down to the desk to check in to another room. Needless hassle all around for exhausted travelers.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get to the correct elevator bank!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I do apologize Sir, that you arrived late and were not directed to the proper elevator bank. The South tower elevators are approximately a 45 second walk down the hallway with a normal gait. The elevators there are the same size as the elevators in the North tower. Please feel free to ask for the North tower when making your next reservation as that seems to be your preference, we will try to accommodate you as long as we are not sold out. It was unfortunate that the cover fell off the ac unit, though that should not affect the operation, they are cosmetic and clip right on. It must not have snapped in place after cleaning. I'm sure that was shocking having it fall off like that. Again, my apologies. I have reported the flickering bulb to our maintenance department to have that changed, as well as the grout in the bathroom so they can check that, thank you for making me aware of the issues. When booking online, as your friend did, be cautious not to request a parlor room. They do not have beds, they are available in addition to sleeping rooms if one needs extra space. I do hope when you return that you will find everything to your satisfaction. If you experience any issues at all feel free to dial 0 and ask for Helen. I do hope we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Midland hotels

Muskogee, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Double Tree in Midland. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and the bed was wonderful. Look forward to staying there again. The service was excellent, The people were so friendly and helpful. When we checked in the men at the front desk went out of there way to help us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Orban E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for that lovely review! We are so happy you had a great experience with us and hope you will be back soon! We love our "get away" couples... what's better than a little romance? Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, MA, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was, by far, the worst Hilton product experience ever for me. As a long time Hilton Honors member and former Platinum level, this hotel is a firm example of why Hilton is no longer my hotel product of choice. The room was dirty and musty with poor/loud air conditioning. The restaurant was literally disgusting with water served in smelly, dirty glasses. It was also infested with flies. An absolutely horrible experience. Shame of Hilton for the product they are presenting to the public in Midland TX.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I do value all of our guests comments and opinions. We do have issues with ac noise especially when it's windy, as it often is here in Midland. As far as dirty glasses in the restaurant, all of our glassware is washed in a commercial dishwasher and polished after to prevent water spots. I don't know how you could have gotten a dirty, smelly glass. I apologize for flies, we were unloading new woodwork for our lobby area and the side door across from thee restaurant was propped open while our contractors were working. I would like to assure you that is not generally an issue. I apologize for any inconvenience these things caused and hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify our service failure for you on a future stay. Thank you for your email correspondence as we work to resolve this together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hotel is an older building, but is currently undergoing remodeling. Overall, property was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was what you would expect at a Hampton Inn, only it costs $10 here. Room rate is high for what you get; it is clear this and other hotels in Midland are capitalizing on high demand. Rates could not be sustained at this level if there were any competition. Nice location for downtown business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechSMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and noted that we have a wonderful staff. I think breakfast buffets are pretty typical anywhere you eat one... but we try to have a lot of variety. I hope that you enjoyed the renovations, it has been a long process with every surface in the building being updated! To address the comment about pricing, the lodging industry like any other business is as you stated, the law of supply and demand. In our current local economy the prices have risen throughout the area. We are higher priced now than we have been historically, but we are not the highest priced property in Midland, although we are one of the few full service hotels here. I hope that you will be back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Security (or lack thereof), noise of other patrons after midnight, restaurant staff/food was terrible, construction, staff with bad attitude. A large group of people came into the hallway after midnight and proceeded to mingle in the hallway and room to room, yelling, slamming doors, etc. Security didn't bother to handle it until someone complained after 45 minutes. Then, security didn't hang around to make sure the crowd dispersed, so it took another 30 minutes for it to actually be quiet enough to sleep again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Eva,
I am very sorry that you had this experience. We do provide security at our facility, however they cannot be everywhere at once or deal with situations until as you stated, they are reported. Often we are unaware of them until a guest calls. I do apologize for your inconvenience and our lack of a better response to the noise complaint. We really do take our guest safety and satisfaction very seriously. I hope this did not ruin your trip altogether, and that you will come back to give us a chance to make this right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midland hotels
5.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
4.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Midland
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Midland
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Midland
Hampton Inn Midland
#7 of 45 in Midland
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza
Address: 117 W Wall St, Midland, TX 79701-5246 (Formerly Hilton Midland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Midland
#3 Business Hotel in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in downtown Midland. Across from Centennial Plaza and within walking distance of several restaurants and fun night spots! We are just a short 15 minute drive from the airport. We offer two lounges on property, The Reserve on the ground floor and The Overlook Sky lounge a patio bar on our 3rd floor. Steam is our full service coffee shop in our lobby; featuring Starbucks coffee. Eatery 177 is our restaurant on property and offers room service. Complimentary wifi and valet service. Our staff is our biggest asset and we welcome you to come and experience real West-Texas hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Midland Hotel Midland
Hilton Hotel Midland
Midland Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing