We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hilton Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Midland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hilton Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This hilton had a clean room and good check in. The issue with this hotel only is that the weekends are catered to the oil workforce in the odessa area. Not bad but it can get crowded and loud. They allow pets but you will pay but the price is for a clean room Not bad for the price but keep bargaining for the best $ deal as they do lower if you ask.

Room Tip: Keep asking for a $ deal on the rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kehrha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    126
    71
    42
    34
See reviews for
61
55
25
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times on our business trips. Each time we notice the decline in service and especially cleanliness. Our room on Feb 16 and 17th 2012 was so dirty we had to put socks on before getting out of bed because the carpet was so filthy. At breakfast we ordered an omelet at the buffet line and the "cook"put the vegetables we ordered for the veggie omelet in the pan and never came back so the veggies burned and my business associate had to remove the pan from the fire. I went to get the "manager" and reported the incident and her comment was "next time see me when this happens"Obvious lack of training for their personnel both in restaurant and front desk. At $170 a night for our room we won't be staying there again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneholland777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Midland hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Have Hilton Honors and yet have never been in a more poorly maintained room as far as bathroom and entry. Housekeeping was asked repeatedly to have multitude of mold removed from bathroom shower tiles. I bought a toothbrush and bottle of beach and attacked it myself. Rug at door to room was so soiled by big splotches of unidentified substances we thought at first it was wet from a leak. All requests to clean it were ignored. Would have moved but was double reservation with connecting rooms and all the baby equiptment had been already been installed next door in a room in much better condition. Luckily most of our time spent elsewhere. Considering the excellent quality of staff for all other services, I can't even imagine having a room with such poorly maintained facilities offered to anyone at any time.

Room Tip: They are installing a new pool area so would request room not facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skicheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton over Thanksgiving weekend. The staff was amazing!! Even when the shuttle driver was sick, the evening manager drove us to my sister's home and offered to pick us up. As Hilton rewards members, we received free coupons for the breakfast buffet and appetizers at the restaurant. One morning, we missed the buffet, and I had the migas - highly recommend! Some of the best migas I ever had. As a previous reviewed suggested, we booked the north tower. Our room was spacious, bedding was clean, and comfortable, overall a great room overlooking the pool. The only challenge, is that they were in the middle renovating the pool. Not a huge issue as we were gone all day everyday, but at breakfast it was mind splitting. My guess, is that it should be done by January. For all the reviewers talking about the carpet , I was told they are replacing in 1Q 2012. We didn't see anything of issue. Overall great hotel with superior service with a two bars (one smoking for those who may smoke, and one non) which was a nice way to wind down after turkey dinner. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Nice place to stay...if you can get a reservation. Not very convenient to the bulk of the city's restaurants. Parking on site but it is unattended. There is a bar near the lobby that seems to be a popular hangout for prostitutes serving the oilfield workers staying at the property.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radwell
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I've stayed at this Hilton a couple of times before with mixed results. This time I was given a guest room in the North Tower and was pleasantly surprised with what I found. The room was significantly better than similar in the South Tower. It looks like my room had been recently decorated and fitted out with a new bathroom and furniture. Ask to stay in a room in the North Tower!

The hotel has a mixture of smoking and non-smoking rooms. The non-smoking rooms seem to book up fast. Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker or you will be disappointed.

Staff are friendly and attentive, especially on the front desk and the concierge.

The guest rooms all have the under-window fitted air-conditioning units. Although the unit in the room I had this time was new, it still made a lot of noise. If you are a light sleeper, you will struggle to get a good night's sleep with the AC on.

Two bars in the hotel. The main bar on the ground floor allows smoking which is not great if you are again a non-smoker.

Overall I was happy with the stay. If only the AC units were silent!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NearRadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I really can't believe Hilton has their name on this hotel. While the staff was very impressive the hotel itself needs an entire makeover or just demolished. The attire is very old and outdated, the carpet throughout is filthy, there was standing water on the carpet near the a/c in my room (definitely molded), wireless internet sucks. There are not a lot of decent restaurants closeby.
If you plan on staying in Midland for an extended period, stay near the 250 Loop, it's close to lot's of nice restaurants and the mall. I ended up moving to the Holiday Inn Express and it's very nice !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midland hotels
5.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Midland
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Midland
4.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Midland
Hampton Inn Midland
#5 of 45 in Midland
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza
Address: 117 W. Wall St., Midland, TX 79701 (Formerly Hilton Midland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Midland
#3 Business Hotel in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in downtown Midland. Across from Centennial Plaza and within walking distance of several restaurants and fun night spots! We are just a short 15 minute drive from the airport. We offer two lounges on property, The Reserve on the ground floor and The Overlook Sky lounge a patio bar on our 3rd floor. Steam is our full service coffee shop in our lobby; featuring Starbucks coffee. Eatery 177 is our restaurant on property and offers room service. Complimentary wifi and valet service. Our staff is our biggest asset and we welcome you to come and experience real West-Texas hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Midland Hotel Midland
Hilton Hotel Midland
Midland Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing