We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skye high!”
Review of Lochshore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinbane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochshore House
Ranked #1 of 12 Edinbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Skye high!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner and I originally booked Lochshore House for it's views, but oh how much more she offers! Having been touring for 10 days before our arrival here, we thought we'd seen it all, but this took it to another level. Warm hospitality, luxurious comfort, and delicious home-cooking. Colin and Karen really go the extra mile. The views are spectacular looking out across to the Hebrides with nothing man-made in sight. Opportunity to view the wildlife is on the doorstep, quite literally. We were welcomed as if friends who had known each other for years. Room facilities and comfort were equal to a Park Lane hotel. The home-cooking was spot on; definitely a place to go if you're a foodie. A good location on the western side of the Isle almost equi-distant from the Cuillins, Portree, and Uig. There is one excellent restaurant down the road and another within half an hour. Next time we'll be staying for more than the two nights!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeBarnes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
184
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely house with beautifully clean rooms, delicious breakfasts, great views to the water in a peaceful location and run by a really nice couple. We highly recommend Lochshore House. Has fuelled my desire for free range hens in our garden even more! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishGirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Karen & Colin offer great value at the most gorgeous little B&B at the end of the road. (So worth the perseverance in finding it) We were warmly welcomed for our two night stay and loved hearing about what brought K & C to Edinbane and their recommendations for food & sightseeing. The room was perfectly snuggly and we were warm despite a fair gale blowing both nights. All amenities are ship-shape and attention to thoughtful details is spot on. The breakfasts...wow! Best blueberry French toast ever...with (yes, as has been pointed out before) REAL maple syrup. Super porridge and stellar full Scottish breakfast were also enjoyed. Watching the hens and ducks can be quite humourous as they often have different ideas about where they should spend the night relative to what K & C think! In telling our friends about our trip - we are finding that Skye and our stay at Lochshore is easily becoming the highlight. Many thanks and best wishes for every success with this gem.

Room Tip: The Edinbane Inn has excellent pub food and a welcoming music "jam session" on Sunday afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pil0tsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ried Im Innkreis, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lochshore house is situated lonesome on the Loch Greshornish in the middle north of Skye and ideal for daytrips to the sourroundings (Kilt rock, Quiraing, Man of Storr, Talisker Distillery, Portree and many more). The only thing you might here is their cock in the morning :)The house is fantastic, as well as the hosts. Next to your room there is a shared lounge for both rooms with big windows so you have a stunnig view on the loch and landscape. We really enjoyed our stay so much - thanks to Karen (she's an "award-winning" cook !!) and Colin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigevano
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We really enjoy our stay but the place is quite at north and skye is larger than we think. So book at least 2 days, and taste the amasing stay with Colin and Karen, they are very special guest.

The house is in a stunning location. A very large, lighty and confortable room, with everything new and perferctly choosed to according whit the place, and a nice lounge area for relax, reading.
Very good breakfast whit eggs just from the friendly chickens. Whe dine at the inn and it was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lolisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A bit difficult to find but OMG it was so worth it. Stunning location, Fabulous hosts, Wonderful breakfast (those eggs and salmon on toast..yummy), loved the chickens...well LOVED everything. Oh and I should not forget the delicious homemade piece of chocolate cake waiting for us after the fantastic diner @ the Granery in Portree. Some friends are planning to go to the Isle of Skye next year, I have already recommended the Lochshore house. PS: please do NOT miss Dunvegan castle, gardens and seals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FrenchMurielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are heading to Skye, do not pass up the opportunity to stay with Colin and Karen in their lovely, secluded home on the shores of the remote and breathtaking Loch Greshornish. The place is a perfect size - two cozy rooms for guests with a common lounge area that overlooks the yard and the loch beyond. Breakfast is great - full Scotch breakfast with loads of options.

When you come back from your day's adventuring on the islands, Colin's a dab hand at helping set out wet gear in the garage to dry so it's ready to go the next morning. And you might find a few delicious treats waiting for you as well, courtesy of Karen (and the house chickens, who supply the delicious eggs for breakfast and baking)!

Truly, the only complaint we had was that the location, little extras, and our hosts' warmth and hospitality all combined to make a terific experience that was awfully hard to leave.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dsreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinbane
0.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
33.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochshore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochshore House

Property: Lochshore House
Address: Lochshore House Kildonan, Edinbane IV51 9PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Edinbane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Edinbane
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochshore House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Lochshore House Edinbane, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing