We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and smelly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinbane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Edinbane
Ranked #11 of 11 Edinbane B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We called in with a view to eating and nearly choked on the smell of old dog as we opened the door. The pub maybe old and have plenty of history which would be wonderful if it wasn't so run-down and dirty. The owners also have 'character' but need to up their game somewhat to make people feel more welcome. We hope people coming from abroad do NOT judge this as the standard British/Scottish hospitality - you don't have to go far to get much, much better than this. The Scottish Tourist Board should be ashamed of themselves allowing a place as bad as this to operate as a business on Skye. We cannot judge the food or the rooms as we did not extend our stay, but hurried on after only one drink, which was more than enough in this dreadful place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandypandyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 149 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a great nights stay at The Lodge, Edinbane. The owners are lovely, interesting and welcoming people who did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The Lodge its self is very old (1500s) and has the look and sense of a really old building (but well maintained) full of history and character and the owners have furnished it with lovely period pieces and curios which really add to the atmosphere of the Hotel. We chose to go to another restaurant for an evening meal, however the menu at the Lodge looked varied and traditional and if breakfast was anything to compare by will be superbly cooked and tasty. Our room had a period feel to it, clean and comfortable bed, en suite with clean and adequate facilities. Would definately book here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonmcculloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Called here for a drink in the afternoon with a view to eat there in the evening!UGH! Didn't bother booking a table because the smell hit us as we walked in the door! Stale beer, dogs and sweaty old men- my advice - steer clear - eat over the road.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Vixen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had such a fabulous stay at this B&B! It was literally exactly what I was looking for. I like authentic places to stay, rather than chain hotels. I like places with character. Added to that, I was travelling by myself and that can get quite lonely...You end up sitting at the bar by yourself much of the time. This place was the PERFECT solution to both issues.

The Lodge itself was a blast from the past...It's an old carriage house and while it is still clean and has modern amenities, there is still a lot of history there. The decor was lovely, my room was so cute! The bathroom was nice and modern...very clean. I had the cutest stain glass skylight. The common room was very comfortable as well, with big leather couches and wifi (which you will be thankful for because reception in that area is awful). The bar was probably the best part. They have an excellent seleciton of scotch and beer, as well as some wine and other spirits. It's the kind of place where locals actually do come and hang out, and they were very friendly to me. Peter and Hazel introduced me around and I had some rounds with the guys. I also ate in the bar (you can eat in the dining room, but I didn't really want to). The food, prepared by Hazel, was outstanding. Traditional Scottish fare, but VERY well done (now I'm craving toffee pudding...). Also, Hazel and Peter were so nice and friendly...They made sure I had everything I needed and (as I mentioned) introduced me to everyone. The rest of the staff is super nice as well. It's really like staying with a family as opposed to a full on hotel. It is exactly how I imagined a Scottish B&B to be...friendly and welcoming and homey. I totally want to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and tend to go to bed early, try not to get a room above the bar. I went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have spent 6 of the last 7 nights in the Bar at "The Lodge"... eating twice... and loved every minute of it! Yes, the landlord - Peter - is a character... but the question I would ask all the people who have criticised him, is would you rather spend an evening in an anonymous pub, with no atmosphere & nothing to remind you of it in a month's tine, let alone a year's... or would you rather spend an evening (or 6 in our case), laughing at and with the barman, amused by the anecdotes, but still thoroughly entertained? I know which one I would choose. Every night we walked in, our pints would be poured & he would open the wine for our ladies. He was genuinely interested in where we had been... & the food, cooked by his equally characterful wife, Hazel, was exquisite. We had Haggis one night, which was beautifully peppery... & Venison casserole, which she especially made for us, another... which was my meal of the week across a range of establishments. I also had a wonderful jam roly-poly, which was just perfect! We went in November, so it was quiet, but still a wonderful bar - loads of character - nice wood burner. The ale was from the Skye Brewery which was really, really good. They also have two beautiful black labradors - Brodie & Toby - who are both lovely & very affectionate. This is a great pub, serving good food - thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We chanced this place even after reading a mixed bag of reviews and wish we hadn't now. We had planned to stay for 3 nights however lasted one night. It is very overpriced out of date and you can get a lot better place to stay for cheaper on the Isle of Skye. Rooms are very small with decor from 40 years ago. The main reason for leaving was the manager's attitude when it came to customer service, all he wanted to do was sit behind the bar and anything extra was of great hassle for him. Being a dog friendly place he even had his own opinions on how one should look after their own dog which I didn't take kindly to expressing my opinions in a friendly manner however, reading from another review his attitude sounds exactly the same swearing and telling us to go elsewhere which i did with great pleasure the next day. We checked straight out the next day however were charged for the extra night that we didn't stay as we left at midday and not the apparent check out time of 10 am which we were never informed about. All that mattered here was your money to them and that's it. I grudgingly departed with my hard earned cash as I had had enough and just wanted to leave. Overall review - DO NOT STAY HERE - PLEASE DO NOT CHANCE IT LIKE US AS YOU WILL BE EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HotelInspector43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently arrived on Skye amid a torrential downpour, and not wishing to pitch a new tent in this we phoned several hotels that would allow dogs. The Lodge at Edinbane were immediately helpful and offered us a twin room with our own private bathroom, no problem with our feisty little terriers either. Getting there we were relieved to find a lovely character period building that has the atmosphere of an old inn. Very comforting and dry, nice clean & warm room, satelite TV and lots of interesting features around the hotel that made it special and just up our alley. The owners are a nice couple who are very friendly and made us right at home. Great home cooked bar food, friendly barman who told us all sorts of places to visit.
Would definitely recommend for a stay on Skye, especially with small dogs like ours. it isn't a modern "Holiday Inn" or all-facilities hotel with spas and all mod cons, but a lovely old country inn style of comfort & welcome you will get. If you like historical character and a homely atmosphere that is also dog-freindly this will be for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stargemmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinbane
1.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
197 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edinbane Inn
Edinbane Inn
#3 of 11 in Edinbane
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
885 reviews
4.5 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Kilcamb
B&B Kilcamb
#6 of 11 in Edinbane
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Edinbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Edinbane

Address: Old Dunvegan Road | Edinbane, Edinbane IV51 9PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Edinbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edinbane
Price Range: $80 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Food, drink and accommodation in an historic and allegedly haunted 16th Century Hunting Lodge and Coaching Inn on Scotland's stunningly beautiful and romantic Isle of Skye. A romantic refuge steeped in history where you can enjoy the very best food, friendly atmosphere and be ideally placed to visit all of the tourist attractions of northern Skye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Edinbane Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing