We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been a long time but back again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinbane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Edinbane
Ranked #12 of 12 Edinbane B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I haven't been to Skye since 2005 but came back and decided to stay where I stayed the last time. When I got there I was greeted as if I was there last week they remembered me from that long ago. I came back because I know what I am getting good service and a friendly welcome at a good price. The food was excellent I had homemade steak pie made by Peter in the bar which has been renovated since I was there last there and looks very good. I stayed in the same room as last time a four poster which has had a completely new bathroom put in my wife's loved it. Skye hasn't changed much more houses and more people which is a shame. I will put some pictures up as soon as my wife gives me her camera lol.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4 which is a very nice room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piedpiperscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Edinbane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 146 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were staying in the local area whilst on Skye and had been dining at the Inn along the road. Saturday night was very busy in the Inn so we decided to try out the Lodge instead - I wish we hadnt!! The man on the bar didnt give us a very warm welcome to begin with, choice of food was rubbish but we didnt have much option to go elsewhere so decided to give it a go.
I ordered Muscles which were cold, table service wasnt great and we were given what I can only describe as what looked like a face cloth as a napkin! Our table was wobbly, floor boards were broken and we were left to sit on a hard surface that had no cushions - sorry I tell a lie, one cushion that looked like it had come out of the 1940's and hadn't seen a washing machine since then either!! I personally wouldnt recommend this place, although the bar is beautiful inside. Shame about the food and staff!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiMD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed here over the easter weekend and must admit i enjoyed it. nice and cozy good food good beer.i must admit i read some of the reviews on the site and dont know what these people expect or want for there money but we were very happy.The food was standard price for bar food but i enjoyed the food and there was plenty of it. Edinbane is a quiet village but well located to enjoy the north end of Skye. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tghost2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband and I have just been to the Lodge in Edinbane. Having read the mixed reviews on this site, we decided to see what it was like for ourselves. When we entered the bar, the first thing that struck us was the smell, which was not entirely pleasant (not the peat fire), and then the fact that there were only 2 people in there, clearly friends of the barman. We went up to the bar and I commented on how lovely and warm it was, which didn't illicit the friendly response I was hoping for, so we ordered and he served.
Unfortunately, my husband's beer was sour - not really badly, but definitely on the turn - so, with some trepidation, he took it up to the bar and told the barman. The barman said he'd try it so he poured himself some, tried it and declared it fine. He then passed it to one of his friends who also said it was fine and "it's supposed to taste like that". My husband has drunk quite a bit of ale from the Skye brewery, and none of it has tasted like that! But he didn't have much choice other than to withdraw.
So I finished my drink and we went to leave, with my husband's pint undrunk. At this point, the barman offered our money back for the pint, so my husband went up to the bar and said he appreciated that, as the beer really wasn't right. Then the barman suddenly lost his rag, which was quite strange, and said we'd over-stepped the mark and should [--] off! We left and will never go back.
It was all the more bizarre as we had just been at the Edinbane Inn, a couple of minutes up the road, which couldn't have been nicer. If you're ever in Edinbane, go to the Inn, not the Lodge!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

It's a beautiful quirky hotel with a lot of very ancient features. The beds were comfortable. The rooms were rather old fashioned and so were the facilities within the room but personally I found it quite endearing like moving back 20 years in time about (all in excellent working state I must say!).

We only had breakfast there and that was fine. The best thing though was the travelling advice we received during breakfast, which made our farther trip so much more successful and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

we have been visiting skye for 4 years now, we try and visit twice a year, we stay at Ghillies cottage in Greshornish. The Edinbane Lodge is close by and feels like our local, feels like we have been going there for years,Hazel and Peter are 2 lovely lovely, down to earth people and we really took them to our hearts, we got on so well with them and hope that they felt the same. For all we did not stay in the lodge we did eat there and found the food and the service was really good and homely. We were so sad to leave this time around, skye is a wonderful, magical place and we think that if you come to a place like this it should be traditionally scottish. If you prefare posh fancy hotels that you are afraid to sit down in and fancy shops this is not the place for you. we always have withdrawal symptons when we come home and after reading some of the negative reviews all we can say to these snobs is "BOG OFF" (one of Hazels favourite sayings) because if we could jump in our car and go to the lodge right now for a meal or a drink and a bit of friendly banter we would jump at the chance, we met some great people in the lodge, there was Alan and Angus and even Robert, sadly we have to wait until April or May next year. We only hope the lodge and Hazel and Peter and the regulars havnt change one little bit when we do return because it just wouldnt be the same. Terry Rhonda and Maximus the dog xxx from Hollinside Durham..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

"start the evening with an aperitif by the roaring fire..." so says the web site for this hotel. We would love to have been able to do this during our recent two night stay, but sadly the owner refused to light the fire ! This was in spite of the fact that my daughter and her husband, who were visiting from Canada, were decidedly cold. The owner told us that coal had gone up so much in price that "there would be very few fires lit this year!!" So if you are looking for a "romantic refuge and friendly atmosphere".....stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinbane
2.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
184 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,068 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
9.7 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edinbane Inn
Edinbane Inn
#8 of 12 in Edinbane
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Edinbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Edinbane

Address: Old Dunvegan Road | Edinbane, Edinbane IV51 9PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Edinbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Edinbane
Price Range: $81 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Food, drink and accommodation in an historic and allegedly haunted 16th Century Hunting Lodge and Coaching Inn on Scotland's stunningly beautiful and romantic Isle of Skye. A romantic refuge steeped in history where you can enjoy the very best food, friendly atmosphere and be ideally placed to visit all of the tourist attractions of northern Skye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Edinbane Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing