We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We are a family of four and stayed in a suite with an adjoining room for the children.

Let's start with the best bit. Without exception, the staff at the hotel were polite, friendly, eager to help and answered our queries immediately. Not pretentious or officious in any way, they all seemed genuinely nice people.

Overall the hotel bats at it's four star standard. The public rooms are lovely, and the great hall very impressive. Our room was reasonably spacious and well equipped, if a little dated. The bathroom was large but somewhat tired. A comfortable room though.

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings, but breakfast was very good and the service of Barbara and the team excellent.

The spa was also very good, and again the staff super. Only disappointment was that the steam room was broken as my son and I enjoy a good debate whilst cooking! Never crowded though and very easy to use. A few newspapers in the spa area would be welcome.

Would we go back? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
There are newer reviews for Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay overnight but was part of a hen party using the day spa facilities.
On arrival on a brilliantly sunny day you couldn't but be taken by the beauty of the place.
Having drinks on the patio was lovely with beautiful views.
Unfortunately the quality of the refreshments fell short of what I was expecting bearing in mind the reputation of the restaurant - tea was a cup of tepid water with a tea bag on the side that wouldn't brew (to be fair it was replaced with hot water when pointed out) and the cakes were dry and disappointing. Lunch sandwiches and Caesar salads were pleasant but lacking in quantity and the ordered bottles of water were forgotten.
On the day we arrived the steam room and sauna were out of use all day despite being told that they would open later. We weren't warned of this on advance and to be honest we struggled to fill our time with just a pool & jacuzzi. The staff were not empowered to try to offer discount or complimentary anything by way of compensation and just stated that they would have a word with "the Manager".
The pricing structure for Spa days doesn't seem to follow logic and upgrading is not the most economic especially as there is a 30% discounts on treatments booked on the day!
That said, my "deep tissue massage" from Tonia was THE BEST I've had and I will definitely return for another of those but not for a day spa. Next time I'll go to Ragdale!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evansfamily71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The room was poorly furnished,not in an antique way.The bed linen was redolent of a no star guest house.No air conditioning, no turn down service, no room safe,no fridge. The lighting in the room did not allow any close inspection for make up.The lift looked like it came from faulty towers, with an exit on the second floor, that tripped you up every time.
Nice gardens, and staff, although in the restaurant the cook,...can't.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank evelyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with a small group in July 2013. Nothing but praise for the building, the quiet location, the history, the furnishings, bedrooms, facilities, spa, cleanliness and staff.
I thought the restaurant food at dinner was probably the best I have eaten, bar none, at any price (and I have been around for a more than a few years!). Breakfasts also superb and cooked food choice totally flexible.
I would have given a full 5-stars but for the hard mattress with a sunken middle which appeared to be a basic (non pocket sprung) item. This is my only criticism - otherwise I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank townfarmjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed overnight to attend meeting here next day. Room large and comfortable, nice views over the lawns. Nice to free bottled water in room and free WiFi. Room was warm but fan provided.
Dinner in private dining room was good. Nice courtyard in the centre of the building for after dinner drinks.
Breakfast OK.
Would probably return with husband

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Steeped in history and Great British spendour, Rushton Hall is a true gem of Northamptonshire, tucked behind the market town of Rothwell, near Kettering. I have been fortunate enough to have enjoyed many work Christmas parties and events here in the past but my last trip with my dear friends was indeed superb!

To celebrate my friend's 40th, five of us booked an enormous room over the old stables, above the spa area of the hotel. It was utterly amazing, with a super view. We were greeted with exceptional charm and our footman was so wonderful. We had an interesting trip to the room, using a lift to go up one floor, which was still the ground; a real essence of 'Harry Potter'!

The room was very luxurious, with extremely comfortable beds. The bathroom was very grand. Soon after arrival, we ventured down to the spa, keen to enjoy the facilities and discovered a nice steam and sauna room. The pool was a lovely size but due to a boiler problem, which engineers were desperately working on, that day, overnight and the next morning, the pool was stone cold, as was the jacuzzi, so only a toe was dipped in each. One friend though, decided to be brave an took the plunge, which she said she enjoyed but promptly exited the pool after two lengths. It was such a disappointment that the water was cold but these things happen and we shall return again.

Another friend booked a back and shoulder massage, which she said was fantastic and really eased her knots, aches and pains. It must have worked as upon returning from her treatment, she fell asleep on her lounger by the pool!

We enjoyed an astoundingly good cooked English breakfast, with the works, enjoyed in one of the very lovely wood panelled rooms. We did indeed receive the Royal treatment and made to feel very welcome and special by all staff. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

stunning location.
lovely staff
nice Spa
nice treatments.
Only had breakfast as Dinner was expensive, so went to local pub five minute walk away.
Will definatley return.
Only one request to extend the use of the spa on the day you check out until 3pm. this would allow new guests to check in but leaving guests to get their time on their leaving day. check out was 11am. You can't check in until 3pm. We only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srichathire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushton
23.5 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
729 reviews
14.6 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
959 reviews
13.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Desborough Road, Rushton NN14 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Rushton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushton
Price Range: $142 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rushton Hall is a Grade I Listed 4 Red Star Hotel and 3 Rosette Restaurant, surrounded by the cities of Kettering and Market Harborough. Guests will find this convenient location is just minutes from Wicksteed Park, Stoke Albany Golf Club, Rockingham Castle, Rockingham Speedway, Rutland Water, Telford Way Industrial Park and Kettering Business Park. The nearest train stations are Kettering or Market Harborough. Beauty and elegance abounds to enhance the guest's experience. From beautiful gardens for an afternoon stroll to the sparkling pool for a quick dip to relaxing with spa services, this hotel offers a variety of luxuries to enhance any getaway. All rooms are individually designed in keeping with their country house decor. Bed sizes vary per room and all rooms are ensuite and feature tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and slippers and turn down service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushton Hall Hotel Rushton
Hall Hotel Rushton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing