We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Triangular Lodge, Rushton”

Rushton Triangular Lodge
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Triangular Lodge, Rushton”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very unusual small building with a fascinating history. It's part of a much larger estate although the building itself is very small. The assistant was knowledgeable and able to give a summary of the brochure content.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaCounsellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    49
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden History”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am loathe to review this lodge as it's a hidden gem. The more reviews, the more visitors. Great for English Heritage, but rather spoils my 'exclusive' historical building.

If you're looking for something on the scale of Burgled you'll be disappointed. This is a small lodge on three floors with loads of hidden religious symbolism built into the triangular building. The visitors centre isn't much to write home about, ice creams and a few EH souvenirs in the porta-cabin, but the lady that runs the place for EH is fantastically knowledgeable ands welcoming.

Look out for the priest hole on the first Floor. I'm not convinced it is a priest hole as it's too exposed, but it's fun the shut the kids in.

Ask about the rumours of the secret tunnel between the lodge and the house (now a fabulous, and fabulously priced, health club, restaurant and spa). There have been excavations before but they didn't find the tunnel. Time for another try I think.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tim_foster5mpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting and Quirky”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Historically quite fascinating, with symbology signifying Catholic links. Quite expensive though for what is here

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GPaulM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“a hidden gem ... lovely atmosphere, helpful staff”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

we stopped here on our way north - easy to find by following the brown signs when you leave the A14 - really helpful staff member who made us feel very welcome - liked the fact that it was so close to the road so was easy to access - parking is limited as it is just a layby so may be a problem occasionally? - It isn't very exciting inside, but the outside is fascinating and it is well worth buying the guide to read about all the symbols even if you only read it later - so glad we found the place :) the lady staff member also helped us find somewhere else to go on our way home ... really good to get such service these days

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank janeyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great monument with a wonderful story”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A great walk into the past.See if you can decipher the code contained in the decoration on the tower.Noone has yet cracked the code.A very interesting monument especially if you recall the connection of the owner that had it built to the Gunpowder plot and being a closet Catholic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rickmarje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rushton Triangular Lodge also viewed

Rothwell, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 
Castle Ashby, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Rushton Triangular Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing