We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the staff and the food”
Review of Balkonen

Balkonen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Lebanese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love the staff and the food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

this place is so amazing. The staff is so friendly. Great service and the food is awesome. The whole familly works there so the atmosphere is great. Love the meals i tried from the Middle East. The veggie Lasagne is also super.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tia170586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    59
    14
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north west england
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as our first visit 20+ years ago”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Going back twenty or more years, our first experience of Middle Eastern food was here at Balconen. There was nothing like it at home and we found each mouthful to be a new flavour experience. There have been many Middle Eastern meals since then – not least the ones we now cook at home. But I suppose that, as with other “first time” experiences in life, we always remember Balconen with affection. Now, of course, two decades later, there isn’t the element of surprise with the food but it’s still really good – and better than a number of places I can think of in the UK. And the mezze, of their choice of dishes, is a steal at €40 for two people.

There were dips to start – the familiar houmous and moutabel – the latter excellent with a real smoky flavour to the aubergine - and a new one on us of sweetened red pepper with crushed nuts that worked as contrast with the savoury ones. Alongside, a real good fattoush – good crunchy salad ingredients, toasted pitta and a bang-on lemony dressing, that may have been enhanced by sumac. And khobez bread to mop it all up.

Then some warm items. Two types of fatayer – one spinach, the other meat. And, as a change from the usual stuffed vine leaves, lamb and rice were encased by cabbage leaves. There was also falafel – a nice crunchy coating to the chickpea mousse. And a dish of roasted cauliflower, drizzled with a tahini sauce.

And, finally, a plate of chicken sharwarma, drizzled with the garlic mayo sauce that always seems to accompany chicken. The kitchen hadn’t put a foot wrong – everything had been really good and we told the owner so. In return, he brought us a dish of a new dip to try – pureed cauliflower mixed with houmous. It was light, creamy and just plain bloody delicious. He also offered a freebie liquer but we declined with thanks.

Balconen also serves pizza and the like. I’ve no idea if they’re any good as I’ve never felt the need to try them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place one of the best I've been to”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant. Fantastic staff, good variety, reasonable price, good quality food. Ate there last year every bit as good this year. Foods always fantastic eaten there 5-6 times over last two years and never had a bad meal yet

Helpful?
Thank Steve0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmeath
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lasagne is unreal”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

tryed this place as recommended by a few people that work there and god was i amazed by how good the food was i was blown away by the food lasagne was unreal and the price was good also worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank yupdarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Still a great place after all these years”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We've been visiting the Balkonen for over 10 years and we've enjoyed it every time. The food is always excellent, the service is always excellent and the staff are always very friendly. I recommend the Meze. Ask to sit on the balcony, it's less humid.

Helpful?
Thank graham_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkonen also viewed

Arona, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Tenerife, Canary Islands
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Tenerife, Canary Islands
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Balkonen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing