We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean apartments in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colon II Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Spent a week at Colon II from 13th - 20th Feb. The complex was full when we were there and spoke to a nice gent who said that he had to stay at The Columbus Aparthotel up the road as couldn't get in. Have to say I was a little bit disappointed with the room as we were on the ground floor facing the road so no privacy as people walking past regularly. Also no toaster - just a toastie maker. After reading all the previous excellent reviews maybe we were expecting a palace. The staff are excellent and a nice pool area, couldn't get a sunbed in the sun a couple of times though and pool too cold. We thought the location was very good - go right out of the apartments if you want Elvis impersonators at night and cheap beer - go left slightly then straight down to the beach if you want a fantastic Mojito for 2 Euro at the fabulous surf shack - go close to sunset as they play Bob Marley and lots of people gather. You can also book in for free yoga and pilates here to - unfortnately we noticed this too late in the week. There are some excellent restaurants to try including Mama Rosa on site - you should get a card for 15% discount. Also Pasta & Vino on the front, Meson Castellano and Thai Botanical are worth a visit. All in all we would stay here again but hope to get a higher floor with a better view next time. PS - do your fellow travellers a favour and if you are not in a ground floor apartment think about the noise you are making - high heels on a stone floor sound horrendous when you're trying to get to sleep in the room below and so do chairs being dragged!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Femaleram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 741 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

been stayin here for five years now, very clean, friendly and comfortable apartments. no noise@ nite although very close to patch area and veronicas is five minutes away.

also when i go @ xmas and new year same guests return year in year out, lovely people, "you know who you are". cant speak highly enough of the staff, especially pool bar, and scots guy in THE BAR!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank octopussys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Just returned from 11 day stay in colon apartments booked via thomsons.
Weather good as it is also their winter ,only had 1 bad day when it rained nearly all day but other days able to sunbath or walk wearing only shorts & teeshirt. Great location in centre of resort but not noisy (may be different in mid summer !).Hundreds of bars & restaurants nearby with short walk to a number of beaches.Complex kept spotless by cleaners who cleaned apartments on daily basis.
Part of rooms overlook pool & resort & part overlook single storey apartment complex next door. Our room overlooked apartments with that side of complex being preferable as it got sun on balcony from sunrise to sunset. The poolside rooms did not get any sun .
Suggest you try & get a room on the sunnyside but not on the ground floor as these rooms have no view (see the photo of room 127 patio on this site)
I phoned apartments beforehand & requested room on upper floor which was given.
Contact details for colon are:
Tel: 0034 922 793 716
E mail: info@apartamentoscolon2.com
Web: www.apartamentoscolon2.com
Apartment facilities include:
Kitchen: kettle, 2 ring elec hob, breville toaster, fridge
Bathroom: shower & bath, hairdryer
Living room: ceiling fan, large tv with sky but this has to be paid for (did not use & did not ask what cost is )
Room key is card not key & safe uses keypad so no keys to carry when out.
Reception is 24 hours
On check in given card which can be used for 15% discount at mamma rosa & michalangelo restuarants.
Also given green banana card at thomsons welcome meeting which gives 10% discount at many bars & restaurants.
Personal favourites:
Restaurants : Knong Tsha (chinese near to parque santiago 3 apartments)
Bombay blue (indian above water fountains)
Michalangelo (round corner from apartments ,opposite columbus)
Beach: playa de las vistas
Walks: Along promenade to Los Christianos ( suggest sunday when market held there)
Along promenade to Playa del duque
Trips for families: Loro Parque & Siam waterpark
Trips for couples: Mount teide & las gigantes
English breakfasts cost only 3 euros
Local beer cost 1-3 euros a pint
Hiper dino supermarket is at top of path which runs alongside apartments.
For a good value holiday in clean centrally located apartments then I would recommend colon 2.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Our previous visit had been 2 years before. On our first visit although we had requested a studio we were given an apartment with 2 bedrooms, so I believe we were upgraded. Our second visit we booked a studio and that is what we were given. We were at The Colon 11 for 2 weeks and a studio apartment is ample for a couple. The room was very clean with a flat screen freeview television with lots of English Channels. Whilst I would not usually think all the English Channels were important on a holiday in Tenerife my partner had the misfortune of being admitted to hospital and I had to spend 4 nights on my own so the TV was very welcome and I also felt that I was in a very safe area for a woman on her own. The Apartments have a lovely Cafe and do some lovely bar snacks, salads etc. The Staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great-lots of bars, shops and restaurants nearby and its also within walking distance of the Hospital which was very convenient on this visit!
We would definitely visit these apartments again and recommend to others. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jax76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

just returned after staying here for new year

second visit to this accomadtion still as freindly and spotless as ever
Alex the barman was brilliant with kids learning them to speak spanish nothing too much trouble for any of the staff
wish they would heat the pool in winter though
Great location

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliedawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Colon two is very clean the maids do not stop if it stands still they will clean it even saw them going up a ladder to clean lamp post lights, reception very friendly, only draw back pool not heated and we called them the 9am club sad people waiting for pool area to open to get their sun beds put towels on them and dont come back till lunch time, management should enforce rule no saving sunbeds unless your bum is on it,Colon two is in a central area, for bars, rooms pool side do not get the sun at all, not Colon fault you could get some noisy people coming in early hours and bang about as if they are moving furniture not youngsters either people with children who should know better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BristolPriscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

After successfully managing to leave Newcastle Airport on time on our Thomson flight after the rest of England seemed to be grinding to a halt due to a few inches of snow, we were off to a good start.
We've been to Tenerife twice before but this was our first stay at the Colon II Apartments. On arrival the Colon II looks more like a cafe due to the tables outside, once inside you find that the reception area does double as a cafe. Quite a nice one actually. Staff at the reception desk were friendly and the check-in process was quick. We then went to our one-bedroom apartment which was on the ground floor (108). It had an open kitchen/living area and separate bedroom and bathroom. The kitchen had a double hob, fridge and microwave. The living room had a small dining table and a 3-seat sofa. The flat screen Samsung TV requires an additional payment of 15 Euros per week (5 Euros refunded when you return the card you insert into the TV to activate it) and has a good selection of British channels including BBC1, BB2, ITV1 AND Channel 4. The bedroom had two single beds which we pushed together. As we were on the ground floor we had sliding patio doors which lead out on to a decent size sitting area with a wooden table and chair set. The patio doors also had an electric garage door-style roller shutter which is controlled by a switch inside which we found to be very reassuring at night when we left the apartment.
Our apartment and the whole complex, including the pool area, were spotlessly clean as the staff are constantly scurrying around cleaning the place.
The Colon II is in a fantastic location for Las Americas as it is slap bang in the middle so everywhere is not too far away. I walked every morning into Los Cristianos along the beach front which took about 25 minutes.
A lot of people are snobbish and, like a previous review I've just read, compare Tenerife to Blackpool. Don't get me wrong there are some horrible pubs and restaurants, but there are also some really, really good ones.
Recommendations... try Harry's Bar in the Safari Centre for a nice relaxing drink by the fountain. Teppenyaki Restaurant, also in the Safari Centre, for fantastic Chinese/Japanese food. Divine VIP club for some very good live soul/Motown music and Shenanigans for more live music and comedy from two very funny English lads, Dave and Freddy.
As for the Colon II, I'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SK_Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
776 reviews
1 mi away
Iberostar Las Dalias
Iberostar Las Dalias
#8 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon II Apartments

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig s/n, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $101 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colon II Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colon II Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Ii Apartments Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Colon II Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing