We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colon II Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first class place”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just got back from colon 2 on 8/3/13. We are 68 years old. This complex is excellent.
Pros. No Insects of any description. Friendly staff.Clean rooms.Nice pool with ample sunbeds.Really nice restaurant on site( and not expensive as some other reviewers say -but of course there are cheaper places if you like football from 4 angles).Quiet but flat walking to everywhere.
cons. hard pillows (my wife purchased a soft one for E5)

Room Tip: rooms not facing the pool get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    235
    71
    20
    8
See reviews for
184
388
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We choose this place because of the location and good reviews however all was not as stated. To have use of the safe, TV, iron, air con, fans & baby equipment you had to pay extra, prices starting in most case 15 euros each which adds up when most are inclusive at other resorts. There are a set of rules of the apartments you receive which aren't abided by particularly noise & reservation of sunbeds. We found the cleanliness of our kitchen not as expected and by others reviews and the fridge was old, noisy and the ice box was broken. Our sleep was disturbed 5 out of 7 nights by noisy guests which weren't chastised by the apartments head despite a no noise after 10pm rule. Despite lots of other people stating that they go back year after year to Colon II we won't be as we think after discussing with other holidaymakers that you can get better accommodation elsewhere. I posted this review on the Thomson website put it was never listed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Courtney65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were a group of four friends so booked a two bedroom apartment which ended up being on the top floor, making both the view and balcony excellent, and more private than the ones below. We arrived to the hotel late and had a warm welcome, for the price we paid, we were honestly amazed at the hotel. It was so clean and the people always friendly. We paid extra for the safe and didn't think it was over priced, and also asked for a late check out, which they were happy to sort out for us.
Great location with many nice restaurants Down to the left, and the bars and clubs down to the right. Definitely check out the Irish bar of a night, awesome crowd down there.
We went to one of the partner restaurants as we received a discount, the one a short walk away, and the food was beautiful.
The rooms were adequate, sofa a little uncomfortable if you accidentally fall asleep on it! And it was a bit dull, we never had problems with it being too hot, so didn't pay for the air con as the fans seemed to be working fine.
The kitchen facilities are a bit limited, but I've seen worse. It's great for bacon sandwiches each morning and cooking on odd nights but we found we explored the range of restaurants around the hotel.
Even with the bars down the road, we never struggled to sleep, I would recommend staying up late on the balcony and watch people in the street down below, as one night we saw a police chase which was quite amusing.
We had a fab time and have already recommended the place to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lianneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed at Colon 11 on several occasions.

Good points -
Central location
Some apartments are spacious and light
20 minute transfer time from the airport
5 minutes walk from the beach
Ceiling fans

Not so good points -
Some apartments are small and dull
If you want to use the tv, safety deposit box, iron etc. you have to pay extra
No air conditioning


In my opinion there is a deterioration in the level of customer service, it is not as good as it used to be. There is no point in submitting an apartment request as, in my experience, these are ignored.

We have decided to book elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaggieMay322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at these apartments Mid Jan – Mid Feb 2013
As we were staying for a month we decided to take a 2 bedroomed apartment. The apartments are arranged in a block with the 2 beds on the top floor (4th floor). Whilst advertised as sleeping 2-6 I would say that 4 is a comfortable maximum. The apartments facing the pool side get virtually no sun all day whereas the ones facing the front have sun for most of the day. Having read previous trip adviser reviews we sent 2 e mails well before we arrived requesting a sunny position – both of which were totally ignored. On arrival we were allocated room 407 which faces the pool and has virtually no sun all day. We asked to change but were told that we would have to wait for an alternative to become available and that a fee would be charged as the old room would have to be fully cleaned when we left it. In fairness our room did have partial sea and mountain views but the balcony was too small to enjoy them properly. The entrance to the apartments is through a coffee shop so it does not look residential at all. There is free WiFi if you wish to pick up Emails etc but you can only access it in reception which is part of the coffee shop and can be very noisy and not suitable for Skyping. You have to pay to rent the TV 10 Euros per week but there is a great choice of English channels. To rent a safety deposit box is 15 euros per week.
The apartments are in a great central position and are clean and tidy with towels and linen changed regularly. The kitchen has limited facilities with a 2 ring hob and a small combi oven plus fridge with small freezer compartment. There is a hair dryer and a very nice flat screen TV. Eating places, bars, supermarkets and beaches are within easy walking distance. Rooms are a decent size and very clean. Very quiet with no traffic noise.
The pool area is lovely with pretty landscaping and many palm trees and other features but sometimes difficult to get a sun bed despite signs asking people not to reserve sunbeds they are reserved with towels straight after 9.00 am all day. Must be impossible in high season.
We never ate at the main restaurant Mama Rosas as it was very pricy so I cannot comment on the food. However the pool bar offers good value.
There are many local bars and eating places which range from fairly cheap to quite expensive so shop around. A full English breakfast is around 3 euros.
The weather was good but we had a bit of cloud which the sun burnt through by mid-day. We would recommend these apartments but be prepared to accept the room you are allocated as you will not get a choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are on the shady side and get virtually no sun all day. Don't bother tryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank louie&Gar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Second stay here this time we had 1bed apartment 323 it had two balconies with table and chairs, would have been nice to have loungers as sun on both all day, view over roof tops of next door complex. Very spacious apartment for 2 of us, Beds and pillows very hard and uncomfortable. Pay extra for safe and tv, wifi free not in rooms. Staff all lovely. Good central location, las rosa across from colon 11 good value, lots of nice walks which ever way you walk. Excellent Chinese restaurant turn right out of colon first right it's other end of street from Iceland supermarket Peking restaurant. 7.95€ buffet all freshly cooked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at the Colon 2. We chose this Hotel based on great reviews and to be honest we were a little disappointed. I can only base our judgement on the studio rooms on the shady side overlooking the pool with no sun all day. All of the rooms on one side of the hotel are in shade whilst overlooking the pool ( which only gets 1/2 sun)whilst the other side is sunny so my advice would be to ask for a sunny room.

One slight advantage however to being on the shady side is the ability to watch the daily scramble for sunbeds at nine o clock when the pool opens from our balcony! There is only sun space on one side of the pool and therefore space is at a premium - and soon taken - towels laid out - and the occupants leave- to return later in the morning.( which i find annoying) Despite there being a note in your room stating that sun beds are not to be reserved.

The studio rooms are small yet functional. Beds are rock hard and covered with plastic mattress protectors and have one hard pillow. We cursed those beds most nights! You have to pay for use of the large TV that occupies the room ( we didnt use it) and also for the use of the safe. The kitchen area was well stocked but several years of cleaning have removed the dial markings on the hob and the microwave has no instructions ( grill/combi i think) The bathroom was very clean but tired in places.
On a positive note the whole place is spotless and the lovely cleaners work really hard to keep it that way.
There is no air con and even though we visited in January we found it quite hot at night.Opening your balcony door does help but it can get quite noisy. i am not sure how people cope in the summer!
We enjoyed out weeks stay here, despite the niggles and this hotel gets alot of repeat quests. It is in an ideal location for most things in and around PDLA. The staff are wonderful and the bar on the front serves amazing coffee!

Would i return?

Yes I would - I have found a shop that sells pillows for 5 euro and i would request a sunny room next time!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the sunny side! Dont bother bringing big beach towels that add to your luggage we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#3 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon II Apartments

Property: Colon II Apartments
Address: Avenida Santiago Puig s/n, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colon II Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colon II Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Ii Apartments Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Colon II Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing