We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Colon II”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colon II Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a lovely weeks holiday in Tenerife,staying at the Colon II apartments in Playa de las Americas.
We stayed in a studio apartment, this far exceeded our expectations,spotlessly clean and very well appointed.
The pool area is lovely,pool bar very good and the restaurant attatched to the apartments (Mamma Rosa) is excellent.
The location is very good,close proximity to sea front and some very good eateries.Pompeii,Giddy Goose and Montana Restaurant (opposite La Siesta) has the best full English breakfast for 2.75 euro!!
Cant wait to book again for next November.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvfcanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 714 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Firstly this place shouldn't be called a hotel because its not. It's like a cheap block of flats on any estate in Britain. Myself, my partner and our 6 year old daughter had to change rooms three times in a week for various reasons, one being that the group of lads above our balcony decided to spit on us when we had to sleep on a mattress on the balcony because air conditioning doesn't come with the room, you have to pay extra! Oh and extra for the toaster and extra for the safe and extra for the tvand so on. Coming back to the safe. On our last day, they decided, because we were slightly late getting back to the 12 o clock checking out deadline, they would OPEN our safe, remove everything from the room and put everything in another room, oh yes and charge us for the privelage of being burgled! To top it off they refused to give my deposit back for the safe as they 'had lost the envelope'. The attitude gets aggressive when the subject of money is raised, they're one main objective is to fleece you and do it ASAP. And the complaint I put into Thompson? 'Sorry sir, the complaint has unfortunately been misplaced'. Terrible week here

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Criss-h123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned from a week in the colon 11. It was booked last minute & we had a studio on the ground floor room 124, It was lovely & big, had a kettle, toaster. microwave, & 2 hot plates as I dont cook on holiday it was adequit. The batroom was large with a hairdrier, The shower was ok as long as you did not put the water on full flow then it would go very hot then very cold !!!!! The beds were the hardest we have ever slept in so no sleep all week!! no aircon but a fan which was noisy & not kept us cool !!! nice telly there but you had to pay £10 a week to have it on. The studio was very dark because of the way the building was built had lights on all day. outside we were looking at the side street not very pirvate as people passing could see through the fencing, studio very clean as is the rest of the complex. Pool ares great & pool bar served nice food. Pub down the stairs was closed shame. Thomsons charged us the same as another couple who had an apatment & were there for 2 weeks !!!!!!!!!!!!! I would like to know why? as we could have stayed half board with aircon & sea view in a hotel at that price !!! would go again if it was cheaper

Room Tip: Try to get a 1 bedroom apartment studios are out of the way & very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

just got back from a week staying at colon 11 with 2 17yrs old loved it very clean we had room 101 on ground floor room had everything you need pool kept clean , pool bar good prices we eat at giddy goose good food nice people in their loads of shops and resturants near by try shennigans and leonardos . the lookey lookey men get on your nerves trying to sell you their fake glasses and tat then you have the women who want to braid your hair the pr's are everywhere trying to get you in their bars these are the only bad things i can say about resort we will be going back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adele l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked this for some late season sunshine and the only room available was a studio type. This was fine since we didn't plan to spend much time in the room.

It has been more than 20 years since my last holiday in Tenerife and my memories were not all positive. As it turned out, Las Americas is a great resort and the apartments are well located.

Our booking was based on the excellent TA reviews but unfortunately the apartments simply did not live up to the hype. There were many more "Cons" than "Pros".

Major "Pro" is the location - a short walk from some very good restaurants and bars but far enough away from the noise.

My biggest complaint was the racket from slamming doors. The hotel cannot be held accountable for inconsiderate guests but something must be done to prevent the noise. Ironically, we would have had a better chance of a good night's sleep on the balcony!

Prospective guests also need to know about some of the management's sneaky practices. They charge for the use of the in-room safe and for the TV!! I have never come across this before and I find this disgusting. What will they do next? Charge for electricity and water? I am so angry about this that I have just changed my rating from 3/5 to 2/5.

There is no air conditioning in the hotel and that is not acceptable (even in October, the room was uncomfortably hot at night).

Housekeeping was erratic and on 2 days out of 7 the cleaners did not appear.

Other reviewers have mentioned the hard beds. Personally, I found the bed OK but the bolster was as hard as a rock.

Also mentioned by other reviewers is the sunbed booking by inconsiderate guests. This can be easily taken care of by staff but when I complained, they shrugged it off and were not interested in doing anything.

I would be happy to return to Las Americas but there is no chance I will return to Colon II.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aberbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

my wife and I have just returned from one week stay in the colon 2. We had room 104 with a pool view, which was spotless, it had everything you need for a self catering holiday. iron and ironing board can be hired for a small fee as was the television,which i watched whilst waiting for my good lady to get herself ready for the night life, which is just a short walk away! The whole place was cleaned every morning, and there wasnt any noise problem either the poolside in he morning or indeed from outside the hotel at night! he hotel restaurant "mama Rosas"was an experience you must enjoy, the food was beautiful and he service from he waiting staff made it more like an occasion rather than just a meal out!everyone from reception to he cleaning ladies were very friendly and helpful! cant wait to go back, wont be going to any other hotel on the island from now on

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steele8qq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just got back from a 2 week stay and the hotel was good, the room we were given 206 over looked the pool had 2 single beds in the bedroom and a sofa bed, single beds were hard but comfortable however the sofa beds were unusable for the most part as they squeaked and moved about, the balcony was very large and roomy and the kitchen was well stocked, the bathroom was usable but tired, the maid came every day and changed the towels and the room was cleaned 3 time a week, the reception staff were ok but quite short if you had any complaints or like us checked in at 1130pm at night, the cafe at the front of the hotel is pleasant but pricey, the pool of the hotel is very cold and they use salt water so not so good for the kids as kids like to play and it dont tast good lol, the pool was in a poor state of repair and needed a good clean as there was black and green slime around the edges of the pool, there are meany good cheap places to eat near by la boka is a British pub that offers full English for just 3 euro each and is out the hotel and turn right then right again about a 3 min walk, and for night we found a bistro stile resterant called ramond III a family of 4 can eat very well for just 30 euro including drinks and pud, you get to it by walking along the beach front and head left walk all the way to los vistas takes about 30-40 mins to walk with small children the staff at ramonds are all very friendly to all and love kids i hope this helps :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#2 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#20 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#3 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon II Apartments

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig s/n, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $100 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colon II Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colon II Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Ii Apartments Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Colon II Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing