We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all the bad reviews are true”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barranco Apartments
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Before I travelled here I had read the reviews on TA, I must say I was a bit aprehensive after reading some of them. However arriving at the apartments we were pleasently surprised. The front desk staff were lovely, check in was quick altho the girl hadn't told us where to go once we got to our floor.

Our apartment was right by the pool and caught the last of the sun. We had booked the apartment with the spiral staircase and we didn't think we'd manage to get our cases up the stairs, we were also slightly worried about falling up and down them especially when drunk. Needless to say we had no problems with the staircase even when we'd had a few too many.

The one thing I would say is that the maid didn't change our sheets and our towels were changed once also.

Just a wee note, the restaraunt by the apartment was nice but not as nice as a the one up a bit called Michaelangelos. and the 2 best places to go for drinks and a dance are Rags and Tramps.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emsa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 208 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2010

Just back from spending a week in Tenerife away from the snow was fab!
Stayed in the barranco apartments which were very clean but basic no toaster or kettle but if you ask they will provided one. Kitchen was small but modern, shower curtain was very annoying tho something we are not used to back home. Pool was very small but was hardly used as it was very quiet but think we all enjoyed it that way! The only real bad thing is the sprial staircase very hard to get luggage up and down. Overall its basic but clean and the location is great I would defo stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Just back from a fantastic week in tenerife. Booked these apartment online for a great price so expected a basic accomodation. The location is fantastic and the apartments are clean and well maintained. The pool area, though small was good as completely sheltered though may not be big enough in summer when the apartments are busier. The reception staff are friendly and efficient. Even though the apartments are centrally located there is not a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Once again we returned to Barranco Apartments for our xmas New year holiday.We have now been visiting for 5years at this time . We organize our trip every year and have the same bungalow x two given there are four in our party.Staff on reception are brill.In particular Anna and Carmen.Maid service is excellent and they are very friendly.We had linen change every second day and sheets changed twice every week.I left my bag in a taxi and did not get it back and staff were great in assisting me . Room and safety deposit key were in bag.and no charge made to replace. Police contacted and all phone calls made for me .
If you use green card given on arrival you can have discount in Tango bar of an evening.Good value as I felt given devalue of pound it was expensive to eat.Facilities in apartments good and can be used to cook. We shopped in Dino store and Spar both of which were fairly reasonable .
Good food and entertainment in Linares bar and cheap.Some very good chinese food around.
Very handy for all local amenities giving a great choice to visit a different area each night.Try the anchor bar downstairs . Good night .
Easy to use local transport and there is a bus stop across the road with a regular service.
Good to visit Porta del a cruise which is very different and more Spanish in culture .
local markets are really good and worth a visit ,Las Americas has been upgraded well over the last two years and looks fantastic now.
we certainly enjoyed our trip and guess what we are already booked for next year|

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryhsimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Stayed at Barranco apts. 1st week in December 2008
Apartment facilities are basic but clean, maid changed towels three times, bed linen is changed once a week, i.e. on day of arrival and same day the following week. Beds are comfortable.
There is no kettle, hair drier, or TV.
The pool area is OK , but has no bar.
Telephone is in the lower half of apt. So no lazy calls from your bed. A five euro deposit is required before you can make international calls. Beware of call boxes outside, they need three euro to make a call and didn't refund anything when I couldn't get through. This happened twice, different phones. "Be warned"!!! The T. Cook rep. will give you a 'Green Banana' card if you book a trip with them calls then cost 7 cents a min. You can't use it to make cheap calls from your room phone. You have to use a public phone but you will still have to put three euros in the box, no change, no refund.
The spiral staircase which most people comment on is very narrow which makes it awkward to get your cases up and down. There is another more serious aspect. The top of the staircase opens onto the bathroom door. Only about one metre space between door and opening of the staircase well.
You are well placed for shops, a Spar, Dinos supermarket, and another just across the road. The bus stop is just opposit Spar.
Before booking any trips through the rep. I would advise looking in at the travel shop which is immediatly to the right of the front door.
There is a Chinese restaurant a few doors to the left of the apartments where you can choose either a meal from their menu or a buffet which is excellent and good value at only 6.50 euro. Barranco's own restaurant, 'Tango' is kinda middle o the road for food. For example; Their sirloin steak, or at least that is what they advertised it as, " wasn't ". Medium rare was served rather bloody. Avoid their Englsh breakfast. You will receive a 10% discount if you show your residents room card.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebreakerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Well, at the time me and my friend both 18 - went to tererife for my 18th b'day. After booking we decided to get in the mood and have a look at what we were in for. The reviews we read were mainly SCARY, really bad!

After thinkin we'd made a mistake we prepared ourselves for the worst - atleast that way things could only get better??? right??

haha

Anyways the time came when we flew off to tererife - we were still lookign forward to it as it was our first hol away alone.

When we got there as usual or so it seems we're always last to arrive at our hotel.

We arrived in the barranco and where given our key, we had a pool side room which was right nxt to the pool - pool was small but in nov it wasnt that packed anyways. Our apartment was decently sized had 2 sofa beds a kitchen and THEN the dreaded spiral staircase which we'd read sooo much about! It really was a death trap - trying to get our suitcases up was a nightmare as they were so narrow and wobberly it was scary! Then we thought, how on earth after all our partying on the tiles - are we gonna get up these drunk? Well most of the time time never we stayed on the sofabeds. the decoration isnt NICE but who cares it was clean - untill we made our mark anyways. The only BIG issue was that we didnt get clean towels for atleast the first 5 days. And with the shower having no curtain this would leave a huge puddle right aboved the scary staircase on a tiled floor - as u can imagen how carefull we had to be in fear of slipping and breaking our necks! So to stop this we sacrfied 1 of our towels and had to make do.

After a day at the beach which is black sand - we came home with blow up dolphin lilo you name it - oh yes and lots of sand!
we had a snooze outside by the pool - only to be awoke by the receptionist, who told me that the cleaner had objected to coming into our room as she was "scared" of the mess???

Well ok fair enough it wasnt spotless but We came on holiday to relax not to do our own cleaning - but we did!
When th cleaner did come in she was good.

Whilst gettin ready for a night on the tiles we had a balacony and on this we had a plastic table - so we sat outside had a few drinks, got ready to go out nd accidently left our glasses and bottles on this.

Little did we know that hurricane delta was going to hit that night - the table died as did the glasses on it blow away.

So after coming home from our night out not being able to make it up the stairs we took to our usual "beds" downstairs.

As i sat down i heard a huge CRUNCH and thought WHAT WAS THAT? I realised that as the sofa beds wheree only made from plywood I had broken it - now im a size 8 not heavy atall - therefore due to the weather and the cheapness of the facilities we lost our deposit - we also lost our safe key and lost money for this too.

BEWARE OF THE FRONT DOOR

on our first day nobody informed to tell us that you cant open the door from the outside without a key it locked automaticcaly so we got our cozzys on and went for a dip as soons we arrived SLAM - the door was shut - our key inside.

Receptionist not happy - acted like we should of known better???
Alice secury guard is cool - BEWARE OF ANDRE he's mad! he works in thw achor bar and will gab the leg off you!

the clubs and bars are good but the locals really dont like us brits as I found out from the apprant "queen bee" of rags - because i stodd on her foot - oops - we then nearly had a fight all very mad! reps were rubbish and 1 was a snotty dog!

ANYWAYS ALL IN ALL I MAY SOUND BUT BUT IT IS CLEAN AND U WILL HAVE A LAUGH HERE!
ALTOUGH IT STATES AS A LIVELY HOTEL - WE HAD 35 COMPLAINTS IN ONE NIGHT FOR COMING IN DRUNK MAYBE THIS WAS BECAUSE IT WAS NOV BUT WHO KNOWS WE DIDNT CARE WE HAD FUN!

Adele n Joanne - malia this year -BEWARE

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpoolcouple8779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
19
Reviewed January 5, 2004

I stayed at the Barranco apartments with my friend last March and i think the apartments were a 2star but when we got there, i couldn't belive how nice it all was. I would say that the Barranco apartments should be a 3star accommodation and not 2satr.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.0 mi away
Bungalows Barranco
Bungalows Barranco
#18 of 30 in Arona
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zentral Center
Hotel Zentral Center
#30 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Cardones
Los Cardones
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#31 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#34 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barranco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barranco Apartments

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig s/n, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $43 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barranco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barranco Apartments Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Barranco Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing