We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flippin amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marylanza Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“flippin amazing”
Reviewed May 24, 2010

we have been going to tenerife for 5 years and have always gone to another hotel, at the minute it is having a refurb so was unable to go.
we chose the marylanza because it looked really good
(and it was) this has probally been one of the best holidays we have been on in tenerife
cant wait to get over there again asap

and a must is siam park woooo!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimba077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    850
    311
    86
    39
See reviews for
1,099
1,098
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Have just returned from a lovely relaxing break for my husband's 50th birthday. We arrived on a friday and took a taxi to the hotel instead of the coach which took around 15mins and cost arount 20euros. There were plenty of taxis and no queue. I found the location was ok, we walked to the shops and along the beach which took 15mins and got a taxi back for around 5euros. Checkin was quick and were advised to use the safety deposit box for 18euros, payable when you check out.The room locations are a bit puzzling as all blocks have the same numbers with a different letter preceeding and some lifts only go to certain floors and not all of them. However the maids are very friendly and helpful and will show you where they are if you get lost. I do think there should be someone to show where the rooms are and to help with luggage if needed.The rooms are very spacious and there are two sofa/beds in the living room, a breakfast bar/stools, fridge, microwave, hob and coffee machine. In my opinion there should have been a kettle and an iron. We hired an iron from reception through Mr Cool for 10euros and a 10euro deposit. We went back to reception for pool towels which would have been handy if they mentioned this when checking in - if you want these washed you have to pay 2euros. Unfortunately I found that most of the reception staff not very helpful or friendly and yes we are friendly sociable people ourselves:) The bedrooms were well equiped with a large wardrobe with mirrored doors - more hangers please - housing the safety deposit box. We had 2 single beds pushed together with hard mattresses, which we like, and a strange long soft pillow and no spares so I used the bed cushions as well. The linen was clean but the throws need replacing as very worn/snagged all over. The bathroom was v.clean with a low bath/shower over, bidet and 2 sinks. The towels were thinish and quite hard and not big enough so you may want to bring your own. Our balcony was overlooking some gardens and to the left was a road, which was v.quiet at night. I was disappointed at the size of the balcony as from looking at the brochure I thought all rooms had the huge balconies. The pool facing rooms had a nice size terrace/grass area which is ideal for kids. If you want a golf course view you need the 2nd floor otherwise the views will be blocked by trees.

The food was v.good with good choices at all mealtimes and we never had to queue although the hotel seemed quite busy. The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. We were all inclusive so never noticed the prices charged although other guests commented on the high prices of drinks. Cakes/burgers/hot dogs and drinks were available from the pool bar at certain times. The bar was actually in reception and I was disappointed that you couldnt sit outside like other hotels, smokers stood outside the main doors. This bar shut at 10.30pm so you had to walk into the disco/entertainment room which was normally virtually empty at that time to get drinks and bring them back. One night there was a wedding by the pool and as they moved into the disco room, they kept the reception bar open til 12 which was much better and there were lots of people and a good atmosphere. There is also free wifi in the reception area. During the day and evening, locals would set up tables selling different jewellery or aloe vera which is always worth looking at. The complex surrounds the three pools which are in the middle and consisted of a small kids pool, a large middle pool and an adults warm pool. The adults pool being warm had all the kids in it with an array of rubber rings, dinghys and other inflatables. As there were no signs around the pools, many people were not aware of this. The other pools were freezing and it would be sensible to have these warm as well especially the kids pool as you cant expect babies/kids to get in freezing water and it was too cold for the adults which was why it was empty most of the time. The water areobics were held in the warm adults pool and you could see people were getting annoyed with all the kids and the inflatables. Notices should be put round the pools saying whats what and it really was not big enough to house inflatables, high summer must be a nightmare. Loungers/parasols were being reserved early with no one on them however, a couple of times staff removed them which was good to see. We always managed to get loungers but the hotel badly needs to get lots more parasols. Lounger cushions would be welcome as well, as we have had in other places we have stayed in. We never watched the entertainment so cannot comment here but there was a magician, parrot show, bingo, Frank Sinatra singer and gospel band to name a few. During the day there was table tennis, salsa lessons, darts, water polo, fashion shows which were all by the pool. We never visited the spa and actually forgot about it. It would have been helpful to have say a hotel pack giving information on everything within the hotel and info about the spa, golf, clubs and activities. The hotel shop was closed for holidays all the time we were there which was a bit strange? There was also some building work going on by the warm pool, which did get annoying at times:(

On my husband's birthday, they left a cake and a bottle of bubbly in the room with a letter which was a really nice touch. I would also like to comment on the Firstchoice reps, Claire and Gemma, who were friendly, helpful and informative. It was also reassuring to see a security guard arrive at night and walk around the complex and rooms.

To summarise, we really did have a lovely relaxing break sitting/sunbathing round the pools, swimming, eating good food, socialising with friendly guests (mainly from UK and Spain), and walking along the beach en route to the shops. The rooms were a lovely size and everything was spotless. There were just some niggles as I have mentioned being a 4* (5* in the brochure) and when comparing to other hotels. I would recommend to others but would point out the things that were not quite right or were missing compared to other 4* hotels and of course.............this is just my opinion:)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Just returned from a week at the Marylanza - what a fabulous hotel! We arrived at 10.00pm but the hotel had kindly kept the restaurant open for us to get some food. The rooms are very spacious, each with their own living area complete with small hob, microwave, fridge and pots and pans. The rooms were immaculate, cleaned and towels changed everyday. We were on the second floor and the cleaners would arrive about 9.30am, but if you put your "Do Not Disturb" notice up they would come back later. There are 3 pools, one paddling pool for the kids and 2 larger pools, one heated. We never had a problem getting sun beds, there was plenty to go round. The food was outstanding, plenty of choice and different options everyday. Everything was very fresh, with a grill that cooked different fish and meat everyday. Lots of fresh salads and fruit and even cheese and biscuits. We booked full board and was told this would include one drink with every meal but when we arrived we were just told to help ourselves! There were bottles of wine, sangria, lager, soft drinks, juices, water and even champagne at breakfast if you fancied it! I never used the spa but the couple we went with did and said it was lovely, approx £30 for a manicure. The golf was quite pricey at £100 each for 18 holes and a buggy but the boys in our party really enjoyed it. Soft drinks around the pool were also a bit pricey £2.20 for a very small coke but we just popped to the hotel shop and bought bottled water for 50p. The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and polite. It is about a 10-15 walk into town but its quite pleasant and if you don't want to walk back a taxi is about 5 euros. We also visited Siam Water Park which was great fun with a free bus to and from the hotel every half hour. We were a victim of the ash cloud which meant we got delayed for 24 hours but Thomsons were really good. They got us all together and put us up in another hotel for an extra day and we flew home 24 hours later. It was very well organised. All in all, we had an excellent time. This hotel is really good value for money and I would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hol1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

myself and daughter were at this hotel may 2010- we had a nice holiday and the food /room/pool was good, but not a 5star - we had a late check out and all week we asked to pay and keep our room for the day - they said we had to wait until the morning of our departure before confirming , well that was ok ,we did get a room, but had to move , still ok with us until we decided to have a sleep late morning underneath our room building work was in progress and a digger and other large machines
were in full motion , i thought the building was coming down. it was not an ideal place to be when trying to get some rest before our night flight- i mentioned this later to reception staff- - and all I got was
"OH IS IT"-we paid 35euros-for half a day-I feel they should have informed us of the noise - and reduced the room rate.but here is the upsetting comment made to me by a female reception staff - we do not have to give you a room as YOU ARE NO LONGER OUR RESPONSIBILITY AFTER 12 NOON - I think she should get further customer care training as this made us feel very vulnerable - it was not nice to know at the end of a holiday you are no longer wanted !!----- I have to say I thought the REPS (FIRST CHOICE) at mary lanza were 2 of the best I have met - keep up the good work girls !!!
because the company are lucky to have such nice girls in their employment !!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADYFISHERSCOTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I am still currently staying in the Marylanza (11 May 2010). It's a great hotel with excellent food and service, we have stayed AI and the food and drink has been outstanding. Central to all the resorts it's just a 10-15 min pleasant walk to the beach and Cafe's. The Monkey Bar does a great frozen coffee selection for 3.5€. The only minor problem is the cleaners do start early, if you are on the ground floor the sound of furniture being moved above you can spoil a lay in. Overall a lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

just got back from 4 nights at the Marylanza. Hotel was gorgeous spotlessly clean and tidy with fantastic sized rooms. A view of the golf course would of been nice but not essential!
we were on half board ..great choice of food every night and plenty of choice for the kids. hotel staff were all very friendly and helpfull.and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if you could guarantee the weather...this was our first holiday where we went to a waterpark and only the kids got wet...my friend wore a hoody by the pool!...hotel pools were lovely too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enots5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This hotel is only about 15 mins walk from the main resort but you are on holiday so this should not be a problem. We were all inclusive which is well worth it as long as you book this when you book the holiday as this will be charged at 15 Euros per day per adult or 1/2 price for kids if you book in the hotel which seems steep, we booked this for 56p at home. Rooms are great and one of the biggest you will find, more like an appartment than a hotel room as the living room area is about twice the size of the separate bedroom. The food is very good, the cleanliness is very high indeed rooms being cleaned every single day. I read reviews on this site and I seriously wonder what people expect considering what they probably are used to at home. All in all a very good hotel with staff who always try to help. Mainly used by scandinavians who are possibly more appreciative than the UK visitors who live in slums and expect a palace while on their annual holiday

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resor...
#1 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marylanza Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marylanza Suites & Spa

Property: Marylanza Suites & Spa
Address: Los Arenales 20, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marylanza Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marylanza Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylanza Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Marylanza Suites And Spa
Marylanza Resort
Marylanza Hotel Tenerife
Marylanza Tenerife
Marylanza Golf Resort Tenerife
Marylanza Suites & Spa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing