We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chill out hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marylanza Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“chill out hotel”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

5th time at marylanza very clean very helpful staff good food and very good value [they dont take your towels off sun beds if you leave them on ] just come back after 2 weeks 14 0ct - 29th .it was busy with quite a few children but all well behaved and not noisey as some of the comemts say I would recomend this hotel . im going to balti then here again in august.

Room Tip: depends on your age and if your a couple or family with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    843
    310
    84
    39
See reviews for
1,081
1,093
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Marylanza.

The rooms were very big and spacious and we had a room on the third floor (top floor) with the balcony facing the gold course, was very happy with this. Beds were very comfortable!

The food was somewhere between acceptable and good. Breakfast wasn't amazing and I wasn't a big fan of the choice but Lunch and Dinner were good. The more simple drinks were good but I wouldn't venture to any of the cocktails, you might regret it!

The staff spoke good English and they were really hard working, the hotel did seem a little understaffed but then again nothing unusual for a hotel, especially one in Spain/Canary Islands. You may have to wait a little to be served, especially when its busy.

If your like me and like to explore a little, the hotel is only about a 15 minute walk away from the shops and beach, so a great location for shopaholics but far enough away you won't be shopping all the time :P

One thing I did find concerning was that they write down your credit card number upon check in, I'm not sure this is compliant with security standards. I'd much prefer to have an authorisation on my credit card or get a charge and refund at the end. Also they don't accept American Express cards! What hotel doesn't take Amex?!?!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylanzaSuites, Director General at Marylanza Suites & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Food in general and breakfast in particular seem to be like the hotel’s design: some love them, some find them weird or just fair. We made quite a deep research to find the best options possible for our all-inclusive drinks, and even if not Premium, they are of a good quality (I am quite sure that whoever regrets having ventured to our cocktails is due to the amount rather than the quality).

I have worked with pre-authorization slip in other hotels abroad, but our bank and TPV’s do not give that option. In any case this is not the option preferred by everyone, for it implies having an amount of money “frozen” which may not become automatically released if not used and this, especially nowadays, can be quite a problem for many people. We follow a protocol where this information is destroyed after check-out as per the applicable law.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Staff were brisk, busy, hardworking and very helpful when needed. Pool ok but lots of kids and their inflatables so not able to swim too often, just ok to cool off in. We were under the illusion, (obviously this is our own fault), that with it being a Spa and Golf suite hotel it wouldn't be so busy with children. Plenty of sunbeds but they need a good wash underneath as they were quite grubby and some are broken so watch out. Otherwise was clean outside and around pool, lobby area etc all good. Do not put your towels out, they will take them away because that is the rule. Entertainment not good except for the Tenors show and some nice guitar playing in the lobby. Have to pay for Gym and Spa. Food is difficult to praise although there were all the usual cereals etc for breakfast, salads, vegetables and rice every day for the vegetarians. There just wasn't anything very appetising or flavourful in my opinion. The beer,wine,cava was nice and despite some other reviewers opinions, also I thought the coffee was good! Rooms very large but I believe from talking to other guests that you need to pay extra for a view? We had a bedroom that backed onto a corridor and had to keep the curtains closed all the time. The view out of the other side was a very tall hedge and a perimeter green wire fence ! The other thing that we felt, was that the design of the hotel makes you feel that you are enclosed or shut into the central area with towers around the quad which made us think of a lookout post! We wanted to go for a long walk every day to feel that we could get out and see something of the sea and the surrounding area. This is obviously just a quirky design and not anything to do with the staff there, just a weird design in our opinion which didn't feel that nice to us. Weather was beautiful, just not the nicest all inclusive we have had for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylanzaSuites, Director General at Marylanza Suites & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Tastes, likes and dislikes are inarguable, but I honestly think that our food is far from unappetizing, We only use first-quality ingredients and make a big effort to make all our dishes enjoyable, being in my personal opinion especially good at fish (I usually end up tempted by one of our fish options in our main restaurant, whether grilled at our show-cooking or in a sauce from the buffet trays). My wife for instance is fanatic about our soups and she is not especially easy to please (but I love you anyway, darling…).

If you want to secure a golf-view room a supplement applies. You may just request it and it will then depend on the availability, but since sooooo many people request them and are given the chance to guarantee them with a supplement, it may definitely happen that none be in fact available on your arrival day.

I particularly love the look of Marylanza (if I didn’t I wouldn’t tell you anyway…) and find its design one of it appeals. But different people involve different perceptions which make it impossible for the perfect hotel to exist. We will try at least to be the perfect one for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Doesn't need a lengthy review- very clean, helpful staff and relaxing! Food was fantastic! Plenty for veggies and lots of different and normally expensive choices such as sea bass, squid etc for the meat eaters! It's not perfect otherwise it would be five stars but I'd go back in a minute!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weedely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Absolutely Brilliant, we stayed here the previous year, my parents were so impressed they were eager to rebook. The staff were more than helpful, everyone we spoke to could not do enough to assist. As Before the Golf view rooms were superb. Our friends came to join us after a couple of days.
The main restaurant was overwhelming with variation of food - even fussy eaters could find something. Although the pool bar and snack bar was open for lunch , the hotel opened the main restaurant for lunch. restaurant staff and bar staff were always welcoming with a smile , the manager should be proud of his team
The Spa was fantastic we were offered these as complimentary , however , my experience was that i would willingly pay for this.
There were many nationalities, this was not a problem as the hotel made you feel as you wanted to speak with everyone.
Although the main Playa was just a short walk , my parents required a taxi , once again the to the reception staff this was no trouble.
My parents are already keen to rebook for next year and even for new year !!

Room Tip: The rooms in E & D areas are rear golf view , but get snapped up very quick Corner two Bed apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and loved it so much that we decided to use this hotel again this year when we went to Tenerife to get married. We were given a superior room as we had requested a large balcony, we were given a complimentary safe so were the ready if our wedding party, there was a bottle if wine waiting in our room for us. On our wedding day a bottle of champagne was sent to our room. The food is beautiful, the staff are friendly. Overall perfect hotel!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley-c84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

There were four of us staying and we were allocated a 'house' which was basically the top two floors of a three story building. We were lucky enough to have a balcony overlooking the golf course which provided great views early in the morning, some of the other views would not be quite so appealing so this is something to consider when booking. There were two large swimming pools and a kiddies paddling pool none of which were overly busy despite the hotel being full apparently. There was a vast array of food to choose from and I cannot see why anyone would struggle to put together three square meals a day from the options available. It is self serve and could be quite busy at times though. The only let down was the entertainment which was average at best. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach and the quickest way is down 66 steps which is something to bear in mind when you need to come back up! Overall a great place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddy1Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resor...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#2 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marylanza Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marylanza Suites & Spa

Property: Marylanza Suites & Spa
Address: Los Arenales 20, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marylanza Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marylanza Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylanza Suites And Spa
Marylanza Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Marylanza Resort
Marylanza Hotel Tenerife
Marylanza Tenerife
Marylanza Golf Resort Tenerife
Marylanza Suites & Spa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing