We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family break in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marylanza Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portishead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing family break in the sun”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have visited Tenerife several times including a stay earlier this year, although the first time at this Hotel.
Check in took a while as there were several other families checking in but we soon got over that when we were handed a welcome drink.
The rooms were lovely and clean and incredibly spacious. The public areas were well laid out and there were always plenty of sunbeds to relax on. The pool was great and all our children 16,14 10 and 8 had a great time.
The food was a little repetitive at times although the quality was fantastic and always fresh.
The staff were very friendly and the lady that ran the Mini Disco was great with our Daughter - who even went to thank the lady for running the Disco before we left without prompting from us!
We have previously stayed nearer to town and wee slightly worried about how we would find it, however we tended to walk into town and get a taxi back for about 5 Euro.
All in all another great Tenerife holiday - we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: D Block was very good over looking the Golf course and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Possetgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    830
    306
    83
    38
See reviews for
1,068
1,068
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned with my wife and two daughters 19 and 12 from 2 weeks at MaryLanza. If you have booked this hotel you have nothing to worry about as it is a lovely place to stay. I think those like us who stayed on the golf course side seemed to be happier with the rooms so worthwhile emailing the hotel ahead of travelling and asking for a golf view( we were in room E 207). Initially we were told there would be a charge of €140 for the two weeks to guarantee the golf view room but we didn't get charged any additional costs and still got a golf view room. Rooms were very clean (maid service every day) and food was fab, the theme nights meant you could try lots of different things over the fortnight so didn't get bored with eating the same things every day. Although pool bar was great with self service beer and soft drinks we ate in the restaurant at lunch time to avoid the annoying pigeons that hang around the outdoor dining area. Pools were cleaned every day and over two weeks the hotel had six towel removal sweeps aimed at those who put their towels out and then went back to bed! If you want to sit on the same sunbed every day you need to stay with your towels till 9am. Location is only thing that slightly let's the hotel down as it is a good 15 to 20 minutes walk to Los chritianos or Las Americas although only €5 taxi ride. Would definitely recommend Siam Park for day out - brilliant. MaryLanza is a really good hotel with fantastic and friendly staff and i would happily recommend this hotel to friends

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo i Rana, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good hotel very clean, great pool area. We enjoyed the spa area a lot as we were unlucky with the weather.
The food was ok. Breakfast was good, but only ate dinner a cople of times at the hotel.
There are better restaurants in the city.

All in all a pleasant stay, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krister W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Overall I think this is a very good hotel. It's clean, the staff are all very helpful and accommodating and the rooms are well kept and clean too. Food was ok, but as usual with all inclusive, gets rather boring after a week or so. Pool bar food was good and there was variety and the all inclusive drinks were of a decent size compared to some other places we've been to. Things I'd like to see changed are for late arrivals. We arrived at around 10pm - checked in - but then there wasn't any food available so we had to go in search of a restaurant - this counted as our first day but we didn't get any food!! The entertainment is as you would expect at this kind of hotel - it was ok but if you didn't get to the room in good time, there were many seats where it was difficult to get a decent view of what was going on!! I would recommend this hotel for families, but maybe families with older teenagers (like us) need to think about what else there is to do in the evenings. Beds/pillows were also very uncomfortable!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the golf course are lovely and you get some great views - I think they're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathbobbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylanzaSuites, Director General at Marylanza Suites & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
The first service received in our hotel depends entirely on the arrival time. However, unlike most hotels (which will cut your all-inclusive wristbands at 12 noon) we do take into consideration your arrival time and, if you depart late, you will be able to enjoy your all-inclusive until your pick-up time. Therefore, these clients did not get food when they first arrived, but they enjoyed lunch and dinner on their last day instead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel was extremely clean, the food was great and plentiful, the Thomson reps were good, we had no air con in he upstairs of our suite, it was broken, the rep got us a fan which helped but the hotel seemed in no hurry to fix it and their communication was poor, it was still broken when we left.

We picked this hotel mainly for the 'no reservation' sunbed policy, this was simply not true, people were reserving sunbed s first thing in the morning with towels, the first day it was impossible to get a sunbed, there were loads with towels on but no people! I mentioned it to the rep but they said the hotel were supposed to remove towels where people were not here, I did not see one towel removed in my whole stay,

The hotel wifi was poor, We had two teenagers traveling with us who live on Facebook, sad I know but that is the way it is! Also a huge lack of toilet rolls, we ran out twice, and shortage of towels too, I had to call reception one evening for towels,

To sum up, great food, lots of it, fabulously clean, friendly staff, wifi poor, sunbed policy non existent!

On the whole an ok holiday but bot worth the £1000 each we paid for a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylanzaSuites, Director General at Marylanza Suites & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I apologize for the very poor communication which prevented us from fixing the A/C problem in a timely manner, as well as for the apparent shortage of toilet rolls (very worrying, for it has been mentioned a couple of times lately) and towels. We have not had any issues with these items or their supply, so there is absolutely no excuse for this to have happened.

However, I would like to point out that our hotel does have a “no reservation” sunbed policy which is in fact enforced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived around 01:30am, welcomed by the friendly reception staff and were told about breakfast, hotel rules etc. After 10 minutes we eventually found our room. The rooms are amazing, very well cleaned and definitely have enough space for a couple and I'd say a family, too.
We were there for two weeks and felt at home, when we were out and about we were excited to get back to the hotel. Looking around the rest of the area, we were so glad we picked the Marylanza. It was a tough decision between the Gran Oasis Hotel just up the road and an extra £200 for the Marylanza. We are SO glad we spent the extra £200. The Gran Oasis looks like it's in a ghetto, not the kind of area you want to be in when you can't even speak the language - it's also miles from the beach.
The Marylanza is only a short walk from Playas Las Americas and Los Cristianos, there is a bus stop a few minutes walk away to go all sorts of places like Costa Adeje and Los Gigantes.
We also decided to spent 80 euros on the spa for a couple for a week (you also get gym access - one of the best gyms on the island - so don't forget your trainers like I foolishly did!). They charge 15 euros for 1 visit to the spa, each so it's silly not to spend the extra 20 and go as a couple every day for a week. The spa was so relaxing, it's good up to about 10-12 people in there, so try and time it right so it won't be chocka, else you'll feel rushed to move for other people.

Food:
Every day, we looked forward to dinner time. The people who are writing bad reviews about the food are snobs who are probably disappointed they have to get up themselves to get their own food. The food is lovely. There's plenty of choice for vegetarians, children and women who want to keep their bikini figure with salad stuff. We had beef, pork, lamb, veal, chicken and loads of different vegetables and every night this was varied, though they kept some of the favourites there every night.
We had our free meal at the other restaurant and it was amazing, a four course meal which was very romantic, we celebrated our 18 months and I really made our evening. Definitely worth booking and despite what they say, it wasn't fully booked when we were there so 7:30 is a quiet time if you're worried you won't get a spot. Definitely do it, though.
The breakfasts were enough to get us out of bed really early every morning. The bacon is so amazing, the best I've actually EVER had. Every morning they make pancakes, can do eggs for you. It's such good value, you walk around Tenerife and restaurants boast about a fry up for 3 euros when you can have this amazing varied breakfast from nice ingredients for 'free'. Make sure you get to breakfast before 9:30 though as it gets quite busy after this and it can be quite stressful and you might feel rushed.
During the day, the bar by the pool serves pizza, pasta, salad, ham and cheese toasties; there's something for everyone to snack on. I must say, the help-yourself slush puppy machine really made our holiday! There's coffee, juice, soft drinks and you can also have alcoholic drinks at whatever time you want!

Bar/Entertainment:
The only time I got a little upset was when I was denied karaoke in our second week because little kids were hogging it, I'd had an awesome time the week before and was so geared up for it but this little kid has 6 goes! 6! So if it gets to 10:45pm and you've got kids, please, put them to bed or something because us adults have actually paid to go there, the kids haven't, let them have enough fun during the days so they don't ruin the evening 'adult' fun. They had varied shows, some dancing shows may make women feel uncomfortable (they're not rude, just women with fantastic figures shaking it some) and some really cringey Robbie and Beatles acts but who actually cares, it's just a bit of fun and with free drinks, does it really matter?

The bar in the reception does get full because it's where everyone gets their Facebook fix so try and get a seat early or just sit in the adjacent bar area. All the bar staff are lovely and make great drinks and don't judge you on how much you drink!

Daytime:
The rule is that you're not allowed to reserve sunbeds before 10am, when the pool opens. People do, though as they're grown adults who can't follow simple rules. Please respect other guests and only find a sunbed as you need it. This doesn't mean leaving 8 towels at 10am and returning from your day trip at 3pm. It's selfish and it ruins others' days, if everyone co-operated there wouldn't be any problems. We did mention the issue to reception staff and on our last day they enforced their power to remove towels 'reserving' sunbeds, which is quite right as everyone on check-in is verbally told and receive a leaflet about it. There are loads of sunbeds, though so don't worry!

The pool is massive for the size of the hotel, you'll see other hotels 15 stories high with a smaller pool, just laugh at them because in the Marylanza there's space to swim and for loads of kids to play, too. There's a kids' pool for the little ones which is a great idea, a large pool and also a climatised pool which is also a decent size. There's always room to have a dip, we were in the pool every day for ages and didn't get fed up! As long as people keep their eye on their kids messing about too much, everything goes fine.

Staff:
All the staff were friendly and genuine, even the cleaning staff and 'lifeguards'. I say 'lifeguards' in inverted commas because I suspect they were more pool and poolside cleaners who just wear a 'lifeguard' top but I'm sure if anyone was in trouble they'd be there. All the staff work extremely hard, perhaps too hard and the manager needs more staff, you'd see the same staff at dinner until 10pm that you saw at breakfast at 7:30am. They may get breaks in between but they are very dedicated. If you have children, the staff are really nice to them and there's always activities going on to keep them busy whilst you're tanning and reading your kindle.

Tenerife as a whole:
I found the Marylanza to be a bit of a façade, hiding the troubles currently going in Spain and some locals are angry to be 'owned' by the Spanish, (understandably, most Spanish people we met were abhorrently rude - Spanish not Tenerife locals). There is graffiti and some streets could do with a clean up (PLEASE NOTE: Do NOT go to the Columbus hotel in Las Americas, it looks as rough as something out of Shameless and everyone we saw going in or out looked miserable as anything!).
Tenerife has some amazing attractions and natural beauty but it does feel, in places, a little behind, stuck in the 90s. However, there are still amazing, beautiful beaches and plenty of activities, we were kept busy or 2 whole weeks so a week may not even be long enough to relax and see killer whales and go down the Tower of Power at Siam Park. It's well worth it, Loro Parque, plan your day well and get close to the front, it's amazing, we only went to Tenerife because of Loro Parque, it's my 2nd time but my boyfriend had never seen a killer whale or dolphin before so he was blown away!
With Siam Park, there are quite a few annoying kids but try and remain calm and enjoy yourselves, don't worry about the annoying few who don't know what a queue is! Try and get there early, too and you can do the rides, spend time on the faux beach and then do a couple more rides.
If you're a couple going on the whale and dolphin boat trip, it costs twice as much to do the Freebird Gold (through Thomson) as it does booking at the seaside. DO IT. There were about 10-12 couples on the Freebird Gold and we went past another (cheaper) boat which was PACKED. If you're a couple with no kids, it's so much more relaxed and I can honestly say it's one of the most romantic things we've done. You have room to put your feet up, cuddle and when you actually see the whales and dolphins you actually get space to take photos. With only about 20 people taking photos it was tricky but on a packed boat you'd have no chance! So if you're gonna do it, don't be stingy, spend that extra £50 and make it an amazing experience.
We also did Teide which was amazing, too, beautiful views and a nice coach trip, definitely worth the money.


Overall:
We had an amazing time, I can't help but look through all our photos all the time, we really had the time of our lives. The Marylanza is an amazing hotel, some of these trip advisor reviews are absolute baloney written by people who let tiny things upset them!
Staff, food, cleanliness and the overall quality was amazing, the only time we were ever annoyed is because of fellow guests! Please respect your other guests and everyone will have a great time :)

Jess and Ged

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

arrived 830pm and was a little disappointed. probably just due to long day. quick check in, though, and all very friendly. after finding room, my wife wasn't happy, thought it would be more like a traditional hotel, rather than a plush suite! extremely clean, and was kept that way by the cleaning staff all week. towels changed every day, as long as they were put in the bath. first night dinner not so good either, as again we were quite late down. however, things improved on our first full day, with an excellent breakfast, with so much choice. meals were like this for the rest of the week, with lunch either at the pool bar,(buffet) or the main restaurant 1-3pm. everywhere was so clean, and kept that way all week. pool bar closes at 9.30pm, but the lobby bar was a great place to sit and chat amongst friends. entertainment very 'hit and miss' though. the hotel is a short walk from the centre, but reception staff will call a taxi should you need one and it will be there within a few minutes. only about 5 euros into town, or possibly 8 to los cristanos.. all the staff go out of their way to be helpful. to sum up briefly, pool, great; food, great; staff, great; rooms, great; location, good. make use of the safe in the room, well worth 18 euros for the week. would we go again? Definitely, but for longer than a week! I can't quite see where criticisms come from for this hotel. maybe not quite the right place for couples, but certainly close enough to the local night life, if that's what you want. first and second floor rooms are the best, but others are ok too. people have said that rooms overlooking the road are not good, but people we met there didn't seem to have problems. Things to see would certainly be los cristanos sunday market, get there early and try your haggling skills! also Siam park, but do expect to queue for the main rides. apparently Tuesdays and Fridays are the best days. also take a trip to Loro parque.

Room Tip: choose first or second floor front and side, second floor at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidntanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resor...
#1 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marylanza Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marylanza Suites & Spa

Property: Marylanza Suites & Spa
Address: Los Arenales 20, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marylanza Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marylanza Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylanza Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Marylanza Suites And Spa
Marylanza Resort
Marylanza Hotel Tenerife
Marylanza Tenerife
Marylanza Golf Resort Tenerife
Marylanza Suites & Spa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing