We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marylanza Suites & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sir Anthony(Playa de las Americas)
$337
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mediterranean Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Beach Tenerife(Playa de las Americas)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Europe Villa Cortes(Playa de las Americas)
$220
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Gran Oasis Resort(Playa de las Americas)
$169
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Las Palmeras(Playa de las Americas)
$153
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleopatra Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalonia Oro Negro(Playa de las Americas)
$59
$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Iberostar Las Dalias(Playa de las Americas)
$185
$180
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,857)
Filter reviews
2,857 results
Traveler rating
1,482
913
327
94
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,482
913
327
94
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bargreen poolgolf viewkentia restaurantcaviarevening entertainmenta la carte restaurantplenty of choicewelcome drinklos cristianoschocolate fountainseparate bedroomthomson repself serviceentertainment roomevery nightplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
1,647 - 1,652 of 2,857 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

23-30 October 2012. As our first holiday, it did not disappoint! We stayed in room C208 and had a lovely view of the mountains. The whole hotel is kept very clean and the staff are all friendly - we always got an 'hola'. There was plenty choice for food - you will struggle to not find something you wont like! The pools are lovely, was always somewhere for us to sit. The bars were excellent. As we went all inclusive, there was plenty choice, and the staff behind the bars were so friendly and had a laugh with us. The Thomson Rep (sarah) at the hotel was very helpful and always remembered us if she saw us around the hotel - she would always ask how we were getting on. Loro Parque & Siam Park are a must visit, the queues to get in are worth it! Try a boat trip as well. We choice a small 8person one (organised through Thomson) and was pretty good. The Spa is another must!! for 15euros you get 2hours to relax!

However as a couple we did notice the difference when the british school holidays started. As there was a lack of children entertainment, the kids seemed to just run around making lots of noise. We didn't mind it to much, but couldn't understand how parents could just let the run riot! We also found a lot of ice cream wrappers etc left laying around in the morning from them, but couldn't blame the hotel for this (it soon got cleared up). Definitely avoid booking around school holidays!

Overall a fantastic holiday and cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Chose a 2nd floor room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Marylanza for the half term week, on arival we were impressed. The hotel looks nice and is very clean and tidy. The reception staff were very friendly upon checkin and were very helpfull throughout our weeks stay.

Food - in one word.............Rubbish!!!! same thing everyday, we ended up eating out alot, they have a tasting restaurant that u can book into once through out your stay. You dont get to choose off a menu as its already set, we were looking forward to this but the food was very tastless...............there was no atmosphere in the resturant as we were the only ones in there as they cannot cator for more than 6 peaople in the reataurant at one time?????!!!!!!!!!!!!


Drinks - the all inclusive wine was awful so we ended up buying bottles of wine from the bar instead (im sure thats the reason they serve it) the beer was pretty bad too. Soft drinks were all ok and were available for self service.

The pool bar closed at 6pm which was a bit disappointing as there isnt anywhere to sit outside in the evening (bit stange being in tenerife and having to sit indoors in the evenings!) the only bar was in the lobby opposite the reception or in the disco lounge.

kids club - Kids club opened at 1pm - 1.45 ..................yes 45 minutes!!!!! unless ur were german or swedish etc which they had a much longer kids club. My daughter was excited to go to kids club, i dropped her off at 1pm by the time she had sat down coloured half a picture in it was time to go!!

you also have to pay 1 euro a day to get your towels changed, i have never had this charge at any other hotel before, surely this should b something that is included in the price that u pay for your holiday?

My family and i visit tenerife 3 times a year but will certainly not be booking the marylanza!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylanzaSuites, Director General at Marylanza Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Just one word can be so humiliating… Inspire-Expire… Not enough, one more time: Inspire-Expire…

I clearly see what they did not like about our hotel, but I do not see why we should be a 3-star (stars have nothing to do with likes or dislikes, but with the availability of certain services, their ratio per room or amount of guests, their quality, etc.).

I have replied before to most of the issues mentioned, but I would like to make clear something about the Kid’s Club. Due to an agreement with a Scandinavian tour-operator during the winter season they run their own Kid’s Club with their own staff, we just provide the room. During the very little time that it is available for us as hotel, we provide a very limited version of a Kid’s Club, just intending to give one more option to all other clients, but obviously not forcing anyone to use it. We therefore do not promote this service with the other tour-operators, either winter or summer. However, during the peak periods of the summer season (between June and early September) we do run a proper Kid’s Club (usually 4-hours daily) for all our little clients, no matter their nationality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed Oct 2012, was in block F208 (i think) arrived after 10pm & received a welcome cocktail while waiting to be checked in. Checked was easy & we were given direction to our room which we had no trouble following & found our way - it was dark in the room & you need the key to switch power on. Room was single beds together in bedroom, in the living area was a well equipped kitchen & 2 single beds. Our we put the children in the bedroom, pulled the beds apart & we joined the 2 single beds in the living area to make a double for us this worked well for us as a family & beds were comforable - our son wanted to take his home. Food breakfast was well catered for, fresh pancakes, eggs, omelette how you wanted, fully cooked breakfast was avaiable under the buffet, fresh fruit, bread, ham, cheese, tea, cofffe, fruit jucie & cava. Lunch was served at the pool bar which again suited us as a family, burgers, chicken, pork, alway a cassorle type dish, chips, rice, pasta dish & fresh salad. Little cakes, jelly, ice cream & cookies, mini meringues. We did think the evening choice was similar to lunch towards the end of our week, so much so we ate out 1 night, if we were staying for 2 weeks we'd end up eating out a lot more. Food was good quality & give our children the chance to try things they won't have normal eatten (rabbit, octopus & other fish dishes) Drinks the children could help themself to slush from the pool bar during the day along with fizzy drinks. There was self service beer & wine at pool bar with bar attender for other drinks. Evening we were only in the hotel for 1 evening which was the night of parrot show & magician kids loved it but we thought the entertainment for the kids started a little late if your busy during the day & trying to keep kids up late doesn't work. There was always someone selling goods during the evening at the hotel we did purchase a few thinks & there's a great caricature artist comes to hotel as well. During our stay we headed in to Playa de Las Americas in the evening to see the dancing waters, shopping, street entertainment & to let the children see how the centre changes in the evening. It was around 3 euros to get a taxi back to hotel. We did ask for a late check out 48 hours before we were due to leave, we were put on a list told to come back next day to check, which we did, only to be told we won't know until lunchtime the day before departure, but by this time we knew the answer was going to be no as the kept us waiting for days. There was 1 day we were wanting to get something from the hotel shop which closed at 4pm we arrived at the door 3.45pm only to find it was closed. I did hear someone complain at reception & they were basically told nothing they can do about it. Surely if you have opening times you should keep with in these times. Pools we were told there was 1 heated i'm still waiting to feel the heat. All pools seemed to be same temperature, very cold when you first get in, as long as you move around it does get warmer & kids didn't mind. I have since found out the heated pool doesn't get heated until November onwards. We would stay here again but only week at time if all inclusive, it was a nice quiet location too as we notice in the centre during the evening its very busy with traffic. The is a few stadiums just down for the hotel, hubby & son watched a game 1 evening which they enjoyed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylanzaSuites, Director General at Marylanza Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Even though we as a hotel have absolutely nothing to do with the flights and their (sometimes ungodly) schedules, we are aware of how inconvenient it is having to check-out from the room at noon and being picked up for the transfer to the airport hours later, especially when travelling with children. We make a huge effort to provide as many late check-outs as possible, but in order to do so we have to be able to match late departures with late arrivals (which is not always possible) and have the possibility of assigning sufficient cleaning staff to late shifts, which in some cases is not allowed by specific contract terms and syndical dispositions. Therefore, when we are fully booked and not able to provide any late check-outs, or just not as many as requested, we usually have to wait until one day before or even the same day to confirm whether this is possible or not. It would be easier for us to say that it is not possible from the very beginning, but we do not want it to be easy, just as convenient as possible to our clients, so we prefer to ask our clients to come and check just in case we do get the spot. Unfortunately the result of this waiting time is beyond our control, but it has been positive many times.

You can be sure that our green and children’s pool will always be at a temperature of at least 25ºC. Both pools are heatable, but they will really not be heated if the water temperature is naturally at or above 25ºC, and this happens very often during the summer season. This may have lead to the misunderstanding with November (for that is when the winter season starts), but the fact of the matter is that the pools will be heated when necessary, that is, when the water temperature goes below 25ºC, no matter if in January, May or October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the second time i have stayed at this hotel and all in all it was a good stay. The hotel and rooms are very clean and most of the staff are friendly and help when they can. The food was ok and the selection huge, this however could be the problem! Instead if having such a vast selection why not have a few dishes thus improving on quality and not have to worry about quantity. I understand that the hotel has to cater for a lot of people but i feel it makes more sense to have 3-4 dishes well cooked than 10+ rushed out and sometimes lacking in flavour. The Pool area had been improved since the last time i was there and this was a welcome refreshment. The pool that we mainly used was rather dirty on the bottom and you could see it needed a good clean, lots of gravel and sand at the bottom, doesn't help that the pools are surrounded by trees ans plants which have gravel as bedding. This often gets kicked into the pool I'm guessing.The entertainment was ok if not a bit samey. There was a circus show act when we were there and i thought it was fantastic, the rest was ok. €18 for a safe i thought was rather expensive but what option do you have if you want to keep your valuables safe. I did like the fact that if you were all inclusive you got a discount on non house wine and drinks etc, as the house wine was terrible. Also the house cocktails were a bit of a hit or a miss, my partner had the Mojito and in all honesty it was like drinking mouthwash!!! The tequila sunrise was rather tasty though. Our rep from first choice was fantastic and she took on board our comments regarding the pool etc. All the excursions we booked were through the rep and we had no hassle at all, I would highly recommend Loro Parque and pay the extra for the discovery tour! It is absolutely mind blowing and the shows were first class. All in all it was an enjoyable week. We've been to this hotel twice now and we've had a great time. I think things will need to improve if they want to justify the price, We were roughly £2400 for 2 adults and a child for a week which is a lot of money in today's economic crisis. I think our next trip to Tenerife will be either in a different hotel or at the North of the island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylanzaSuites, Director General at Marylanza Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

I also find quality more important than quantity. However, we try to emphasize on both for we have to cater to clients from different nationalities, types and ages. The pools are cleaned on a daily basis, but it is possible that gravel from the surrounding planted areas get kicked into the pools (unintentionally or as a result of the many children who seem to love playing some kind of basketball with it…). I do not like mojitos (all of them taste like mouthwash to me) or tequila sunrise, so I cannot personally comment for or against this statement, but I will try to get some more opinions from more experienced mojito-drinkers and see if we may get to a conclusion. I am very glad to learn that these clients plan more visits to our beautiful island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We are staying here at the time of review. The weather is terrible but that can't be changed! However the wet floors are treacherous as its extremely slippery. There is nothing here to keep the little ones entertained apart from a mini disco an hour a night. Entertainment on the whole is a bit of a disaster. The shop doesn't open Friday or Saturday, the buffet is much the same every day and the AI drinks are very poor qualit. The beer is flat and rough and the wine is awful. For a 4* hotel costing us £5, 000 for just a week I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylanzaSuites, Director General at Marylanza Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

The rain in Spain falls mainly on the plain… but this week it decided to do so on the Canaries and for a few days! The south of Tenerife is used to a glorious, warm and sunny weather all-year round, and the hotels here located are thought and meant to enjoy it. During the day the main (or only) entertainment venue is the pool, so unfortunately when it rains, and despite Dana’s efforts, there is not much left to do other than staying in the room or sitting in the lobby area or at the bar having a drink (at least this time guests must have appreciated that we have this indoor venue). It is a real shame to visit Tenerife and have to put up with this unusually miserable weather ((still warm, though), this first disappointment may have affected the overall impression on the hotel. However, and since our buffet, all-inclusive drinks, beer and wine do not change with the weather conditions, we will think of further options to make rainy days more bearable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews