We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“regretable holiday wish we choosen a different hotel has it is false advertising.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compostela Beach Golf Club
Reviewed January 27, 2010

The rooms are nice that's the only good thing i can say about this hotel,no entertainment, food cold every meal time had ask to warm up in microwave,mangeress un helpful.have to be in bed by 11 pm because you cannot make a noise as to be quiet you cant enjoy a laugh incase you laugh to loud.we would
not reccomend this hotel to any english people.flys around your dinner & pigeons flying in & out of the resturant.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kareokediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2010

The worst thing was that my daughter and I did not feel safe in our room, because of what would have happened in case of fire. Our apartment was in two etages, with the kitchen downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. The stair between was even of wood. If the fire had started downstairs, and spread upstairs, there was no way we would have got out alive. There was a window in the bed-room, but it was about 12 metres up and no fire-stair or ladder or even a rope. We asked if we could change rooms, but this was not possible. I think this was a really dangerous arrangement, which should not be allowed!

Another bad thing: all of the staff at the reception desk did not speak English. Or at least not good enough. I think this was very bad, as it cost us a lot of money when there was a misunderstanding between me and the woman at the reception desk about a taxi.

The furniture was old and torn, and the beds were very hard. My back was stiff every morning! The bath-tub and the toilet seat were too small. I almost could not get into/onto them. Alright - I AM a little overweight, but still I have never had these problems anywhere else in the world!

The television set was very small, it was placed in the kitchen, and you had to pay for it. I think this was quite stingily - you expect to be able to watch all the usual channels for free nowadays.

The pool was big - that is good of course - but I do not really believe that it was heated to 24 degrees C, as it said in the advertising. It felt as maybe 19 degrees, really.

Apart from this, the hotel was quite nice. The best things were a) the location right in the middle of things, b) that there was always a life-guard at the pool - this made it possible for me to relax when my daughter swam alone, and c) that it was very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatharinaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The hotel itself is fine, if a little dated. The rooms themselves are a little old fashioned and in need of a makeover but were cleaned daily with fresh towels and beds changed.
And as we were out most of the day didnt mind too much.
The TV was pay to view - 1€ per hour and in the week we were there we used 4€.

The location is wonderful, close to the beach, restaurants and bars, which is the best thing going for it.

We opted for the half board option, which turned out to be a mistake as the menu was limited from the main menu and more suited to scandinavians. We are not fussy eaters and tried a few different dishes before opting to eat out.
We told the Restaurant Manager who said we could order from the main menu and pay a little extra (14€ on top) and on top of this drinks are extra.

Also be warned - whilst we were getting the safe key 3 couple's checking in were told accommodation they had booked was not available and they would have to go to the sister hotel Compostela Golf ,which is much further out, as no other hotels were free in the area. The offered to pay for a taxi ride there and back once a day which is not really on.
Aparently this happened to them before and is a regular occurrance at this hotel.

The reception staff's stock phrase seemed to be"Sorry that is not possible" for any requests

If you are not too bothered about the star rating of the hotel and want a central location with a clean room then this is ok for you - if you want a bit more class then give it a wide berth.
Also there are a lot of owned apartments on the complex which are rented out.

We would go back there if nothing else is available, but on a room only basis.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Citygirl058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I was on all inclusive and next time I will cook my own. This is a matter of taste, most people liked the food but I found it tasteless and overcooked. All meat was dry and over done, there were no spice or salt in food. The drinks were good though.
The apartments were spacious and the kitchen was very well equipped, thus I would cook my food if would come back.
I am not sure if I will come back though, as the location of the hotel is good for family or golfers, not for single traveler.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FinlandTraveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I have just returned from Tenerife after a weeks holiday. I stayed in these apartments for the week and had been terrified due to the reviews on this website. I would just like to say that those people who gave negative reviews need to chill out a bit. Yes these apartments are a little dated, but due to the number of visitors im not surprised. The location of the apartments was fantastic, it was within walking distance of the beach, shops and restaurants. What more can you ask for on a holiday.After all , you just want somewhere to sleep. If you are planning to stay in these apartments any time soon, dont be worried by bad reviews, these apartments are great and the staff are all lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holiday033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Myself ,my wife and son went to compostella for enjoyable holiday,and thats what we got.The apt was clean spacious and perfect for us ,the food in the happy days bar was very good,and the bar staff were excellant. NAURI ran the bar at nights and he was efficiant,very pleasant and helpfull and a credit to the Compostella Beach,in fact he made the holiday so enjoyable.The waitress in the day,Alison,was also excellant
from michael christine and wayne

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank snoopyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This resort has been recently built. We went to Playa de Las Américas in August 2008. Our rooms were were well decorated and stylish, there was a kitchen too, but it was a little bit poor. Bathroom was massive, with everyting you need. Our major problem was the maid, who unexpectedly would entre in our apartament without knocking on the door.

One afternoon, i had locked the door, but when she arrived to clean our apartment, she was in such a rush that she broked the door. That`s true. Our rooms apartment was always dirty due to the incompetence of the maids. Receptionists couldn`t understand Portuguese nor English. I mean, this is very basic, you get what you paid for!

We`re half board, but that was actually a bad choice. Breakfast in Compostela consists of some toasts, milk, tea, harm and cheese nothing else. Very mediocre indeed. Our dinner was usually fine, they serve Chinese food there, and that`s my favourite. Playa de Las Américas is an amazing place to have some funny and some sun. People are often very friendly and helpful. Will return definitily.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2DD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mandi Golf Resort
Villa Mandi Golf Resort
#6 of 13 in Los Cristianos
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,095 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#51 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compostela Beach Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compostela Beach Golf Club

Address: Calle Arenales, 16, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $79 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compostela Beach Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Compostela Beach Golf Club is a complex of low rise apartments situated on the northern perimeter of the Las Americas Golf Course. Within a short distance from the complex a variety of restaurants, shops, supermarkets can be found as well as the Club House of the Golf Course. The Las Vistas Beach is only 800 m away. Without doubt the complex is perfect for golf lovers, families or any clients wishing to spend their holidays in a tranquil and familiar environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compostela Beach Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compostela Beach Golf Club Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Compostela Beach Hotel Ii
Compostela Beach Golf Club Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing