We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but lacks in areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Compostela Beach Golf Club
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel but lacks in areas”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we just come back from The Compostella beach and had a fantastic time. The rooms are huge and well equipped for self catering. The place was clean and room service was brilliant. We went all inclusive the meals were ok but very limited and by end of the first week we were getting a bit bored of them, the drinks on all inclusive were fantastic and the ice cream. The entertainment is basic and needs to be looked at.Beach is 15 mins away so not that bad. In general tho not a bad place just little bits need improvement.

Room Tip: pool side, 2nd floor, do not have rooms over kitchen (you have been warned)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    456
    302
    102
    109
See reviews for
610
362
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 week holiday and stayed here as a family of 5. They are upgrading rooms at the moment and were lucky enough to stay in a newly referb room however there was no cooker in the room which was stated on our tour operators website. Location is fantastic with a beach right on the doorstep which is beautiful and surrounded by bars, restaurants and shops. The complex was good and they are working on doing it up at the moment and once all the work is done it will be a great place to stay. Entertainment for children was ok-ish and all staff were very helpful and friendly. We did have to change apartments 5 days into our holiday due to the fact we booked this having seen it had an oven in the room. Some nights after a busy day my children just want a pizza shoved in the oven and chill in the room. Unfortunatly the rooms we were changed to were awful!! There was a smell of sewers in it, they were dirty, a massive nail was sticking out the floor used as the bedroom door stop and someones poo was on the shower curtain which I made sure was on show every day the cleaner was due in however this was never cleaned up. Toilet didn't work too well and was such a down grade from the first rooms we were given. Getting a sunbed is very hard as people start waiting about 7.30 for the beds to be unlocked and they looked like little ants rushing about to get one then they go and leave their towel on it all day and come back late afternoon. Not many English people stayed here either. As I said staff were great though and very friendly. We decided to do all inclusive for the last 3 days due to the fact we couldn't eat in the room on the nights we wanted to use the oven because of the sewer stench in the room and thought at 300euro's we would save money from eating out 3 times a day however this was not the best idea we had. Breakfast was cold and taste-less. Teatime was what was left over from lunch time and snacktimes were the same each day. Children only get the choice of pasta and sauce or burgers and hotdogs. We ended up having to eat out still so wasted 300euros. There seemed to be a very big cockroach problem, seeing a couple running around right next to the food but staff had 4 tins of cockroach killer out and were scrubbing the floor the next day. It has potential to be a fantastic place. Anyone staying here, fingers crossed you get the new referb rooms and are not all inclusive!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a referb room and don't go all inclusive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Previously stayed here 25 years ago as a hyper teenager, so wasn't expecting great things, especially for the price we paid for two weeks via Cosmos / Monarch. I have to say the whole of Playa de las Americas has gone more upmarket with the focus on families since then. Compastella Beach has also been updated. We are staying in 74-T on the top of block 7. A nice but compact two storey one bed apartment. As mentioned previously by other reviewers there is no air conditioning, but with the patio doors open and the ceiling fan on full speed we are all sleeping fine. Even late at night with the patio doors open, there is very little noise and as a light sleeper I've had no issues. You have to remember these are apartments and not a hotel so some services are limited, but the rooms are cleaned and mopped each day, apart from Sundays. We requested a sea view, which is stunning, however a pool view would be just a good, although people will pass your balcony to get to there apartments, which you dont get with the sea view rooms. The pool is lovely and spotless, very clean and clear water. There are plenty of free sun beds and even though the management allow towels to be put on the beds and ignorant poeple who then dont turn up until thre afternoon, we have always managed to get enought space, bed and paroles needed, right next to the pool, but we tend to go down as a family at 9.30 - 10.00. Haven't eaten here as there are so many great restaurants on your door step ( see my other reviews ). We were offered the chance to upgrade fro room only to full catering for €31 an adult and €21 per child pr day, but was not for our needs. Great location right next to two stunning beaches and in the more fashionable part of Playa. Well done to all the staff here and at Cosmos.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in the Compostela Beach Apartments in June. The location is fantastic, just walk out one of the side gates straight on to the beautiful sandy beach. Out gate on other side of complex and there are loads of fantastic restaurants and shops, plus a big shopping centre. The complex itself is great, rooms very clean with everything needed for a self catering holiday. We ate out all the time and had a brilliant holiday. Cleaner came in five times a week, and towels were changed every time, which was great. Bed was very comfortable. had a topper on mattress and nice big pillows which were really cosy. Had great fun in The Hole in the Wall pub and met many new friends there. It is one on a strip of bars and restaurants just around corner from Compostela. Harry's Bar is lovely to sit and have a cocktail on balcony while watching the dancing fountain all lit up,it has the wow factor. The Empire, beside Harrys Bar does the best Fillet steak and The Thai Botanico was also very tasty. You can also walk to Christianos in 15-20 mins and sit with a jug of Sangria looking at the beautiful sea view. We will return to the Compostela again, had one of the best holidays. The pool was really lovely, with plenty of sunbeds, whatever time you arrived there.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in room 80 G, It was grand but you would have a better pool view in 80A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ursula2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 14 days AI at this hotel and I have to say I have been to better BUT paid a lot more for it. For what we paid it was very acceptable. The best thing about this hotel Is the very spacious apartments, along with the fully equipped kitchen I was very impressed when I walked into the room. Some people have said the is no air con and that is true but our lounge area had 2 ceiling fans and a ceiling fan in the bedroom too which I thought was fine. We found the situation with the sunbeds in the morning probably the easiest we have ever dealt with, they are locked up till 9am which saves all the hassle of getting up extra early to reserve a bed. We always managed to get beds and parasols. The all inclusive food was ok, yes it was a very small selection and chips were there everyday but in the 14 days I was there I only had chips once, there was always something to eat and it always tasted very nice......I do wonder what some people expect when they are in a foreign country? I was upset with the lack of choice for desserts as I have a major sweet tooth - but this probably saved me a few extra lbs gained!! With regards to the AI drinks this was probably the most annoying thing as you could only get 2 per person at a time and the queues in the evening where horrendous, and the whole party couldn't queue for drinks as tables where in short supply and someone was quick to take your table if left unattended. Be warned the cocktails are made very strong!! The entertainment wasn't brilliant but Andreas worked extremely hard and was a very friendly guy. Also a few other members of staff to mention is Sylvia on reception, very helpful and friendly, also Cesar behind the bar was lovely too!
Overall we had a good 2 weeks and met some lovely people. If Eve and Roger from Ireland read this we are very sorry we didn't get to say goodbye, also Mandy and Andy was lovely meeting you and it was far too quiet after you went.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsBarclayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights in Compostela golf II.
Positives: good sized room no air con with separate kitchen area, didn't need this as we were AI. Clean tidy hotel with clean communal areas and pool area. Decent on site shop and sun beds for everyone without the usual scrap at 6 in the morning.
Negatives: the food is basic with not a lot of choice example being Saturday there is a choice of 3 curries for dinner ok for guests liking curry but my wife and son had to make do with a cheese sandwich as there was only plain pasta and chips on offer as an alternative. Food choices repeated lots and can be served very greasy. Snacks consist of ham and cheese sandwiches in a self serve box. Ice cream is un available for the PM period don't know why. Waiters and bar staff give you the impression you are in the way with a definite indifference towards AI guests. If you're paying you get a smile and a bit of chat. The bar staff start to close the bar area at 22:45 with one bar staff minding the entrance to the bar. At 23:00 you are turned away so you CANNOT GET A DRINK AFTER 23:00. You are then asked to vacate the terrace before midnight as they tell you there is no one in reception again mystified. Never in all the years we've done AI have we come across such a poor level of choice and service. Virtually no evening entertainment and what there is is amateurish and third rate you will need to go out in the evening. We will not go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've been to these apartments a few times but this was definitely the best trip. The accommodation has new beds and they have improved the pool area and bought new sun beds and it now has a covered kids pool.

Best thing about these apartments is that they are next to the beach and walkable to everything. There are some great bars and restaurants nearby to cover all tastes. We love surfers bar for a nice cold pint in the afternoon. Scampi's is great for traditional fish and chips and not forgetting the mushy peas! See in a few months Tenerife, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.3 mi away
Villa Mandi Golf Resort
Villa Mandi Golf Resort
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
926 reviews
0.7 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#3 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Udalla Park
Aparthotel Udalla Park
#38 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,061 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#15 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compostela Beach Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compostela Beach Golf Club

Property: Compostela Beach Golf Club
Address: Calle Arenales, 16, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compostela Beach Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Compostela Beach Golf Club is a complex of low rise apartments situated on the northern perimeter of the Las Americas Golf Course. Within a short distance from the complex a variety of restaurants, shops, supermarkets can be found as well as the Club House of the Golf Course. The Las Vistas Beach is only 800 m away. Without doubt the complex is perfect for golf lovers, families or any clients wishing to spend their holidays in a tranquil and familiar environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compostela Beach Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compostela Beach Golf Club Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Compostela Beach Hotel Ii
Compostela Beach Golf Club Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing