We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Tenerife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compostela Beach Golf Club
shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little gem in Tenerife”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We a party of 4 including 2 boys aged 12 and 10 booked here as a budget holiday and after reading reviews went with open mind...
After a 2 hour transfer to the hotel, (bus driver confused as to our hotel otherwise would have been 1 hour) we arrived to a very small reception and then a very hot apartment, however I did read there was no aircon so we rented fans for the week at a cost of 10 euros, at this point I was abit worried if this was the place for us, but after a goodnight sleep and a fab breakfast I could see past the lack of aircon an a few cracks in the tiles, this place was a gem, great breakfast including proper English sausages, bacon, eggs,mushrooms, beans, toast, cereal an much more, good lunch and dinner, always fresh meats such as chicken breast, turkey breast, pork or steak, pasta, veg, chips, salad, and snacks between meals, all inclusive drinks not bad either, beer, wine, sangria and local spirits. Good location around 10/15 minutes to playa de las Americas and Los christianos! The resort is small, but we liked being close to the restaurant, bar and pool. Lots for kids to do, pool tables, play bus, computers,air hockey! Evening entertainment including singers and animal shows not bad for a 3 star in Tenerife. The rooms are a fantastic size and the only let down being the lack of aircon. Day trips to aqua park and boating fun and cheap.To sum it up I would definately stay here again as long as the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilikeitalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    440
    295
    97
    103
See reviews for
572
349
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a great stay in compostelabeach with my partner and 2 yer old beds were comfy and changed every day,pool was very clean and the pool restaurant was fantastic great value for money and lovely good and such friendly staff can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racheleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotels, Manager at Compostela Beach Golf Club, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities as well as the service offered were up to what you expected it to be. We all look forward to seeing you again next year at the Compostela Beach.

Gloria de la Roza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

a brief but fair review

reception staff...miserable and unhelpful...

room(158)....spacious exceptionally clean TOOOOOOOO HOTTTTTTTT!!!!!! awful awful awful. TC did not advise no AC in the rooms saw some had ceiling fans but not ours, the first thing another guest said to us on stepping in the door was 'get a fan its stifling' she was right and there were none available for first 3 nights!!! then 10e a week...a disgrace!!! yes i know i am in hot place but you expect it to be a bit cooler in the room not hotter than out side. 3rd and 4th bed were absolutely rubbish!!! metal broken slatted fold outs, one of them onky had sofa cushions as a mattress i kid you not!!! went to reception about this as soon as first night over and son didn't hardly sleep....nothing was done at all and no follow up to say why not if not poss to change!!!!
ok so those were the 2 negatives other than that....
food ...enough of various choices...a little cool sometimes, onl one beastie spotted and that was a baby and soon removed by the excellent restaurant staff, desserts a big let down but lovely ice cream!
drink...good choices
pool in need of a bit of tlc regards a few broken tiles and yes as in earlier reviews a bit slippy but cleaned twice a day along with area pressure washed daily.
sunbeds...we got one or 2 everytime we went to the pool without reserving...yes i can see there were ppl hanging on all day and heardly using but never had a prob oursleves.
position....ok so its a 15 min walk to the beach (vistas) or the strip but if its a pleasure rather than a chore then its lovely...far enough away not be distrubed at various hours lol some may consider it a bit far i think.always felt very safe though even at 1am with the kids!
taxis cheap if u have had too many sangrias.
the only other thing i would say is booo to TC about not telling us about the construction going on right out side the front!!!! really quite noisy depending on position of your room..last week was not good but the first week didn't here alot!
I can't say that i would stay here again...only due to No AC and rubbish kids beds...all in all not bad if you get a good price which i fear we did not....£3300 for 2 weeks for 2 adullts and 2 kids....i don't think we had value for money!!!!

Room Tip: at the back to avoid construction...try for a 2 bed near the pool they looked fab cause of ceiling f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george29575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family and i have just returned ( 28th August 2012) from a 2 week stay at the compostela beach apartments, We booked through Low Cost Holidays and paid £1856.

£735 of that was the flights with Monarch which were excellent by the way.
So my review here is based on paying just over £1000 for a room only ( self catering).

Just for the record this is our 4th holiday in tenerife in the last 4 years so we do know which areas are better to stay in ( which is why we picked the compostelo).


Starting with the room.....
This was nothing like the pics advertised on low cost holidays website, My initial reaction was OMG!
Basic or what! A good job we had no intention of cooking food while we were here as there was the bare minimum of facilities to cook with.
Off white walls throughout with a pull out bed in the lounge to sit on and a small coffee table.
NO AIRCONDITIONING..This is a must IMO in August as it was scorching.
Good points were a 32" lcd TV and plenty of plug sockets lol.

The bathroom was the typical shower over bath with toilet and Bidet in a faded 1980's peach colour and worn looking off white tiles....Nice!

Bedroom was fairly large with 2 comfortable beds in which had clean matresses and bedding and built in wardrobes ( with faulty doors on one side).

Plus points were .....The room was cleaned regularly and towels changed at least 3 times a week so we couldn't fault this .

The pool area was cleaned at the end of the day, each and every day and then again in the morning before they unlock the sunbeds . (9am).

The Staff were friendly ( the ones we dealt with were anyway) but i can understand the comments about being treated differently to scandinavians as we didnt get much interaction from any one there unless we initiated it first. ( i believe they are scandinavian owned).

I have given it 2 stars due to the fact it is ideally located for walking right from reception to Los Christianos or turn left out of reception to the Mare Nostrum shopping area and las Americas or Costa Adeje.
And that the rooms/pool area were cleaned frequently. Otherwise it would have scored lower!
Would i recommend these...No!
Am i dissapointed with the deal we got...YES, Part of this is down to Low Cost Holidays as they advertised these as 4 star and they are clearly 3 star (on the plaque outside reception)
And the room we were given didn't match the pictures that they have on their website.

For any body who is thinking of booking these, Check out Parque Santiago 3 or 4 first, We had a look around these and they were miles better( pool area etc was fantastic).
Hope you find this to your benefit before booking.

You may be able to book one of the privately owned rooms here if you look on the internet and they may be to an higher standard than the one we got so only then would i reccomend them.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 31B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotels, Manager at Compostela Beach Golf Club, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review. As we appreciate from it, there were negative, but also positive aspects of your stay with us. We regret that our property did not fulfil entirely your expectations. You are right, we do not offer air conditioning, but all our apartments have a ceiling fan in the living room and additional fans as well as small air-conditioning devises can be rented at the reception. Indeed, the rating of 4 star is given by the tour operator, but they always mention the official local category, which in this case is 3 star. Generally and according to the questionnaires from our guests, cooking facilities are considered as enough, but certainly we take into account your comments. Once again, we are sorry that your stay with us has not been totally satisfactorily.

Gloria de la Roza
Manager of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Quite enjoyed our stay at Compostella Beach, apartments basic but clean although no air-con which was sadly missed, We had a ceiling fan in lounge which helps. You can hire fans. Our room overlooked the beach which was great. Bearing in mind what we paid we couldn't really complain so if another bargain price was available would go again but perhaps not in August!!!
Good location, staff friendly, we didn't use the pool or restaurant but both looked ok. Not a lot to complain about, would recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't have people walking by your balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotels, Manager at Compostela Beach Golf Club, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for having taken your time in writing your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed August is one of the hottest period of the year in Tenerife and we agree with you that choosing another month of the year would be, from point of view temperature, better. We therefore look forward to welcoming you again at the Compostela Beach or at any of our other Coral Hotels properties, whenever you decide to return to Tenerife.

Gloria de la Roza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Dont get me wrong hotel was lovley and clean in room and around pool and would have been excellent if we where swedish or spanish,,nearly all staff are very ignorant toards english even kids club,,my young 5 year son didnt get invited or even acnolaged in the kids club yet all swedish or spanish children did,,same at bar waters cleaned bottles and talked and macde you wait to be served,,,then gave you change on plate expecting tip,,cleaners are good and came every day bar ones they said they ouldnt but dont expect them to say hello or acnolige you,,had a prm stolen from where you store luggage before you come home and all staff said was it hasnt happend before (read this on here allready),,no help didnt even move from behind reception,,again hotel as nice ideal if your on your on and dont bother to socilise,,not many english people there,,sunbed wars is comical in the morning got up ith baby one morn about half five and saw people reserving them,,,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotels, Manager at Compostela Beach Golf Club, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We certainly regret that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us. Indeed, we have guests from all over Europe and according to the questionnaires we receive, our staff generally gets an excellent rating what friendliness and helpfulness is concerned. As for sunbeds, just let us point out that they are available from 9 am and not earlier. Once again, myself and my staff we are sorry that you did no enjoy thoroughly staying with us.

Gloria de la Roza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked this quite late - and the reviews seemed good. On arrival I have to be honest I wanted to turn around and get back on the coach. It has the smallest entrance I have ever seen and reception looked small and cheap.
I am delighted to say that first appearances were unfounded and this place is great.
The hotel is small - and has one pool , one bar and one restaurant . But small is good - you are never far from your room and can alaways nip back.
The rooms were big - massive bathroom with powerful shower, good kitchen, large wardobe and seperate bedroom. Yes it was old and the taps etc were dated and a bit worn but everything worked. The rooms were cleaned 5 days a week and the towels were lovely and fluffy. Negatives - no air con so warm, sofa mattress had seen better days and was uncomfy for my kids but then my daughter can sleep on a clothes line so didnt worry us that much. We looked onto the golf course, other rooms look onto the pool or road. Only neg to that were the spinklers on the golf course that go off at 2am and reached our patio so couldnt leave towels out overnight as got wet but this is not hotels fault.

Pool - doesnt go very deep but then it wasnt cold so pleasant to play in. Cleaned everyday . sunbeds locked until 9 so no need to get up at 6am. Could do with a couple of new umbrellas but then never know any different what ever star hotel.

Bar / Food. we were all inclusive. Food well cooked and always a vegetarian dish. Fab english breakfast ( has to be said ) but continental aswell. It was on a strict one week rota and not had hugh amount a choice but we never went hungry. Infact we all need to diet now we are home as all four of us put on weight. If not all inclusive - lots of bars etc about a 10 min walk. Drinks fab - what else can i say.

Staff - Lianne was the kids club person. She was dutch but english excellent. She also did the evenng entertainment. She was on her own but did a good job. They have a few acts come in but again on a strict one week rota so be prepaired the watch each twice. She is off Sunday and mondays but then she deserved it.

Staff - all worked hard and thought were very good.

What else can I say - it is 3 star ( no more) but I thought it was great. I would go all inclusive again but also self catering and take advantage of the local bars who all do good deals on food and drink.

We didnt do the waterparks ( husband has been recently injured) but Siam did look good. Did go up Mount Teibi Cable cars are expensive though.

It was a lovely two weeks and I really dont have any complaints.

Please note as with all hotels have to pay for the safe 15 eros pwe week. Could hire fans etc. Only downside is we asked about late check out and it was 65 euros which I though was very expensive . But they do have a luggage room and shower do not to bad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Happyfamily209967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#19 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Udalla Park
Aparthotel Udalla Park
#39 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Mandi Golf Resort
Villa Mandi Golf Resort
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.7 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compostela Beach Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compostela Beach Golf Club

Property: Compostela Beach Golf Club
Address: Calle Arenales, 16, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compostela Beach Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Compostela Beach Golf Club is a complex of low rise apartments situated on the northern perimeter of the Las Americas Golf Course. Within a short distance from the complex a variety of restaurants, shops, supermarkets can be found as well as the Club House of the Golf Course. The Las Vistas Beach is only 800 m away. Without doubt the complex is perfect for golf lovers, families or any clients wishing to spend their holidays in a tranquil and familiar environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Compostela Beach Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compostela Beach Golf Club Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Compostela Beach Hotel Ii
Compostela Beach Golf Club Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing