We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful - amazing holiday!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa de las Americas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Caribe Apartments
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cheap and cheerful - amazing holiday!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

me and a friend went on a girly holiday for a week late april 2012. I was 18 and my friend was 19, we were worried about going just us two but we soon found were well looked after, especially by the pr guys down on the strip. when we first aerrived at the hotel we were a bit worried, as we were greeted off the transfer by a pervy, drunk old man but soon realised he was nothing to do with the hotel and we never saw him again. the reception staff were helpful and quickly dealt with out complaint about the couple in the room next door by moving them straight away. when we went in april, the hotel was quieter than what weve been told it is in the high season. some reviews said they always put noisy 18-30's on the bottom floor, and this is where they put us (surprise surprise), but we didnt find it noisy at all and made friends with the guys on the balconys next to us. the hotel is about a 10minute walk from the beach and main strip, but its far enough away so you can relax in your room without all the noise.

The room was cleaned everyday and new toilet roll and towels were added and our beds made. when we arrived the room was really tidy and we found it really spacious and clean. we were only expecting to be in the room when we needed to sleep but found we could sit in the room or on the balcony as it was comfortable and we could cook our meals there easily.

When we read other reviews some said you get what we pay for but looking back, we wouldnt have minded if we paid more as it was worth the money. On the last day we had a night flight and we had somewhere to put out cases for the day, in a locked room, so we could go and enjoy the final bit of sunshine.

overall we had an AMAZING time here and cant wait to go back!!!

** tips **
dont pay for the bar crawl, its a good night but complete rip off! just follow it instead and you get everything that the people that paid got!

Dont go out til at least 11, and have a good nap before going out.

Dont buy the cocktails... very watered down! stick to vodka mixers or beer but do not leave unattended!

Try to buy water from the shops instead of at restaurants as they will rip you off for it.

English breakfasts at the wigan pier are to die for and 3euros for full english.

Go to rags :)

dont get naked on the bar crawl the photographers will have your pics on the website!

stay away from the people selling raybans (rayberrys) on the streets, you will get robbed.

To deal with the PRs when they harrass you, ask them their names and tell them you are off to meet your friends then coming back, works every time.

Room Tip: if youre looking for a party holiday.. get on the bottom floor!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    18
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Went on a stag trip. Not allowed to play ball games in the pool, despite no one using it. No inflatables in the pool unless you are an attractive woman. No diving into the pool, again unless you are an attractive woman. The pool attendant was very rude.

The room was not cleaned once. One roll of toilet paper per room does not last 4 days when being shared by 3 men. Sheets had cigarette burns in them. Room was dirty. Fridge didn't work.

Would never stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Drm19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Arrived at Caribe late March 2012, and our first impressions were slightly wary. We were a group of 8 young girls, ready for a pre season good time, and the first person we saw stumbling out of the hotel was a 85 year old man. We didn't let this get us down though, and as we entered the building we were welcomed very walmly. There was an issue with one of the rooms not being ready, but other than that check in was very good.

We had a total of 3 rooms, (2 with 3 beds in and one with 2) and we were very happy with them; well, for the price we paid. it was £300 in total, so for around £35 each for 4 nights we were not expecting much. The rooms were clean and had a variety of utensils which we didn't use, but it was nice to have them there.

The pool area was very clean, with a lifeguard there throughout the day. Downfalls were the warning signs around the pool, which were poorly translated into English (a 'no diving' sign translated became 'no living in depths than ____'); the pool was freezing, resuting in us only getting in once or twice, and the lifeguard wasn't very friendly. On one occasion a man had dived into the pool (without realising it was against the rules) and the lifeguard not only told him off, but he went and got the hotel manager to read out the riot act, which as you can imagine seemed a bit extreme.

Other downfalls would be cockroaches on the balcony, which meant we were unable to use it. In another room there were also ants in the bathroom. However the cleaners were very friendly. In addition, I understand that what goes on beyond the hotel is not the Caribes responsibility, however one of our party did get mugged just outside of the hotel, late at night. When the hotel were asked for cctv they said they did not have any, so i urge any people staying to be very wary and careful.

At the end of our long weekend the staff at the reception were very helpful, and they let us keep the room until 5 to hold all of our luggage, instead of the agreed check out time of 12, for no extra cost.

The hotel was a 10 minute walk to the seafront where there is a variety of restaurants, and also a 10-15 minute walk to the busier nightlife scene in which we spent most of our time. Be very careful of the lucky lucky people - one, obviously thinking i was incapacitated, attempted to 'aid me off the beach' and at the same time went for my bag. Just be sure you are vigilant and watchful!

Overall i was very pleased with the hotel, as we felt it was good value for money and in a quiet area.

Room Tip: Rooms with the bedroom towards the back tend to be quieter, as otherwise you can hear the other holi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here in January 2010, but my last review seems to have been deleted. I'll gladly provide proof of stay and photos of the apartments.

Location is a good bit away from the main strip and beach. We were dumped in an apartment where the kitchen area was crawling with ants. We could not open the drapes as our apartment was right beside the pool area on the ground floor. There was an emergency exit on our corridor which was used by noisy revellers who felt the need to kick and knock on the door as they went past. Talking to reception was like talking to the wall! Luckily we had a rental so we could spent as much time away from the place as we could. Stay away!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oel159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Very unprepossessing appearance on arrival. Reception area Ok though and service efficient if not exactly friendly. Rooms are very basic but fine at the price. Kitchen had a fridge, kettle, microwave and toaster and plenty of cutrlery and cupboard space (not that we used any of it!) Twin beds are very firm but, for me, quite comfy - alcohol may have helped comfort levels. No air-conditioning so must be a nightmare in Summer. Fine for a lads weekend but basic. I would never take my wife or family here.

The pool area is quite small and cramped and very basic.

This end of the resort if quiet but a little 'Blackpoolish'. 10 minute walk to the main bar/restaurant area which is a mix of middle-aged orientated restaurants and bars and a slightly separate area of laddish loud 'fun pubs'. You pass another row of fun pubs on the way and you will be constantly pestered by watch and sunglass sellers and bar touts - and worse. The more upmarket places seem very German orientated and I may have been mistaken but we did feel the staff were a little friendlier to the Germans and served them first - perhaps they are nicer to the staff and tip more?

The Los Cristianos end has better bars and restaurants and the hotels are much more upmarket. While we were there I'd say that this area seemed 90% German and we walked out of one restaurant because we were ignored completely while others around us were served... again a German bias I think. I have absolutely nothing against Germans by the way!

Room Tip: All apartments pretty much the same I think but lift end apartments will have view of the pool... lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Caribe was announced as serviced apartment, but it rather was a small suite. Nice touches are swimming pool, ocean view, coin laundry downstairs, kitchenette. Unpleasant things were constant chemical smell in rooms (no idea what it was, maybe a sort of insecticide), cheap furniture and bedding, and overall ambience of underserviced facility. Nothing was a big trouble, but nothing was a peasure as well. Booked it as EasyJet Recommeded without thinking and checking much, so got a low cost accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in September 2011 and it was very pleasant. The pool side is very clean and the staff were very helpful. I went with my partner, we are both 23/24. A lot of reviews say that this is only for young people, which I would agree! It is a very young atmosphere, however there are some very strict rules that you have to abide by. No music or noise after 11pm (which is fair), however we had no complaints from our neighbors whilst we stayed there, and i could not here a peep from them either.

The hotel is close to all the main attraction, Siam Park is only 2 mins walk away, and you can see it from the front of the hotel. The water park is amazing and a must.... make sure you get there early so you can enjoy the whole day. I would advise getting a 2 day pass as the wave machine and beach area there is fantastic!

Restaurants are of plenty, one place in particular we enjoyed was the very posh and great service at Mama Rosa's. We were treated like kings and queens!

If i was to go again, i would consider staying in this hotel again, please be advised that the hotel does not have air con, however we paid extra for a sea view (which is only available at the top of the building), we didn't miss it, the breeze came into the apartment and kept it cool all day! For an extra £20 for the sea view, it was well worth it!

All the reviews i have seen are very mixed, but to be honest with you... it isn't the best one you could pick but for the price, it is pretty damn good! So to those who have complained, up your budget next time! :)

Room Tip: Room with a view ( a must)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eveybaby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#34 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bungalows Barranco
Bungalows Barranco
#18 of 31 in Arona
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral California
Coral California
#22 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Optimist Aparthotel
Optimist Aparthotel
#41 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol
Hacienda Del Sol
#51 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caribe Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caribe Apartments

Property: Casa Caribe Apartments
Address: 515 1st Street | Playa de Los Americas, Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Casa Caribe Apartments Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Casa Caribe Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing