We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol
Surrey, UK
1 review
“Brilliant apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

All in all I cannot compliment these apartments highly enough. Being a seasoned traveller to the Canary Islands I was a bit concerned about how close they were to to Linekers, Yates's, Murphy's etc but we could not hear a thing. Our main criteria when booking the holiday was budget and to say that the Hacienda Del Sol gives terrific value for money would be the understatement to beat them all.
The staff at the apartments were fantastic, all Spanish but spoke perfect English. They were knowledgeable and very helpful.
The apartments themselves were comfortable, had all that you could wish for and were impeccably clean.
If I had one concern about the HDS it would be that the pool area was rather small given the number of apartments, sometimes it was impossible to get a sunbed but this is just a minor gripe. The bar / restaurant area in general was great, the food and drinks offered fantastic value for money.
I would recommend the Hacienda Del Sol apartments to anyone and thank them for making our holiday experience one to be remembered for all the right reasons

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small pool area
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NickHilsdon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    114
    80
    34
    66
See reviews for
35
108
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

I have just returned from a holidays in Hacienda del sol and after reading some of the reviews on this website I was quite nervous when we reached the hotel. However we found the hotel to be spotless & our room more than satisfied us. We were given a room at the back of the hotel with a pool view and huge balcony. Although we were out late at night, the hotel was always quiet on our return and we had a great nights sleep. We only saw 1 cockroach in the hotel the whole week and it was dead, although there were some ants on our balcony. The location of the hotel is brilliant for anyone looking a night out, although we were advised to stay around the Linekers, Tramps area close to our hotel as the main strip could get rough. A must visit is the Irish bar The Dubliner on the road to Los Cristianos. Although the drink is dearer than other bars, it doesnt pack up until 1 or so and it is easier to drink in some of the cheaper bars before hearding down. I would definitely return to Playa de las Americas and would recommend the Hacienda del Sol

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — not enough sunloungers around the pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellsBellsBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

We arrived at this hotel late at night on a Saturday evening in February 2008. I had booked this Hotel through an online independant Travel agency - Sunsave (part of the Freedom Travel Group). I would never ever book with these people again! When we arrived at the Hotel we were informed that they did not have our booking. The Hotel staff were excellent and found us another place to stay for an evening- albeit at a rough hellhole, The Playa Azul, but it was for one evening so we could handle it. We couldn't get in touch with Freedom Travel Group as they operate during ridiculous hours during the day and don't have an out of hours number. They have an answer phone, but don't bother returning messages and ignore emails making it very difficult to sort the situation out with them.
Anyway as the Hotel didn't have our booking we were very lucky that the next day they had a spare oom they found for us for the week It was at the back of the Hotel and the view was of a wall. This was incredibly dissappointing. The Hotel room was very clean, but very basic and outdated decor. The T.V barely picked up any reception, despite the Hotel staff attempting to re-tune it several times.
The food at the Hotel was "canteen" English food, but served with a smile and very reasonably priced. The beverages were very reasonably priced too and I found the bar staff incredibly friendly.
I went out of season, and it was relatively busy then. We'd get out of the room around 8:30 am and most of the sun loungers were taken. The pool was small, but clean, which sums the Hotel up really. There were Cockroaches around, but this is Tenerife and you'll see them everywhere anyway.
I don't really have much to say about this place, which for me speaks volumes. I can normally see the good in everything, but this Hotel left neither a good nor bad impression on me.
If I returned to Tenerife I would stay in Los Cristiano's or Costa Adeje. Playa De Las Americas and the strip near the Hotel are quite brutal in terms of in your face entertainment, and the noise and bar touts can really ruin your evening.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Small, noisy, od fashioned (in a bad way).
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ellabelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

Myself and my friend both in our early 20's have just returned from a week in Las Americas and to be perfectly frank, will not be returning to these apartments, they are definitly not 3 star. We had read the previous comments but had reassured ourselves it couldnt be that bad, well it is. We arrived on the Fri nite at 11 and it looked awful from the outside, really old apartments, got inside to reception(if you would call it that) and after waiting more than half an hour got our key. First thing we seen when opening the door was cockroaches crawling on the wall. Went to reception and got the rep to come up and get rid of it but it crawled back out a hole we had in our window!!! Had our room fumigated the next day and came back that evening to the room full of dead cockroaches. We then had to spray our room ourselves everyday and get rid of the dead cockroaches in the evenings. We had no air conditioning and could not leave our door open as in the evening there was a least 10 of them crawling outside the door. Had to put a towel across the bottom of the door each nite. We had finally accepted the fact we wernt getn rid of them when we had another visitor - a lizard!!!! yep they were everywhere.
Pool area is very small and unless your up at 6 or 7 in the morning it is impossible to get a bed. also on one occasion a small child had an accident in the pool and it wasnt cleaned until the next day.
Myself and my friend enjoy a good nite out but also enjoy getn a good nites sleep, well it is not possible in these apartments, the noise goes on all night, singing, music, doors banging, people having conversations across balconies etc etc.
The only positive side to these apartments are the staff at the bar are very friendly and the food is lovely. Could not be faulted.

On a different note, anyone wanting to go to the waterpark, it is very very expensive, and you also have to pay for the rubber rings at 11 euro each. We arrived at 11 and they were all gone and we therefore only got on 3 rides for 24.50. the only attraction is the dolphin show, its amazing, not to be missed.

Did not like the night life in Tenerife, it is very rough!! We stayed down the irish end most nites which was slightly quieter but alot safer.

All in all if you a party animal then this resort is for you, but otherwise i would not recommend it and most definitely would not recommend the apartments. Will not be returning.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — cockroaches
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishgirlsIreland_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed at the Hacienda Del Sol for a week begining 26th July 08 and absolutly hated it. I had read the previous reviews about the cockroaches but decided to to see for myself and really wish I had listened. When we arrived 3am on Saturday we were booked for 3 people and only had 2 beds and were told by our Rep and hotel staff there was nothing that could be done untill the morning, so there we were 2 in a bed in the sweltering heat.
we were moved to another appartment on the saturday morning withe 3 beds. All was ok during the day untill we got back in the evening. we found 2 cockroaches in the kitchen cupboard and then they were coming from every where. Door frames, skirting boards, kitchen, bathroom you name it we see them.The security guards came up and sprayed the room whickh made it worse because it unsettled them. They were sliding down from door frames and dieing on the floor. all we could do is catch them in tissue and get rid of them. we must have cought 25-30, no lie !.we spent all night Saturday and all night Sunday doing this as we were told we could not be moved untill Monday morning. so that was 3 days with no sleep. Monday afternoon we were moved to another hotel and found NOT 1 cockroach.I do not think the Hacienda is fumigated against cockroaches as it is literally running alive! there is no way i would go back to that cockroach city.
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE OF THIS AS I DECIDED TO MAKE UP MY OWN MIND AND COMPLETLE REGRETED IT.
IF YOU DO GO THERE, DO NOT LEAVE CLOTHES OUT AND CHECK YOU ROOM EVERY DAY AND NIGHT !!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — COCKROACHES
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

Stayed at the Hacienda Del Sol in June 2008 with my girlfriend. I'm 20, shes 19. We loved the holiday and although the accomodation was basic we had a great time. We didnt spend much so we weren't expecting much. The reception Staff were sound they never moaned about people having a good time. The best part of the hotel was the bar ;) We spent most of our time during the day at the pool, at the bar (The Den), drinking and having a laugh. Bar staff are brilliant Den, Brian, Steve all legends. Dancings are good, with some top djs at tramps including Judge Jules when we were there and you could throw a stone to the main strip.

THIS IS NOT A FAMILY HOTEL, dont go expecting luxury, go expecting a good laugh and serious drinking (and cockroach killer)

  • Liked — the people
  • Disliked — cockroaches
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geo123Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

My friend and I have just got back from a week in the Hacienda del Sol. We are two 20 year old university students so we do enjoy late nights out and are very used to rowdy halls of residence. I dont want to sound boring, but...

On the odd occasion that we DID want a good nights sleep, this was not possible - Constant loud music throughout the night until 6 in the morning, slamming of doors, shouting across the hotel to people on other balconies. It didnt stop there either - at the pool, people were spitting and swearing at each other constantly. Disgusting. We are most definately not stuck up, but we did not return to the pool for the rest of the holiday. We would much rather pay 8 euros everyday for two sunbeds on the beach.

I would certainly not recommend this hotel for people with children, or older couples that are looking for a quiet holiday. OR for that matter, people that do enjoy a good nights sleep.

However, the hotel itself was fine. we did not have a single cockroach, the maid cleaned the room every day except one, lots of little supermarkets around, close to the beach.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — the other people that were staying in the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky-Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.0 mi away
Torres De Yomely
Torres De Yomely
#49 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#2 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Optimist Aparthotel
Optimist Aparthotel
#45 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
#41 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol

Property: Hacienda Del Sol
Address: Avenida Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 5, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 59 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hacienda Del Sol Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing