We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time - but be street wise”
Review of Hacienda Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

After reading the horror
Stories of the hacienda del sol our lads 40th birthday gang of 8 (Hagrid, straussy, big mag, torchwood, blunket, catmeat, torso and king thetan) arrived here with great caution and were prepared for the worst. Read on all you "young guns" from some experienced ex "Ibiza party boys".  

The hotel is what it is, it's an 18-30 and its 2 star in the middle of the playas party scene, don't have big expectations of this hotel. The hotel is clean, it's basic yes but it's not that bad. We had a bloody great laugh.

We experienced no issues with this place at all, staff were fine, security fine, quiet at night, no robberies so struggling to understand what the issues are. Remember nobody knows  the full story of all the bad reviews.

It's called use common sense and keep your wits about you. Don't go back there on your own, don't leave valuables in the rooms, always keep cash with u, don't go to sleep with windows or doors open, and hire a fan if your hot! and don't hurl drunk
Abuse at the staff or they probably will stich you up, oh and leave key
In the door when u lock up and go to bed- then you will be fine!

King thetan  left his house keys in the hotel, the hotel sent them in a taxi to the airport for my mate to collect, staff were brilliant!

Lads..... Watch yourselves when walking back to the hotel, it's got really violent prostitutes roaming the streets, apparently they try and Rob you or cry they have been attacked then the local pimps beat you
Up and take everything from you. Be careful!!!!!

Girls...... Stay together and be
Safe! Do not hang around here on your own!!!

Best 4 days we had away for years, hotel fine. don't be put off by the bad reviews if you are a group staying here. Would I stay here with the mrs for a holiday, never in a million years but for a party it's great. Happy holidays

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Catmeat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 350 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Before going, we thought it was going to be awful, but we were wrong!
There were no robberies..although we were careful to lock our suitcases and draw the curtains etc..
Never got told off for noise.
The rooms were basic but good for this sort of holiday! Only cockroaches we found were outside!
The pool was busy but we eventually always got sunbeds.
The pool bar was cheap and amazing, thankyou so much Toni!
Snappys across the road also did a good breakfast!
Recommend the elvis restaurant nearby to eat at.
The hotel is right on the strip so was so easy to walk back to early in the morning, and there was always a security guard on the gate so we felt safe.
Sugareeef and tramps are the BEST! we usually only spent ten euros a night cos of the deals offered to us.
We enjoyed our holiday so much, so GO to hacienda del sol!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have just been on a girls holiday with my friends and stayed in the Hacienda, I have to say I dont know what everyones problem with the hotel seems to be; the hotel was perfect for what it is sold as - a hotel for the Thomson Twentys holidays. Yes its noisy, of course it is, the idea of this hotel is for people like me and my friends to go and have a good time without having to worry about waking families, if people researched properly into the hotel before going they would realise this.
Yes the amenities are basic, but were very clean and in good condition. The staff are brilliant and couldn't be more friendly particularly Tony the bar man.All in all we had an amazing time and plan to stay here again next year. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Not great amenities were old and run down needed updating simple things really like towels and bedding/ I stayed for two weeks and the towels were only changed once. Never anyone about when I needed assistance or needed to ask for some information.the room wasn't clean from when we arrived.good location.the manager could do with taking a course in customer service/care.
I will not be staying at this establishment again as I saw much nicer hotels nearby of or around aBout the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ffsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Came on holiday with 2 friends in may and I can honestly say it was one of the worst experiences of my life.

The only positive is the location.

Was supposed to spend 10 nights in this hell hole however our stay was halved by the events on the fourth night. After hearing from around 8 groups of people about robberies we were worried to leave our valuables at the hotel so we locked them in a hard plastic suitcase with built in locks that were not easily removable. It was on the fourth night when we returned home early to discover that our suitcase had been broken into and all our valuables had been stolen, the lock had literally been carved away with a knife of some sort. There was no force of entry and we discovered from our next door neighbour that the technique of the robber was to knock on the door if no one answered as they did not a key was used to enter the room. Our neighbours told us that he then ran out shouting sorry sorry wrong room. We lost an iPad, and around 400 euros and had to end our holiday out of lack of funds to continue. The safe we were prewarned by others was no better if the code was incorrectly entered 3 times after 30 minutes it would automatically open, how ridiculous.
The staff were useless the receptionist with glasses cornered my friend in the room on her own shouting in her face whilst she was alone, she only stopped herself from being assaulted by pushing him backwards and running. When we asked to call the police they tried to refuse. Without the Thomson rep we wouldn't have been able to call. The phone line was then down so we had to get a taxi with the last of the change we were carrying to the police station at which we waited 2/3 hours to be told they couldn't do anything.
We paid £200 to fly home the next day assisted by our family at home and we also lost out on prepaid excursions as well as the loss of our holiday.
This hotel is seriously not worth it, please look at alternatives definitely would not want anyone to go through anything like this again and it looks like the crime has escalated in the hotel with the recent goings on, for your safety please do not stay here!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sophiee_ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After reading the horror
Stories of the hacienda del sol our lads 40th birthday gang of 8 (Hagrid, straussy, big mag, torchwood, blunket, catmeat, torso and king thetan) arrived here with great caution and were prepared for the worst. Read on all you "young guns" from some experienced ex "Ibiza party boys".  

The hotel is what it is, it's an 18-30 and its 2 star in the middle of the playas party scene, don't have big expectations of this hotel. The hotel is clean, it's basic yes but it's not that bad. We had a bloody great laugh.

We experienced no issues with this place at all, staff were fine, security fine, quiet at night, no robberies so struggling to understand what the issues are.

Remember nobody knows  the full story of all the bad reviews (however some recent reviews very tragic, thoughts with everyone).

It's called use common sense and keep your wits about you. Don't go back there on your own, don't leave valuables in the rooms, always keep cash with u, don't go to sleep with windows or doors open, and hire a fan if your hot! and don't hurl drunk
Abuse at the staff or they probably will stich you up, oh and leave key
In the door when u lock up and go to bed- then you will be fine!

King Thetan  left his house keys in the hotel, the hotel sent them in a taxi to the airport for my mate to collect, staff were brilliant!

Lads..... Watch yourselves when walking back to the hotel, it's got really violent prostitutes roaming the streets, apparently they try and rob you or cry they have been attacked then the local pimps beat you up and take everything from you. Be careful!!!!!

Girls...... Stay together and be
Safe! Do not hang around here on your own!!!

Best 4 days we had away for years, hotel fine. don't be put off by the bad reviews if you are a group staying here. Would I stay here with the mrs for a holiday, never in a million years but for a party it's great. Happy holidays 

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catmeat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Positives; Reception staff quite helpful, especially if you speak some spanish. Room cleaned every day except Sunday.

Negatives; VERY NOISY at night which can continue until 4-5am security patrol but do not ask anyone to lower their volume. If your room is facing the pool be prepared to be awake until dawn unless you join the others in getting completely smashed and retiring home drunk.

Swimming pool is very small for the amount of apartments which means unlikely to get a sun lounger unless you can get to them before 930am

Lots of robberies within hotel and someone died in suspicious circumstances whilst we were there on 1st July - room ransacked, we did not have our room robbed fortunately.

BEWARE walking back to yur hotel after midnight as there are number of Columbian prostitutes that offer their services - when you refuse they surround you and start trying to empty your pockets, nearly had some money taken on two occasions. A lady from the Neptuno restaurant said their pimps are Romanian and if a customer refuses to pay they will contact them to sort the the 'customer' out.

Lots of hassle walking along the resort in the evenings with people trying to get you into their restaurants and bars, as well as, black guys and chinese trying to flog sunglasses, watches and 'free' wristbands (then ask for change to get a drink).

The resort is a very rundown, dirty place and not somewhere I would ever return to. Unsafe for young people going out as there is no police presence or security in the bars or restaurants. If you have any problems at night - only you can sort them out, which, considering the amount of money they must make from tourists - is quite awful.

On the whole, be careful with any cash, take a prepaid travelmoney card with you and try not to get too wasted and NEVER walk home by yourself as there a lot of dodgy people waiting to rob you out there.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the ppol area for a better chance of a nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank travelmike78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0 mi away
Torres De Yomely
Torres De Yomely
#53 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Udalla Park
Aparthotel Udalla Park
#38 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
#44 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#51 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol

Address: Avenida Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 5, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 59 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $163 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hacienda Del Sol Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing