We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive Holiday”
Review of Hotel Ole Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ole Tropical
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“All Inclusive Holiday”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Have stayed in Tenerife many times on All Inclusive and this was cheaper than what I am used to. However, NOT WORTH THE MONEY. Stay away - don't go there. Food is same all the time and very poor quality. Staff do not speak to the English. Toilet would not flush on arrival, took 8 hours to get someone to fix it. Only one tv channel - CNN. Self service bar is a joke, very low quality drinks. There are plenty of very good hotels in Tenerife that supply an All Inclusive package so pay a little more - this hotel is not a bargain

Room Tip: Any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rickyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    452
    208
    59
    48
See reviews for
297
582
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burnley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Please don't go to this hotel if you are British as no one at this hotel will understand a word you say and will laugh at you as you try to get a point across!
We booked in and straight away we knew it was a mistake with the staff having no comprehension of what was going on.we booked in late at night and were rudely awoken the next day with building work going on in the next building, when we complained we were looked upon as moaners and told it would stop soon! (It didn't )
The food was the worst I have ever experienced on any holiday I've been on, bland,bland,bland.
The help yourself bar was a joke,there was never any stock in it!
When we asked about entertainment we were rudely shouted at "No Entertainment" by the receptionist, by this time we had had enough and told them we were checking out and all the said was OK!
We left there and went to the much better SOL TENERIFE,where we had a fabulous time.
Conclusion is, don't go to this hotel if you like to enjoy your holiday!




....................................................

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tembosecurity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

stayed here april 2013 was a bit worried after reading reveiws so when i arrived was not inpressed with the look of hotel or room needs updating but once you get past that and give it an over all look wasnt a bad place to stay at all it was well run staff were friendly food was good you could always find something to eat and ever night was different entertain was ok you always got a laugh self service bar was a bonus the only thing i will say is towels and sheets could have been changed more often but i really enjoyed it would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcvicks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 and had a wonderful holiday. We will definitely be returning to Tenerife, just not to this hotel.The hotel was very basic. Although the rooms were cleaned well on a daily basis, they were very outdated. We never got a sun lounger before 4pm in the evening as they were gone first thing in the morning no matter how early we got there. I found the food to be the worst part of the whole experience. Very processed/sweet and only seem to cater for very few tastes. Our breakfast was included in the price but on our second morning we saw a cockroach crawling in the bread basket so we never ate there again! There are plenty of lovely restaurants nearby and places where you can get a lovely breakfast for 3 euro so dont confine yourself to the hotel! Cocktails and drinks from the pool bar are very expensive. We used the hotel as a base, but after the first couple of days we spent very little time there. I wouldnt recommend and think you could find better value for money somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltropicalplaya, Community Manager at Hotel Ole Tropical, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear costumer,
We regret that our hotel was not to his liking. We offer a quiet family atmosphere to our customers. We continue working to give the best service to our visitors.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Read differant reviews on this hotel but i was surprised when i arrived there on 2nd march 2013 it looked very nice from the outside checked in about 9 45 on saturday evening given a room on the 2nd floor 207 room was very clean and nice spacious aswell went down for breackfast next day resterant very nice and clean food was good on the odd occasion not hot enough for me but the food was good poolside was nice plenty sunbeds and the bar was very nice and pleasant the entertainment was ok we met some nice people from scotland and uttoxiter not many english in this hotel lots of german i did nt find a lot of the staff very friendly towards us but was with the other nationalities i think this needs to be addressed as everyone staying at this hotel should be treated the same that said i would still recomend this hotel it was also in a good location about 10 mins from the beach front this was my first time in tenirife but would go back again only stayed for 6days but had a lovely time .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brenda85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Tenerife,hotel not so good,room needed a good clean
Furniture falling to bits poor lighting and no plug for the bath
Kitchen and utensils ,not very good either so we did not use them
Base of bed was stained ,mattress ok ish
No kettle rather annoying too
Hardly saw any staff,cocktail bar very small and closed all the time
Pool was very cold but a good size but did not like the idea you walk into it straight into the deep
end

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were supposed to stay in a two-room "apartment" for a week, but then it turned out that there lived (at least) one mouse in our room so we got to change apartment. The staff was very helpful and friendly but the rooms were terrible.

All the fabrics had this country-pattern and the lightning was bad. There were a couple of small lamps, but they didn't really light up the room. The room with the two separate beds was quite dark and had a little window located near the roof and didn't let in any light.

The bathroom was okay although the toilet was covered in some kind of old stains. This hotel needs a lot of updating, because it feels dirty even when it has just been cleaned. It can be okay if you're staying there for a night or so, but I can tell you, if you sleep in those beds for more than two nights you'll probably have to visit a doctor because of the back pain...

There is a mini TV in the room and also a mini "kitchen" (a stove and a sink) and a toaster. The air-conditioning works well so no problems with that. Good location, 5 minutes to the beach. But a little noisy at nights because of the music the hotel is playing at the restaurant downstairs (we heard i

The pools are freezing cold (at least in february) and the view from the balconies is not that nice with the whole sand -... So I suggest you put that little extra money on the hotel you choose instead of having to complain the whole vacation on things the hotel is lacking.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less likely to have mice as residents and are less noisy to live in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamelucken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#14 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ole Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ole Tropical

Property: Hotel Ole Tropical
Address: Bolivia s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Tropical Playa)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ole Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The services of the OLE Tropical Tenerife Hotel offer you the possibility to enjoy a family holiday in Costa Adeje with activities, entertainment and all the services you are craving for. The OLE Tropical Tenerife Hotel is located in one of the calmest areas in Costa Adeje, in Playa de las Americas. The hotel is situated 400 metres away from the beach, within a 20 minute drive to the Reina Sofia-South Tenerife Airport and within a 5 minute drive to Las Americas golf. From this hotel you can easily get to the shops, restaurants, beaches and leisure areas in Playa de las Americas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ole Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Playa Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Tropical Playa De Las Americas
Tropical Playa Tenerife
Hotel Ole Tropical Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing