We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, pool & very clean, food not so good”
Review of Hotel Ole Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ole Tropical
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me my husband and 11month old baby have just got back from a weeks stay at Tropical Playa. The loacation of the hotel is great just a 5min walk to the beach, veronicas strip, shops and restaurants with other shops and restaurantes even closer. The rooms were spacious and very clean, every day clean towels, beds done etc. The pool was lovely and there was entertainment every night some nights better than others though. There was singers, parrot shows, snake shows, karoke that sort of thing. The drinks part of the all inclusive was great as it was help yourself to all drinks wine, larger, spirits, soft drinks the lot no silly rules likel only 2 drinks at a time. The food wasnt so great though. If you like sprouts for breakfast you will love it but id prefare a full english. Dinner and tea was a bit better some days there was a lot of choose like spag bol, pork. chicken, chips, pizza, steak but other days there was just a lot of fish, cheeses and cold soup. The only other downfull to the hotel was that the majority of the guests werent english and for some reason they seemed to treat the english guests differently with funny lookings and pointing and talking about you but in their language which can be a bit akward. It seemed to mainly be other guests and they tended to do it more to the younger guests and those who had children. Other than the rude guests and food not being so great at times everything else was fine at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

the hotel overall wasnt to bad the food was atrocious lived on chips and beetroot all week dined out a few times they was putting sprouts on for breakfast? sun beds ok if you could beat the germans to them will never go there again only good thing was drinks was self service there was no entertainment on only parrott show then a radio playing keep well away from this hotel from chips and beetroot, and stuart

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

As we arrived the grounds outside are very well looked after and reception area looked clean but receptionist was rude! The rooms are clean but very dated n beds uncomfortable but does have air-conditioning which was needed as it was hot. The pool area was very clean. The food wasn't great. And the evening entertainment was shocking and old fashioned. The location of the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amandabenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just back from 6 days staying on an all inclusive basis in the Tropical Playa. Rooms were a good size nice size balcony, clean beds, nice towels. Outside area nice and no problem getting a sun lounger. Only problems we had was the food really, not that is was really that bad but not to our taste a few nights and ended up eating out. Can recommend the restaurant next door called Playboy very good value for money and nice food, friendly staff. For instance 3 courses for 10.50 euros or 7.50m for two courses and very enjoyable. Another good point was when we checked out we were not getting picked up until 4.00 and you were able to keep you all inclusive band on all day awaiting pick up. Would probably not go back but would not put anybody off going there for a few days as it has a good position for the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RB1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Arrived home on the 26th sept 2012 stay one week here
Nice hotel, pool ,average food,entertainment ok,
if you want clubbing it on the edge of the night life
staff friendly
there lots to do and see if you want to go on trips
Beach only 10 min walk away
NICE BREAK FOR THE WEEK

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEALS24DevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

On the 2nd or 3rd day had 300 euros stolen out of my suitcase by the maids. Went and told rececption and they said impossible and didnt do anything about it. Some of the entertainment at nights was rather quite painful to listen to. The food wasnt fantastic but could eat it. Some friendly staff but also some who could careless that you are there or not. swimming pool was nice. rooms were standard but air con was shocking. But made some great friends so all is well...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

we booked this through an online agent as a four star hotel but when we got there we were very disappointed with the room, went to reception to ask to be moved and to say that it was not a very good 4 star and was told that it had always been a 3 star hotel, we couldnt be moved so asked for all the jobs to be done in our room and they were done straight away, we had clean towels every day and the sheets were changed regularly. The swimming pool was nice but you had to ask for the music to be put on and there was only one lady who had the key and the two weeks that we stayed it was put on 3 times, also no games etc throughout the day. The restaurant doesnt really cater for the English especially at breakfast they did have eggs tomatoes and baked beans but if you like sprouts broccolli and cauliflower cheese that would be fine, we did find things to eat at most meal times.The bar was good serve yourself but the entertainment was quite bad most of the things started at 8pm and were finished within half an hour, you felt you had to stay there as it was all inclusive and you wanted your moneys worth, we stayed most of the time until 11 and then it was a short walk to the bars so that wasnt too bad. The best thing of all was that we had sunshine the whole two weeks we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife by Melia
Sol Tenerife by Melia
#33 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#2 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#20 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ole Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ole Tropical

Address: Bolivia s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Tropical Playa)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $100 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ole Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The services of the OLE Tropical Tenerife Hotel offer you the possibility to enjoy a family holiday in Costa Adeje with activities, entertainment and all the services you are craving for. The OLE Tropical Tenerife Hotel is located in one of the calmest areas in Costa Adeje, in Playa de las Americas. The hotel is situated 400 metres away from the beach, within a 20 minute drive to the Reina Sofia-South Tenerife Airport and within a 5 minute drive to Las Americas golf. From this hotel you can easily get to the shops, restaurants, beaches and leisure areas in Playa de las Americas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ole Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Playa Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Tropical Playa De Las Americas
Tropical Playa Tenerife
Hotel Ole Tropical Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing