We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants & Mattresses”
Review of Hotel Ole Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ole Tropical
2 reviews
“Ants & Mattresses”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

During the evenings vi had lots of smallest and fast moving ants. They were mostly interested in wet areas like kitchen and bathroom.
Mattresses are noisy and we could feel the hardness of springs which are mostly painful.
The smell of sewage was overwhelming around 5:00 to 8:00 AM.
The cleaning staff were eager to clean the rooms daily.
The location is very central and the view from balcony is very nice and the sea is visible.
The the loud noise of a nearby karaoke bar was very annoying during the late evenings.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciamack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    433
    200
    57
    47
See reviews for
284
556
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
flintshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

my partner and i spent a week here end of march 2012. we found the staff very polite and helpful.
rooms were abit dated but your only sleeping there, they were clean so not a problem, its help yourself to the local spirits wine and soft drinks, which is much better than waiting to be served, and food was good. For what you pay you cann't moan, its close to veronicas and the beach they were just 5 min walk away and close to siam waterpark, all in all we were very pleased with what we got for our money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Me and my friend planned on going on a partying holiday in tenerife so were not expecting amazing hotel standards. Im sure where we stayed was in better condition than those staying in a hotel full of party goers but ours was nothing special. Room was cleanish but there seemed to be a lot of these tiny bug things everywhere (dont know what they were) all over the kitchen surface and in the bathroom and any other surface in the room! We never used the air conditioning because as soon as we turned it on, an awful smell filled the room and it was unbearable, not that we were that hot in the room, when we were asleep at night (6am onwards) we were freezing and usually slept with the duvet and in hoodies! Was strange as it was late july!
The kitchen area was tiny and we were self catering so was very difficult to cook anything in such a small place.
We were hoping to make friends with other young people on partying holidays in the hotel but there was only two other young girls there who didnt seem very friendly and the rest were german families and couples.
We had a view of some strange kind of concrete ditch (dont really know how to describe it) and couldnt even see the pool from where we were.
On a positive note, siam park was a short walk away from our hotel and an easy route too, which is a must! Best day out we had and we still say how amazing it was now! The main strip was also very close to our hotel so that was a bonus and the beach was close too. So it was in a very good location. We couldnt help but hear the noisyness from the hotel behind us and wished we were staying there amoungst the fun and games! Probably wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone else my age looking for a party holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LottieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

First opinion on seeing outside of hotel was that it was outdated and could use some paint. Ugliest hotel I have ever seen!

However, reception area did look nice. When trying to check in we were told that we had been double booked and could not have our room. Receptionist told us they were putting us up in a four star hotel on the beach. When asked what if we did not like the room, she laughed and told us we had to like it. When my partner said this was not good enought she asked if we wanted a sandwich or something and again said we had no choice and had to like it. When asked if this ahd happened alot she said yes it has happened lots of times, and again laughed. We were told that it was not her fault as she did have a day off the previous day though and it was the managers fault...not that we were allowed to speak to the manager when we asked to.

When our taxi arrived at the four star hotel on the beach (Sol Tenerife) we were told that we were not booked in there after all and they did not have a room for us. After 20 minutes we were put into another taxi, again no one telling us where we were being sent to or given an option. We were then driven to a completely different resort to Playa de las Americas and put up in a three star hotel that was not in any way on the beach. However, the reception staff at Playa Olid were very friendly unlike the rude and unhgelpful staff at Tropical Playa.

When we arrived at Tropical Playa the next day at 12 o'clock as advised, we were told one again that our room was not available. The reception staff offered us an apartment, that they described as not very nice. They told us unfortunately they did not have our sea view studio. When my partner started to get annoyed and stir up a fuss in reception, we were then told if we came back at 2 they ould give us our sea view studio after all. When my partner asked for this in writing, the reception said they could not promise anything, as it is like a lottery! Again laughing their heads off and making comments in Spanish. They then told us to trust them and take their word that we would get our studio...after double booking us, sending us to the wrong hotel and then trying to fob us off with a substandard room we did not book.

When we did finally get our room it was nice, if a little small. However, one thing I would complain about is that we were only given clean towels once in a week, which is ok if u don't mind using the same towel for four days straight! and one of the towels had rips in it...which isn't the best.

The reception staff were rude, unhelpful, and very bad mannered, I have never experienced such awful customer service! I would never return to this hotel again, even if they offered me free accomodation! The hotel was a complete shambles!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

we stayed here 13-20th october.

on arrival we were told they were overbooked and sent us to stay a night in the sol tenerife.....dire hotel.

our room at the tropical playa was dated but clean with a nice pool view.

our only gripe is that the hot food was never hot. always cold which isnt nice when youre trying to have a pasta dish and the sauce is just like luke warm water...no consistency.

we had a trip out to loro parque which was the highlight of our holiday. definately a must do.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank car01e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

dont no why anyone would give this hotel a bad review can not say one bad thing about it very good hotel for money would go back there best holiday in long time very clean big swiming pool loved the food and the pull your own drink wos good strong larger and not far from veronicas strip and beach we had a very bad hotel last year so wos bit worred about this one with reviews can only say one thing thanks tropical playa for a very good time loved it one more thing go all inclusive plenty food choose from and drinks

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank markturner28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Hotel located in a great location. Short walk to Veronicas Strip and local to shops, restaurants.
Booked all inclusive option and Arrived at the hotel at 8.30pm with plenty enough time to have tea-which is served 7-9.30pm.
Requested pool view, low floor and three rooms next to each other. Didnt get pool view and was on ground floor so cannot complain. Rooms used a card system which sometimes very sensitive. Another party i was travelling with had numerous problems which resulted in having their door card system being changed (Still had problems gaining access after too)
Rooms we were given had a mini kitchen area, table & chairs,hair dryer in bathroom, large balcony. We Were pleased with our room overall. Cleaned everyday, towels everday 2 days.
The all inclusive Bar is self service. Help yourself to alcohol aswell as tea! Good idea for the adults but not for older childeren who look older ( like my 16 year old son who was able to 'pull' a pint when he wanted. Wristbands were all coloured orange so there was no indication to was legal to drink :-~ Local spirits & beer available.
The food at the restaurant consisted of spanish sausage & bacon, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, beans, yoghurt, cereal -for breakfast. Lunch & dinner- soup (tastless & very repetative choice)
pasta, rice, fish (which taste the same no matter which one it was !) Meat (steak, pork, chicken-even had rabbit at one sitting (yuk!) Cakes, fresh fruit & ice cream.
Food served 7-9.30am. 1-3pm and 7-9.30pm. Icecream, biscuits and cake available from 4-5pm. Bar available 10-11pm only. Staff friendly enough.
Entertainment available mon-sat. Consisting of animal shows, dancing, kids face painting. Small park available for children and pool tables. Tennis pitch and football pitch whitch was always empty. Small Gym for adults.
Pool area ok. Sunbeds hard to find if you want a good spot- usual people putting their towels out early on a morning. Lucky to get a sun parasol!.
~ Overall enjoyed our one week stay at Tropical Playa. Entertainment a bit of a let down especially for children & Food a bit repetative but can live with it.
The beach at Playa Del Las Americas is not the best. Black sand, very bricky. The waves are very high and wild ! My eldest loved it but a bit dangerous for younger children. Attracts a lot of surfers ( head to Los Cristianos- nicer beach. White sand )
Restaurants & shops - As stayed all inclusive did not eat out much apart from The odd Mc Donalds, Burger King (expensive) Lots of chinese buffets from 6.50- 9.50euros -one right by Hotel! Bars selling pints 1euro plus. Most we paid was 2.50.
Shops everywhere selling cigarettes from. Some are fake- so look around. Saw one shop selling 200 Embassy no1 for 15 euros! :-~
Things to do......Aqualand is a must. Dolphin show and waterpark in one. Be advised salty water. Put me off going on any of the slides. Great for older children or advanced swimmers as water is deep in parts. Be at dolphin show for a good 30-40 minutes before show starts (3pm) as it gets very, very busy!! Free bus runs on a morning but as you can imagine- very busy. Taxi there costs around 5-euros.
Would reccomend visiting Los Cristianos (10-15 mins in taxi. 5 euros) Nice beach, local 'town'shops. Market here Sunday morning. Very busy and sells the same items. Bags, bracelets... Did not enjoy this. Way too busy, very clostraphobic.
African men selling usual stuff on an evening- watches, hats etc. Women offering hair braiding. A bit annoying at times.......
Nightime- Went to Veronicas strip 3-4 times. Drinks 2 for 5 Euro. Loads of good bars to mention. Loads of PRs trying to get you in. Reccomend the Full Monty Family Bar opposite the 'Patch'. Cheap drinks, large tv with football playing & local tv shows.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BrownbabeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Las Palmeras
H10 Las Palmeras
#15 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ole Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ole Tropical

Property: Hotel Ole Tropical
Address: Bolivia s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Tropical Playa)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ole Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The services of the OLE Tropical Tenerife Hotel offer you the possibility to enjoy a family holiday in Costa Adeje with activities, entertainment and all the services you are craving for. The OLE Tropical Tenerife Hotel is located in one of the calmest areas in Costa Adeje, in Playa de las Americas. The hotel is situated 400 metres away from the beach, within a 20 minute drive to the Reina Sofia-South Tenerife Airport and within a 5 minute drive to Las Americas golf. From this hotel you can easily get to the shops, restaurants, beaches and leisure areas in Playa de las Americas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ole Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Playa Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Tropical Playa De Las Americas
Tropical Playa Tenerife
Hotel Ole Tropical Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing