We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you pay for in life is what ou get !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playaflor Chill-Out Resort
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stay regularly at Playa Flor ( 6 times a year), so they must be getting something right. If you read other comments, put them all into context. Yes, noise is an issue, yes, locks on the doors are dodgy and DO need fixing,(I too have been locked in/out from certain apartments). Yes - English is a problem, but hey - come on you are in Spain, so make an effort. Joanne in reception is Irish, so at some stage there will be someone to help you. In no way is it gay exclusive, but I have noticed on my last few trips, it has improved. The change in the management of the bar is good for the complex - but again, learn Spanish. Gabriel does speak English. On the security side, rent a safe and don't take passports, I phones / pads, credit cards out with you. Would you do that in London at night ? As a gay destination, Playa De Las Americas is not a patch on the Jumbo in Gran Canaria, but that suits me. It's nice to meet different people. One final comment. It's free WiFi in the bar area, but please get a life. Don't sit there all night on your own on your phone. Make an effort and talk to someone. You will be amazed how it can improve your holiday.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back. Essential if you are not a party animal and want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neilBFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 226 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lovely Apartments can not fault it but the reason I have given it 1 star is I went out on my own for a week from 3rd Feb - 10th on my 1st night I had my phone on me in my pocket and was targetted by a pickpocket this was very frightening and destroyed most of my holiday experience if you do go out there take bare minimum out and leave rest in safe in hotel wish I did so be aware there is also a load off lookie lookie blokes out there at present Also brush up on spanish as sraff don't speak english

Room Tip: Request a room as far back as possible as on main nightclub strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good,basic but comfortable and very clean. Friendly staff who don't speak English (so brush up on your spanish). If you are expecting a "gay resort" you will be dissapointed. The view from the terace at night is like a chanel 4 documentary. Fortunatly we were at the back of the complex and while our room did not have a terrace as such, it was quiet and comfortable. There is no A/C so it does get warm in the rooms, unlike other reviews we had no security issues and our apartment was cleaned daily to a very high standard. When we booked the web site described the resort as "exclusivly gay", this is definatly not the case, the majority of people there being straight couples. The website no longer says that and to be honest the gay scene in the area is virtualy gone now, with most gay bars having closed down. We won't be going back to Tenerife.

Room Tip: Unless you are into loud music and screaming through the night make sure you book a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

myself and my girlfriend stayed at the chill out resort and with a few adjustments could be awsome,
1. the door every morning wouldnt open from the inside so we were locked in until someone heard me tryn to get out
2.the noise is till early hours from the bar
3.the bath when emptyed went all over the floor
4.the cooker didnt work
5.no safe available

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank hardworkers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Firstly, really excited about it being our first time in a "gay" resort. First impressions was shock! the apartment was run down, handmade sofas made out of foam that was impossible to sit on for long time and imposible to sleep on as it was a sofa bed (aparently)

The plugs behind the TV were hanging off the wall, floors dirty, and bathroom with crack in mirror, light fitting missing, shower hanging off the wall. As with anywhere we thought stuff it, its just a place you sleep in... first morning 7am (after the club opposite shut at 4am keeping us awake) there was builders outside the apartment drilling and banging non stop for few hours. We let this go as they were doing some works on entrance of hotel but same happened next morning, after hardly any sleep because of previous morning and the club again making noise till 4am we complained to the "boss" and OH MY GOD SHE WAS SCARY! She told us if we didnt like it we were to leave, wouldnt let us move rooms or even apologise or give us a couple of free drinks at bar! just told to leave, after paying over £500 for the week there was no chance we could afford to move so stuck it out for rest of week.

And similar to another review on here we had £400 stolen from the room which was well hidden (or so we thought). Complained to "boss" again and she told us to stop causing trouble or our stuff would be thrown out of the room and made to leave the complex.

Finally the last day came and we were straight out of the room and arrived at the airport 6hrs early in excitment to get off the island! WILL NEVER EVER EVER RETURN TO TENERIFE STICK TO GRAN CANARIA!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackieboii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This really is a "chilled out little resort" were everybody is made to feel welcome and at home! we truly loved it. The hotel is directly opposite veronica's strip, however ask for a room near the back, as we did, and you will not be troubled by noise. The bar and restaurant area is really different, having a Moroccan theme and looks truly beautiful lit up at night. The rooms have three floors; ground floor, small functional kitchen and living room, first floor, a bedroom which is a little small but adequate which also applies to the bathroom and the" piece de resistance" is your own private sun terrace on the roof. There are beautiful seating areas outside each of the rooms and the pool is small but adequate.Nobody was naked when we were there and the company was totally mixed, but go with an open mind! Our transport from the airport left us at the wrong hotel from which we walked to the Playaflor, when we explained what had happened they gave us a free drink at the bar which was really welcome due to the heat. Joanne was also really helpful when I left my bag at a restaurant, thank-you! The rooms were regularly cleaned and fresh towels provided, they are basic but totally adequate and restful. The location of the hotel was very central so taxis not required for a night out. Lovely long walks along the beautiful promenade to right or left of the hotel and the beach just in front of the hotel across the road. If you are looking for something a little bit different, not the usual plastic hotel, interesting company, no larger louts, don't expect five star but want something central and comfortable, then this is the place for you and we will definitely return, can't wait :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ddsmc12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for an 8 night clubbing holiday. Room was cleaned on a daily basis, all the staff were friendly and although didn't speak good english would go above and beyond to help you out. The pool is heated which was fantastic! You really do need an open mind though because there is naked people just walking around the pool and bar area. Hotel is located on the Veronicas strip so is VERY noisy at night until about 5am minimum, wasn't a problem for us as we were expecting it and only stayed in one night to detox!
Recommended for gay and straight parties/couples who wish to chill out all day and party all night.
Not really for kids or anyone who wishes to sleep at night.
Make sure to try get a key for every member of your party or at the very least a spare one, front gate to complex is locked around 01:30am and without a key you are left to wander the Veronicas strip until 8am which from experience isn't pleasant or safe!

All in all a fantastic hotel :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
763 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zentral Center
Hotel Zentral Center
#31 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Court Aparthotel
Paradise Court Aparthotel
#1 of 4 in Playa de las Americas
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Endless Summer House
Endless Summer House
#9 of 37 in Playa de las Americas
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playaflor Chill-Out Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playaflor Chill-Out Resort

Address: Avda Rafel Puig Lluvina, 3. Playa de las Americas | Arona. Tenerife, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $70 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playaflor Chill-Out Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playaflor Chill-Out Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playaflor Chill-Out Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Playaflor Chill-Out Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing