We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, cheerfull and very clean!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments California
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerfull and very clean!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is the third time staying at the California apartments. The previous times I was in the back one bedroom apartment but on this occasion I was in one of the studios on the third floor. Apartment were very clean and linen and towels were changed every two days if not every day. The english chap at the desk was very helpful and not rude or abrupt like one of the other night staff. Only downside was the last day my girlfriend and I spent there, for some reason two English girls decided to randomly shout abuse at the two of us whilst in the pool, random but obviously they were having a boring holiday. Would definitly stay again here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oel159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    94
    44
    8
    16
See reviews for
19
114
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

me and my friend went for a holiday to beat the winter blues and we cannot find one fault about these apartments, cleaned 5days a week, rubbish collected on days that when they weren't cleaned, central to all the nightlife but far enough away that you can sleep.
The pool and pool area was clean, the bar was reasonably priced and so was the food. The staff were very friendly and helpful, i would recommend theses apartments to anyone that asks. if we got back to Tenerife we'll definately be booking these apartments again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just arrived back from California, the studio was well equipped and clean, a bit shabby in places but spacious (a microwave would be handy).We had one cockroach,the complex had a lot of foreigners staying there, (sunbeds saved all day )! The carpark area at the rear of the complex had bins emptied at 4am every day, apart from that managed to sleep well enough, no problems with noise from the younger ones,but can imagine summer been bad as walls very thin.The hotel opposite the apts is much closer than it looks on photos and we felt we were been watched by people on their balconys much of the time.The beach is a good 10 min walk away (downhill), a good supermarket opposite and plenty of bars etc close by.We wouldnt stay here again personally, as stayed in better in Las americas, but had a nice break there so dont be put off by some reviews!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view and high floor for a better view and sunshine on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDSPEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I per usual I read all the reviews and went with an open mind.

Apartment was well equipped for self catering. Each apartment has an inventory list for the kitchen. There was everything you need including a corkscrew !!
It had 2 ring stove, coffee maker, toaster, kettle, domestic sized fridge,saucepans, frying pans and pots for the stove as well as all the crockery needed for 3 people.
Bedroom was large with a large sofa bed and dining table. Balcony got the sun all day and was large enough for 2 washing lines and a patio table and chairs. We even put the sofa bed mattress out on the balcony and sunbathed.

The hotel staff were extremely polite and friendly. If you have a transfer booked they even check their emails for you to see when you are being picked up.

Apartments are situated 5 min walk from the beach. Important to note that they are situated away from the main streets so are peaceful at night. Supermarket and restaurants are also located quite close. Try Aberdeen Steak House turn left and behind the roundabout infront of you. Excellent set menu good quality, service and choice.

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Just returned. We booked to stay at California, on arrival were greeted by the most arrogant/rudest male receptionist one could ever meet. Told that there was no room for us due to faulty pipes and were to be transferred to an outlying hotel Bonanza which is 45 min walk from main area, very dangerous at night walking home, a taxi is a must. After long argument and constant request to see manager (conveniently not available) had no choice but to relocate or sit in reception! Coral Hotels are double booking California because of its popular location with Brits intending to transfer them to the Bonanza to fill it. This has been happening before we arrived and during our stay, with a number of excuses. After 5 days contacting our t/agent & Coral Hotels by email they agreed to transfer us back. One good thing is to go to the Blaydon Races in Patch, great nights with very friendly staff and Roxy of course. Good luck and don't back down at reception.

Room Tip: Don't book there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenneth_turnbull545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

These apartments are good if you are on a low budget, it's basic but clean, I was really scared that we would have cockroaches in our room, didn't see a single one however did find a little stowaway when we got home, I guess it could have gotten in there en-route.
When we arrived our room wasn't ready but we were given access to the luggage room while we waited for an hour and access for the facilities. We booked through easyjet and our request for a high room and double bed must not have been communicated as we ended up on the ground floor with twin beds, we just pushed them together and it was fine.
Rooms are cleaned 5 days a week and there were fresh towels every day they came in. The cleanliness of the whole area was pretty good. We didn't find the area too loud but the walls are very thin, we could hear people in the room next door. Having said that, they were a group of very loud Northerners halfway through a pre-going out drinking session. Could not hear anything from the elderly couple that occupied the room after them.
Kitchen in basic, hob, fridge and all the crockery you need really. This does not apply if you eat out every night, but as poor uni students we did eat in on one night. Just bear in mind that if you wash up, there is a chance that anything you pour down the sink will reemerge out of the drain on the bathroom floor.
Location was fantastic, only 5 min walk to the seafront with an amazing selection of restaurants etc and about the same to Lineker's, Yates, Mettbar etc. Close enough for the stumble home, but far enough away enough to not be kept up at night. Don't eat in the Aberdeen Steakhouse to the left of the hotel down the road though, we saw about 8 cockroaches outside and when a member of staff saw me freaking a little he just told me not to stare. Plus the food was pretty atrocious.
All in all was basic but a great place to have a base which is clean. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the South tend to catch the sun more. Ground floor does tend to seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Beware of coming here there will be NO ROOMS and you will be SENT ELSE WHERE

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pete9398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.0 mi away
Primecomfort California
Primecomfort California
#23 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#10 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments California

Property: Apartments California
Address: Avenida Noelia Afonso 2, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Apartments California Hotel Playa De Las Americas
California Tenerife
California Apartments Tenerife
Apartments California Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing