We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dad and Sons holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Olympus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa de las Americas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Olympus
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dad and Sons holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Club olympus is in a great location.I have stayed here twice and each time I was not disapointed with the apartments.This time we were in a two bedroom corner with a very large balcony with views to the sea.There are some very good bars and restuarants in the area with the Winning Post on site with hosts Roy and Steve giving great service. You don`t have to walk far to enjoy vrey good,cheap meals.I would recommend Club Olympus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    122
    39
    6
    9
See reviews for
135
125
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. I have to say having never been to Tenerife before I was very happy with the island and felt this area was an excellent place to stay. To clarify my comment on the room noise, the walls were that thin I could hear neighbours conversations (albeit muffled) first thing in the morning and we were woken up every morning either by someone moving furniture or by a young family getting up with their child. From our perspective we felt this was more a fault of the room noise insulation than noisy neighbours.

Room - As stated we were disappointed with the noise in the morning (pre 8am every day) and the decor of the apartment was basic but in fairness the apartment is privately owned, so I guess the decor depends on the owner. Additionally the cost was a good price - you get what you pay for. I have seen other people comment on being on the main road as some apartments overlook it, luckily we were at the back of the complex by the smaller pool, Apart from the early morning noise I mentioned, I found this area quiet, so you might want to clarify location in the complex before booking.

Complex - with the exception of a few days by the small pool the only area of the complex I used was the winning post pub which we tended to pop in to on our way back each night. Friendly service, generous spirit measures and a nice place to relax before turning in. Not bad for a quick snack either. There is also a main pool bar and a mini market.

Parking - I believe parking is only available within the complex to permanent residents but for a €20 deposit you can get a key for the gate at the back of the complex, which allows you access from what I believe is the free Hospital Car Park, I never struggled to park here.

What's nearby - In short and the reason for an overall 4 rating is down to the location. There is so much on the door step we were really surprised. If you leave the resort and turn right there is immediately a row of bars and restaurants. Carry on up to the first junction and look up to the right in the distance and you should see a white windmill. I would definitely recommend eating here one night, its a lot more money than some of the deals you will see on the way but the setting is lovely and the food quality good and the staff excellent. It think as an example a chateaubriand was maybe €50 for two people (see links at bottom of review). If you headed left instead of right you would hit the marina or straight on would be even more bars and restaurants. El Barril was a nice restaurant we went to on the final night, we wish we had found earlier.If you want to give it a try It is opposite Harleys Rock Bar. There are also two larger supermarkets in this direction.

Apart from the huge selection of bars and restaurants on your door step if you cross over opposite the complex and head left and then down hill you will eventually 15-20 mins get to Playa or maybe 40-50 mins to Los Christianos. to be honest if you head left or right from the complex there are some great promenade walks that hug the beach. Right would take you to Calleta although like Los Christianos it will take some time (especially in the heat of the day).

Bus Terminal - This is about 500 metres along the road to the left when you leave the complex. If you don't want to hire a car but fancy a trip we both thought the city of Santa Cruz was an excellent day out.

Prices - in general were very cheap with restaurants competing with set menus of 3 courses for €10 - €12 and and a pint of local lager (San Miguel or Tropical usually) being €1 - €1.50 up to 7pm and only €2 - €3 generally thereafter.

Getting there - It is literally 20 minutes from the airport, we agreed with the apartment owner for a private taxi which was €25 each way, which from reading other reviews is the going rate or maybe a little cheaper I am sure you could get a bus given how close the local bus terminal was but I don't know how regularly they run.

I haven't added any picture because with different owners for different apartments it may not reflect where you stay and general pictures of the complex are readily available.

Links to restaurants:-

http://www.molino-blanco.com/restaurant/
http://www.tenerife-information-centre.com/molino-blanco.html

Room Tip: Rear of complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank CoupleReview2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Am just back from a weeks stay with a friend in her family timeshare. Overall was pleased with everything, the apartment itself 5024 was well situated, it was on the the third floor with two balconies offering a good view of the sea & at night the neon colours of the resort shone out. Cleaned daily there was all the equipment you would need for a weeks self catering. The resort itself was not personally to my taste, geared it seems mainly for the British, there were some good bars but just about all we visited had football on big screens showing constantly throughout the day. I do understand after talking to one "brit bar" owner that in these tough economic times offering footie on screen is a must to attract custom so i guess can forgive them that. Food however, we tended to find good, a bit basic but reasonably priced, cheap in fact & plenty of it. For most of our week though we used the very good local bus service to travel to nearby resorts for a slighty more authentic taste of the island.

Back to the Olympus. On our first evening in town i had my wallet stolen, the staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful. I needed to contact my bank back in England and the local police. The man on duty at the time & im ashamed to say i didn't ask his name, was brilliant! Finding phone numbers, letting me use his phone, helping me with language difficulties with the police etc, we didn't let it spoil our holiday but this mans help & others in the office who rallied around made an unpleasent experience bearable & for that i am truely grateful! So hopefully, if im invited again, i'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faaarmerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at Garden City for a week. The 1 bedroom apartment was up 2 flights of stAirs, one flight from the street, then another to our apartment. Its unsuitable for ppl with mobility problems. Their is a lift, sadly it only goes up from the level we stayed. The apartment was basic, but adequate for a weeks break. It could do with a good clean & a coat of paint & a few minor repairs. We had to hire our towels (bathroom & beach) which we haven't experienced before! The beach towels had seen better days, but easier than carrying them. You could buy beach towels for €5 & leave them. You don't get a maid service & need to clean the place when you leave. You have to buy your own cleaning stuff, loo rolls etc as there is only the stuff the previous guests have left. You need to be careful not to leave rubbish over night otherwise you will have ants in the morning, this is normal in the heat. The location is good, the bus station is a 7 min walk. The bus service is excellent, its €3.50c to the airport compared to €28 in a taxi. I would stay here again if I wanted a cheap break.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Boodle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed in room 2022 for two weeks from 16th February booked through Your World Leisure and was not disappointed, room was at the back of the complex so mostly quiet(although they were not loud we could easily hear next door neighbours conversation in bedroom). Not a great view from the balcony but it was very private and a sun trap from early afternoon. Apartment was very clean with all facilities, towels and linen could have been changed more often but we had our own towels and laundry facilities were available so not a big problem. Only used Pool Bar once, staff very friendly and food good. Location was ideal as restaurants and large supermarket minutes away, bus station five mins walk for buses to Los Christianos and Santa Cruz. Remember to get Bono card as it makes a big difference to fares. Staff on complex very helpful and we appreciated use of showers and luggage room on the day of departure. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

the location is very good , rooms nice kept very clean and well equipped. maybe need a little more space around the pool. prices in the bar very cheap but not at the expense of quality. the staff helpful and very friendly , make you fell welcome .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keydoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for one week 11th to 18th February 13. Very pleased with the complex overall. Apartment we stayed in 5024 was older and slighty dated but very clean with beautiful views from the two balconies, We had sunshine on them all afternoon. The complex had such a friendly feel, with a lot of people staying for many weeks in the winter months.

Pool area fantastic, my daughter who is 4 loved it and Ricardo the lifeguard was excellent, doing a very good job watching out for everyone. There is also an excellent kids club Monday to Thursday, run by Gabby who is also a lovely girl - a real credit to the complex.

Club Olympus is in a great area - lovely walks, bars and great restaurants on your doorstep.

Had such a great time - already looking to book for our next trip out:-)))))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMW080808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.3 mi away
Parque de las Americas
Parque de las Americas
#53 of 80 in Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#28 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Borinquen
Apartamentos Borinquen
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Suites
Flamingo Suites
#38 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sunprime Ocean View
0.3 mi away
Tinerfe Garden
Tinerfe Garden
#46 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Olympus

Property: Club Olympus
Address: Ciudad Jardin | San Eugenio, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#17 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Club Olympus Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Olympus
Club Olympus Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing