We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Club Olympus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Olympus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We visited Club Olympus through RCI Points over Christmas.
The location is perfect; you can walk to a number of bars and restaurants in a few minutes. There is an Italian very close by (Rissini's or something like that) the food is superb; I can definately recommend the fillet steak! The beach is also only a short walk away.

The accommodation is poor compared to other RCI resorts we have stayed at. 4 adults staying in a 1 bedroom apartment. Space was not too bad and a lovely big balcony. The TV set was tiny and required a €15 deposit for the remote control and did not have the usual number of channels, i.e no sports so the boys were very disappointed! The towels were only changed once during the week, no where near enough when your on holiday and showering/hair washing constantly due to being at beach/in pool.

The pool area in tiny compared to how many apartments are there and although they state no reserving of towels on sunbeds this rule is not adhered to and noone seems to be monitoring it; 95% of the sunbeds were broken .i.e. did not sit up and if you do not get down to the pool for 9am you would be hard pushed to get one at all; they also charge €1.20 for a sunbed cushion!!

The pool bar/restaurant is again very small; service is fine and the food is ok; be warned if your apartment is close as its gets very noisy with some pretty terrible karoke which goes on way after midnight!

All in all a very disappointing resort as you normally get alot better when booking through RCI Points.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 330 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2007

Came with husband 4 year old grandson and another couple and their 3 year old son had laughs all day every day the kids loved the pool the men loved the bar and we ladies loved the sunbeds. The rooms were lovely and clean, The staff were friendly. We have a timeshare already and have nearly talked our friends into having one, they cannot believe how friendly everyone is and said its just like coming home to your family. We are now trying to book another week in November.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tilly54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Just got back from a week at Club Olympus. It had previously mixed reviews so didn't know what to expect. I phoned ahead to request an apartment on the quieter side of the resort (some reviewers had complained about noise from bar/pool area) & our request was met with no problems. OK, so the complex is a little "tired", but the staff were friendly and helpful, the apartments were clean and comfortable, the communal areas again were clean & well kept & it had everything you could want for a family holiday (good pools, bar, restaurant, entertainment, shops/takeaways). It is a short walk to the beach (bit of a drag back uphill in the heat!) and is central to amenities. Trips can be booked direct at reception & it is perfectly placed to enjoy a holiday without the hassle of a hire car. There were mixed reviews again about the restaurants on-site, but we tried the chinese (good & cheap) and also Roy's indian takeaway (a big bonus was that they delivered - excellent when having to stay in for the evening minding the baby!). The food at the poolside bar/cafe was expensive compared to the cafes/bars just a short walk away, but if you wanted to spend your days by the pool with the kids (as many people seemed to do), it provided an excellent service (& still not expensive in UK terms). Dont be put off by the fact we've rated it "average", (purely because the apartments could do with updating - this would be a cracking place with a little refurbishment) as I cannot stress enough that everything was clean, comfortable, well equipped & the complex in terms of what it had to offer was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy_and_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

I loved this hotel the rooms are big and really nice and the staff are really friendly and really nice. Entertainment great and kids would love it also when we were there was kareoke and this was great. Food was great and round the corner there were lots of resteraunts and shops which were really handy.
If you are a family you will find fun and there are two pools in the hotel and there an excellent size we have been back there three times and planning to go again
I would certainly reconmend it to everyone it is a excellent choice to go and stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tenerife_Mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2007

Very nice staff in reception. Lovely rooms for no money. Clean and tidy everywhere. Good fitness room with nice people working there. Do avoid the pool restaurant, very average compared to the restaurants down by the beach walk.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fiveayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

The reception staff were rude, unhelpful and racist.

Warning to everyone- Do not come here and stay here.

PLace is dead. Luckily, there is an Iberostar Hotel opposite!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maclal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2007

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jthepieeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zentral Center
Hotel Zentral Center
#31 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tinerfe Garden
Tinerfe Garden
#52 of 61 in Costa Adeje
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
763 reviews
1 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#30 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Las Dalias
Iberostar Las Dalias
#8 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Olympus

Address: Ciudad Jardin | San Eugenio, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#17 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Olympus 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Olympus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Olympus Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Olympus
Club Olympus Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing