We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A for awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa
rickmansworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A for awful”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

There is an A in the title. Hotel A Ponderosa. It took us less than one day to discover that this meant "awful". The food was terrible: meat balls and fish fingers most days. Soggy rice every day and chicken so tough you could sole your boots with it. Please give this place a wide berth if you want a good holiday! Ivan W.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    87
    89
    68
    142
See reviews for
106
118
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just came back from a 5 day break from here may 2013 with my partner and 3 year old. Where do I start. First they never had a booking for us. Asked for a pillow for my child to be told I,d have to wait til the following day as the cleaners had gone home and the man behind reception couldn't leave his post. Cleaners left our door ajar after cleaning the room, luckily no one went in and stole anything. Had to pay for wifi yet it constantly lost signal. Bar staff were miserable made you feel like you shouldn't be asking for a drink even though it was all inclusive, very understaffed not much choice in terms of drinks for a 3 year old who doesn't drink fizzy drinks. Food a complete joke is all I can say same thing for lunch and evening everyday (no lie) nothing labelled. Snacks was literally a plate of sandwiches. Most people ate out instead. Pool area 5 parasols for the whole of the hotel children's play area was disgraceful sand was full of rubbish and sticks and weeds. The gate to it was broken and left on the side where kids could easily pull it on top of themselves. All in all this hotel is not for families maybe single groups wanting alcohol and cheap food. I wanted to give the place the benefit of the doubt after reading all the negative reviews but had we known just how bad it actually was we would have paid the extra and gone to a better place. Not a 3 star at all. All I can say is don't waste your money !

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel A. Ponderosa in Playa de Las Americas for a one week holiday at the end of April. After reading some previous reviews, we were nervous at what we were going to however, on arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and find it difficult to fault. We payed a very small price for an all inclusive holiday and would happily have paid a lot more now that we have experienced what this hotel offers.

On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly Receptionist who efficiently checked us in. We were offered an apartment on the third floor (there are twelve levels). The apartment comprised of a separate bedroom, bathroom and sitting area with a small kitchen. The apartment was clean and a good size and all balconies have a pool view and, depending how high up your are, look out to the sea and over the main resort. The room was basic and could probably do with a lick of paint but on the whole, we couldn't complain. Towels were changed and the room cleaned twice during the week we stayed.

The all inclusive was food wasn't bad. It was quite repetitive over the week but there was always something which you could eat (chips, pasta and rice dish were always available as well as a good salad counter which was all fresh). Food was always piping hot. Breakfast was the best meal of the day, offering the choice of a continental breakfast, cereals or the full English!

There is a nice bar area with indoor and outdoor seating areas. The bar was open until 11 pm everyday. The drinks were local produce but no complaints about them. One of the best things about the bar is their soft drinks are branded so when you ask for a G & T you get a Gin with Schweppes tonic, which makes all the difference! The staff are attentive and friendly. They do use plastic cups however.

The hotel is situated about a 10 minute walk from the main Veronicas Strip and about 5 minutes from the beach. Its elevated positioning may not be as easily accessed by the disabled or generally unfit as there is a small but steep hill to climb to get the the entrance but taxi's can take you to the door. It's a very quiet area in terms of noise from bars and clubs but there is a busy main road which runs behind the hotel and can be heard in the rooms at night.

There are two smallish swimming pools both with plenty sunbeds (with padded cushions). The pool areas are cleaned every morning.

On our last day, we were asked to vacate our room at 12 o'clock and were not allowed to pay to keep it any longer. However we were offered use of a free courtesy room. You can book this to use for an hour at Reception which we used to have a shower and get changed before heading to the airport (you need to provide your own towels for this).

On the whole, this was a great hotel for the price we paid. Don't expect a 5 star complex but you can expect a clean and well maintained hotel with good drinks from the Bar!

Tip: Don't bother booking an airport transfer. The public Teide Bus number 111 runs every 30 minutes from the Airport Terminal to Playa de Las Americas bus station. It cost 3.55 Euros per person and only takes 30 minutes. The bus station is just across the road from the hotel, you'll see it as soon as you step off the bus. (Airport transfers can take up to 2 hours by the time you go round all the other hotels and the other resort of Los Christianos first!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HotSox87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I came here with my friend 6 of us all together and we had an amazing time! hotel rooms are a bit dated but are clean and we weren't too bothered as we only wanted somewhere to sleep and get ready. Two pools seem clean and are nice. Is VERY close to the main strip if you want to go out! Food is ok, quite similar by the nights but good although not the best for vegetarians. Miguel the man at the main reception is lovely and very helpful! majority of the staff also very helpful and polite although some are quite rude and you are quite limited on choice of drinks. In all we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and if your looking for a good holiday and not too fussed on the rooms decor as long as they are clean i would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smorg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

just come back from staying at the ponderosa worst week ive had.paid all inclusive but the food was terrible.same every day think they must of been on a budget not us. as every thing tasted like just bought from cheapest shop goining.1st day no tiolet button so couldnt flush shower broke had a bath it run out black water,but did start to go clear filled bath up and then it started to leak over the floor.it was like some thing from faulity towers .most of the staff couldnt smile .no out door tuck bar .no ceiling lights.wont be goin back .i noticed some 1 saying choice of red meats didnt see any all wk not even with salads

Room Tip: found that we was on south side on 2nd floor was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked the hotel, then read the reviews, big mistake.
Was dreading the holiday however this turned out to be a very good holiday.the food was repedative, always a choice of red & white meat and fish the rest was same same but it was fine. The rooms were dated but clean, maid in every second day. The pool area was excellent, sun all day, nice loungers. Drinks were ok however bar staff were serving in bar and dining room during meals but were friendly, well two out of the four. The entertainment was karaoke three times in the week, couple of wildlife shows and dancers, but the bar area was always busy and easy to meet people, which we did.
All in all we had a really good holiday but don't know if I would like hight of season there.
If you want great food go to Mexico five star.
If you want great entertainment go on a cruise.
YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR !!!!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

On arriving in the evening, we were greeted by a gentleman receptionist with big glasses very polite and friendly probably one of the more customer focused personnel, the only other which was helpful on reception was the younger female who was there during the day. In the reception area the staff and what I think was the management was aloof and unhelpful, which in my opinion set the stalls for the staff under them. The bar man was polite and always had a smile for you, and served quickly. The waiter/bar man Abdullah initially was off had no smiles and abrupt and grumpy. After I told him a smile went along way he mellowed and was very good, albeit over worked doing both areas, too much, with no help from the awful ugly sisters as we called them. The blonde waitress did not even answer your, Hola or thank you's no smiles nothing and the dark haired Spanish girl with the hooked nose was as bad, awful service from them. They left you stood at the bar, even when they saw you waiting or when you sat for the meal, unless you asked for a drink they took forever to bring your drink. However with hierarchy with no front of house skill or customer facing technics, its not surprising!
The food was fresh everyday and there was something for everyone, it could be a little bland but cooked well and replenished frequently, the salad bar was replenished every 20/30 mins. Very good.
The rooms were clean and bed linen changed twice in the week as were the towels, but the decor and furniture wasn't just tired it was exhausted!!!!! But you are not in your room too long, it didn't bother my friend and I, we went with all the comments on here in mind and most are very accurate. We saw a couple of other rooms which was better and worse than ours but again it was the old furniture and botched up repairs that made it look bad, sealant 3inch thick around the baths and sinks, chipped wood work etc.
The pool area was washed down everyday, The afternoon sandwiches were rank and the coffee from machines only was only ok, the fruit juice was awful. The entertainment was only ok in a good crowd and a few G&Ts! Families with kids used the top pool and kiddies which was good as it left a quiet area for adults, the pool toilets/showers stunk and no hand dryers worked, you need to take your own towels for the pool and there is no hairdryers, or tea and coffee facilities in the room, If you want 5 star pay for it, this really is a budget accommodation package hotel, and one week really is enough, unless you have surplus cash to have a few nights out.
We never saw the Thomson rep all holiday and there is no information boards up from the Reps

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
#40 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol
Hacienda Del Sol
#51 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#52 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#36 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Borinquen
Apartamentos Borinquen
#34 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocean Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean Ponderosa

Property: Hotel Ocean Ponderosa
Address: Ave Venezuela s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ocean Ponderosa 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ocean Ponderosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Ponderosa Hotel
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing