We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I came here with my friend 6 of us all together and we had an amazing time! hotel rooms are a bit dated but are clean and we weren't too bothered as we only wanted somewhere to sleep and get ready. Two pools seem clean and are nice. Is VERY close to the main strip if you want to go out! Food is ok, quite similar by the nights but good although not the best for vegetarians. Miguel the man at the main reception is lovely and very helpful! majority of the staff also very helpful and polite although some are quite rude and you are quite limited on choice of drinks. In all we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and if your looking for a good holiday and not too fussed on the rooms decor as long as they are clean i would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smorg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    87
    89
    68
    142
See reviews for
106
118
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

just come back from staying at the ponderosa worst week ive had.paid all inclusive but the food was terrible.same every day think they must of been on a budget not us. as every thing tasted like just bought from cheapest shop goining.1st day no tiolet button so couldnt flush shower broke had a bath it run out black water,but did start to go clear filled bath up and then it started to leak over the floor.it was like some thing from faulity towers .most of the staff couldnt smile .no out door tuck bar .no ceiling lights.wont be goin back .i noticed some 1 saying choice of red meats didnt see any all wk not even with salads

Room Tip: found that we was on south side on 2nd floor was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked the hotel, then read the reviews, big mistake.
Was dreading the holiday however this turned out to be a very good holiday.the food was repedative, always a choice of red & white meat and fish the rest was same same but it was fine. The rooms were dated but clean, maid in every second day. The pool area was excellent, sun all day, nice loungers. Drinks were ok however bar staff were serving in bar and dining room during meals but were friendly, well two out of the four. The entertainment was karaoke three times in the week, couple of wildlife shows and dancers, but the bar area was always busy and easy to meet people, which we did.
All in all we had a really good holiday but don't know if I would like hight of season there.
If you want great food go to Mexico five star.
If you want great entertainment go on a cruise.
YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR !!!!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

On arriving in the evening, we were greeted by a gentleman receptionist with big glasses very polite and friendly probably one of the more customer focused personnel, the only other which was helpful on reception was the younger female who was there during the day. In the reception area the staff and what I think was the management was aloof and unhelpful, which in my opinion set the stalls for the staff under them. The bar man was polite and always had a smile for you, and served quickly. The waiter/bar man Abdullah initially was off had no smiles and abrupt and grumpy. After I told him a smile went along way he mellowed and was very good, albeit over worked doing both areas, too much, with no help from the awful ugly sisters as we called them. The blonde waitress did not even answer your, Hola or thank you's no smiles nothing and the dark haired Spanish girl with the hooked nose was as bad, awful service from them. They left you stood at the bar, even when they saw you waiting or when you sat for the meal, unless you asked for a drink they took forever to bring your drink. However with hierarchy with no front of house skill or customer facing technics, its not surprising!
The food was fresh everyday and there was something for everyone, it could be a little bland but cooked well and replenished frequently, the salad bar was replenished every 20/30 mins. Very good.
The rooms were clean and bed linen changed twice in the week as were the towels, but the decor and furniture wasn't just tired it was exhausted!!!!! But you are not in your room too long, it didn't bother my friend and I, we went with all the comments on here in mind and most are very accurate. We saw a couple of other rooms which was better and worse than ours but again it was the old furniture and botched up repairs that made it look bad, sealant 3inch thick around the baths and sinks, chipped wood work etc.
The pool area was washed down everyday, The afternoon sandwiches were rank and the coffee from machines only was only ok, the fruit juice was awful. The entertainment was only ok in a good crowd and a few G&Ts! Families with kids used the top pool and kiddies which was good as it left a quiet area for adults, the pool toilets/showers stunk and no hand dryers worked, you need to take your own towels for the pool and there is no hairdryers, or tea and coffee facilities in the room, If you want 5 star pay for it, this really is a budget accommodation package hotel, and one week really is enough, unless you have surplus cash to have a few nights out.
We never saw the Thomson rep all holiday and there is no information boards up from the Reps

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel, staying from April 3rd to April 13th flying from Manchester.
I booked this hotel for a 10 day family holiday last October 2012 on the internet, on an all inclusive deal for about £460 a person for a party of five in two rooms.
I then made the mistake of reading the reviews of this hotel on this site which were frankly not very encouraging, and for six months continued reading negative reports which worried us as to wether we had made the right choice.
We flew in on a full Ryanair Boeing 737-800 aircraft from a freezing UK stepping off the plane to a nice warm afternoon, we got our coach to our hotel with A2B transfers, they dropped us off "first" after a trip along the motorway (autopisto) of only 20 minutes at the back of the hotel. You go through an electric sliding gate after first ringing the bell, and proceed a short way to the front of the hotel and onto reception. Where we were met by the excellent (English speaking) Miquel who quickly and efficently booked us in and explained everything, put on our all inclusive wristbands.
Up in one of the two lifts to our rooms located on the eigth and ninth floor, at first the room had a bit of a musty smell but after opening the shutters in the bedroom and the sliding door onto the balcony to let some fresh air in it was gone after a short while. After an inspection of the room, where I found everything to my satisfaction, with clean bed sheets and towels in the bathroom, there was only one extra pillow, so we asked the maid for another one and there was no problem. The maid came and cleaned the room every other day, and changed the bed sheets twice during our stay. Regarding the towels and bath mat if you want them changing you just leave them in the bath and fresh ones were there after the maid cleaned the room. The bedroom was bright and airy and had extra blankets in the wardrobe, which were not needed. There was a safe located in the bottom of the wardrobe, which we did not bother with after reading that it cost 27 euros for a week to hire it.
On the question of sleep, our front door was at the back of the hotel and so the bedroom was at the back as well, the problem is that there is a bus station located just across the road. There is also a main road running along the back of the hotel, and the islands only motorway called the autopisto runs parallel to that and all this combined does lead to one thing noise. But thats not the only thing to keep you awake, the floors in the rooms which consists of a bedroom, corridor, bathroom, lounge and balcony are all tiled floors and the number of times we had furniture being scraped/dragged along the floor or in the room above children constantly running up and down. Then next door we had a couple of young girls who liked to play loud music, talked in very loud voices and came in from the clubs on the nearby Veronicas strip very late.
On the plus side on the ninth floor the view from the balcony over towards the Atlantic Ocean was spectacular with the deep blue colour of the water, the huge Atlantic rollers breaking on the beach. The next island of La Gomera was quite a site on the days when the mist lifted which was most days.
Now the temperatures in the English papers back home before our trip out were saying and a regular basis that it was 70f / 20c, but as we soon found out it was indeed a lot hotter than that for most of our stay it was in the eighties most afternoons and sun worshippers were still out sunbathing by the pool at 7pm.
The mix of guests included at the start of our stay English and Scots folk who got along great a good mix of ages, then we had an influx of Polish Russian and Lithuanian guests (with lots of children) which was interesting, and I thought the English and Scots could drink?
The restaurant was quite big and clean and got quite full towards the end of our stay and people struggled to get a table, the food was adequate I say this because it got a bit repetative there was always soup a bit watery, fresh cob rolls and butter, salad and mixed meats and cheese which was fine, there was plenty of fish, chicken, pork, beef stew, pasta with sauces, chips, rice, vegetables but it all tasted a bit bland the meat needed to be cooked in some sauce to perk it up. There were no little handwritten signs to say what the dishes were you are supposed to guess, quite a few people asked me what it was I was putting on my plate I told them I didn't know until I had tasted it.
The chef was struggling on his budget I think, he was to be seen out from the kitchen checking the food and making sure everything was OK on a regular basis, he did not speak English though.
Breakfast was the usual not very well cooked thin sliced streaky bacon swimming in fat, the sausages were always overcooked hard and tasteless, the eggs selection, scrambled were cold, hard boiled, and freshly fried with runny yolks but lots of uncooked whites around the yolks, beanz well what can you say beanz are beanz, cooked tomato's, the cold selection was the usual cheese slices, salami, ham, the cereals were cheap and nasty, the toaster was the usual hotel type that is on a roller mechanism it needed two trips through it to get some colour onto the white or brown tiny slices of bread, but the queue meant it was not polite to try for a third run through, the butter was in those little hard to open annoying containers, no jam or honey though, there was fruit bananas apple oranges, the fruit juice out the machines tasted like water most mornings, the coffee machine produced small cups of frothy stuff that looked a little brown, I'm told the tea bags were OK though. The waiters were efficient and cleared the tables quickly and at lunch and dinner served drinks at table, the jug of red or white wine for two was quite drinkable. The thing I did notice was that most of the food not eaten at lunch was reappearing in other dishes at dinner it was waste not want not especially with the sausages.
The entertainment...firstly the stage was very small and for most of the time there was music blaring out of the two speakers which was awful and painful on the ears. The nightly shows consisted of the usual round of parrot, snake, eagle, owls, shows these come in with a great loud fanfare and are on for only fifteen minutes, then the animals are hawked around the room as the guys try to get you to have your photo taken with them for ONLY ten euros. A professional dance show with two girls and a boy, were not to bad, they tried hard and were appreciated. Then it was a nice old guy who came from Essex on his motor bike to give us his kareoke show three times a week, at the end of each of his sessions he told the guests your holiday is only as good as you make it, so true. This is typical of the type of entertainment on offer at most hotels of this grade today I'm afraid and one I have witnessed all to often at many hotels over the years, that don't employ an entertainment director. There are three pool tables one in the bar and two outside, a football/basketball pitch at the front of the hotel.
The drinks bar...one drink per person a notice says. Well in the main the waiters did a great job especially the girls all very hard working with a smile. But wait till Abdullah (small guy you can't miss him he only smiles at young ladies, everyone else gets scowls) serves you with his cry of 'wha you wan' an annoying little man. Don't let him get the better of you, treat him with the same contempt that he treats you with. The beer is the Tropical brand in plastic cups to save the washing up methinks, there are pint glasses around if you ask for them. Don't ask for cocktails they don't do cocktails. Service is from 10am to 11am and then you have to buy the drinks until 11.30pm when everyone has to vacate to sit outside, someone told me of a guest who bought a round of five drinks and it cost 27 euros.
The two pools were quite small but OK I guess, although the water temperature was a bit cold for swimming but some brave souls managed to get in. A notice says don't put towels on sun loungers until after 9.30am, not many people bothered and put them on before breakfast, I also noted quite a few people putting the hotels bath towels on the sun loungers too.
The hotel name is up in lights on top of the building Hotel A. Ponderosa, it is a three star grade, and by todays standards you get what you pay for. We saw some lovely four and five star hotels as we walked around the resorts of Playa de Americas and Los Christianos, you pays your money folks.
The whole experience of our holiday was totally ruined though by the sheer number of so called 'PR' ladies and men who stand outside their businesses, bars restaurants shops etc imploring you to visit their establishment, you can't walk more than three or four steps without being harassed and keep having to say no thanks! When you do stop and sit down for a drink, you then get the so called "LUCKY LUCKY MEN" invariably black in colour (who I'm told are boat people from Africa, employed by the local mafia) trying to sell you cheap sunglasses, watches, bracelets and won't take NO for an answer. Then there are wandering minstrels offering to sing you a song for any small change.
My take on all this is that since the All Inclusive board came in, it has killed off a lot of local businesses, you can see lots closed down, the ones that survive are just about holding on, but there are lots of empty seats in bars and restaurants as guests retreat back to their hotels for their paid for meals and all you can drink.
Enjoy your stay, the weather certainly helps you to forget any small problems you may encounter.

Room Tip: Ninth floor for great views of the blue blue ocean from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrier3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you could put half a star then i would.Hotel is dated, restaurant is the size of my kitchen ok if you like orange water(soup) or chips entertainment is a bloke on a kareoke and the rooms are decorated from the 70's all in all pay a little bit more and stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: choose a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have just returned from a week at the Ponderosa with three friends (Women aged 24-50) and we had a great holiday. We found the hotel was very good value for money and mostly the staff were friendly and did what they are paid to do (especially Miguel thanks). The location was ideally situated for us in that it was directly opposite Siam Water Park (over quite a busy dual carriage way system but it's easy to find the footpaths ) close to beaches, in the quieter end but only10 mins walk to the lively Veronicas strip in Americas. We didn't expect the pool to be heated so it was a welcome cool down after sunbathing, plenty of sunbeds and clean inside and out. There was standard entertainment on four nights - Karaoke, dancers and reptile show but we went with a good attitude, joined in and had a grand old time! (I found the sangria really good and they had a range of spirits, liquers and soft drinks). The food was fresh, hot, and at least two new meat, fish or veg dishes at each lunch and dinner, much better than I expected from a 3 star hotel and previous reviews. The 1 bed apartments were spacious and clean, if a little worn in parts but the sea view from made up for this. We'd all definately go back here again. Happy holiday.

Room Tip: One bed apartment for 2 is perfect for friends and higher up better the view.If you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
#41 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol
Hacienda Del Sol
#52 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Borinquen
Apartamentos Borinquen
#36 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocean Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean Ponderosa

Property: Hotel Ocean Ponderosa
Address: Ave Venezuela s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ocean Ponderosa 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Ocean Ponderosa Hotel
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing