We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good, food not so good...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The location of the hotel is great, 5 mins to the beach and 5-10 mins to the strip in Las americas.
The hotel is not the best, depends what you pay for i suppose!!
We went for 5 nights all inclusive in May, the breakfast isnt too bad and the lunch is 'ok'! There was no way i could eat my evening meal there as there wasnt enough choice for myself.
Nothing was labelled, so pretty much a guessing game on most dishes. You need to get there early to ensure you gpt the good stuff tho. But id say the menu was the same the whole time we was there.
On the plus side Tenerife is pretty cheap for eating out, with most places round the corner doing 3 courses for 8-9 euros.
The rooms were ok, nothing special. The maid came twice while we was there made it look like we had fresh sheets except they had just covered over the beds and left the bottom sheet on which had sand on it. only had towels changed once!
The pool area has no atmosphere nor does the bar for that matter, no music or anything so pretty boring.
Some staff are pretty rude, clearly dont enjoy there job!! They will only serve you one drink at a time, and if you were seen to leave a drink (like some lads did while we was there) you were refused the next time you went to the bar! not good!!

I would say its pretty good for young ones or stag and hens, defo not for a family as there is nothing to do!

If you walk down the front there is a great irish bar called O'Donoghues, fab singer called Pete!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 407 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

We read the reviews and hoped that those that were positive, even though they were outweighed by the negative had some substance. We were supposed to be all inclusive

Food - choice was even worse that school dinners (take it or leave it). Whilst a couple of items did have flavour not a lot was edible. How do you burn boiled eggs? The quality of the ingrediants left something to be desired i.e. coffee, orange juice, frozen veg, poor cold meats (spam would have been a luxury).

Rooms - We found toildet paper (used) on the walls, the base of the beds was bigger (by at least 6 inches) than the mattress, no hot water (even after 4 complaints), door that did not fit and unless you double locked was prone to undo. On the plus side they were big enough.

Facilities - The dining room lacked character and was dark at the best of times, the dining room furniture was acceptable. The bar was ramshackle at best, on one side a pool that had been unused for a number of months (maybe years) on the other a couple of tables, the entrance area was reasonably pleasant. In regards to the achoholic beverages these was the one bif plus with the wine and beer good quality and it appeared that they used a number of branded goods. The swimming pool area could be pleasant but was not managed in an effective way, not swept regularly, the bed mats tatty and the music played by some of the other "inmates" intrusive. The pool itself was OK

Staff - The manager/owner is a waste of space it was him that I complained to and on the first 2 occasions he made the right sounds but eventially shrugged his shoulders. There were a couple of eastern european girls as waitresses and for the most part they were pleasant, at time they could be "direct" this may be down to overwork (they have to man the bar and the dining room at the same time, whilst owner boy smoked continuously), the chefs ( a laughable misnomer) could only be discribed as idle, how could any chef worth his metal check a hotplate at breakfast and accept fried eggs that were rubbery to the touch a half hour previously as OK to leave for service.

The final straw was when we went to the room for a shower at approximately 6pm the lifts were out of order so we walked up to the 5th floor, the water was cold again and added to this there was no electricity in the room (presumably why the lift was OOO) and then the toilet backed up and smelt worse than a sewage farm. WE LEFT AND BOOKED IN ELSEWHERE

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Well... Most of the reviews are pretty much down to a T.. But there were no bed bugs. We liked most of the staff apart from the 4 toothed doosh lol. Big shout out to abdule and Enrique.. High 5 to mo we love u mo. graham the dj we wernt fond of him he wasn't very entertaining. There was always a sunbed free, very good location close walk to all the bars and clubs, better for groups who can have a laugh and not take everything so seriously. We will return

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blondesinreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have stayed in many 3 star hotels abroad but this hotel really is like faulty towers no joke, The hotel is actually ok, the rooms are clean although a bit old fashioned, i have just spent a week here with my family originally we just booked self catering, but after two days decided to upgrade to all inclusive, i sorted it out at reception and we were given illuminous wrist bands, the kids were delighted until they went to the bar and the spanish waiter/bar man told them they had took their bands off another guest, and wasn't allowed a drink, i had to show him paperwork to prove we had upgraded a bit humiliating in front of other guests. All the bar restaurant staff are really miserable and rude, they stomp about banging glasses and moving chairs trying to make you feel uncomfortable. I told one of the spanish bar man to smile as i am on holiday and he told me his life is no holiday!!!

Dont expect to have a few late night drinks either as the bar closes at elleven promto and everybody is ushered away from the bar area with lights out!!! It was our fourth night actually a saturday night and what happened next beggers belief, after the bar closed we all headed up to our room, my kids were tucked up i bed so i thought i would sit out on the balcony i was sat there when all of a sudden a bright spotlight was shining directly on me, i was on the third floor overlooking the pool, it was the hotel manager shining a torch on me i asked him what was going on and he told me to turn my appartment light out and get to bed!!!! I

Again on the sunday night we were all sat down by the bar and we were drounded by a bucket of water thrown down from a person on one of the balconies above, i reported this to reception whom were not in the least bit interested, and told me we would all dry off!!!

Above all we had a good holiday, we met some nice people and had a laugh its a good job because the hotel staff are so miserable you really do need to make your own fun, we will definitely not be returnuing to ponderosa. Also the food is lousy, it was cold unlabelled and more or less the same dishes every day, there was a large bowl of bad bannanas and three apples for the fruit selection every day and the salad consisted of red and green peppers, chopped raw onions and tomatoes and small cheese squares, they were put out every dinner and tea time, not what you would call a fresh salad!!!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stacey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

i was dreading going to the hotel after the terrible reviews, they were correct , although the rooms are clean they are dated. dont expect to have any toilet roll replaced, we were left one roll on arrival, we asked them for another, but the cleaners never brought any so we had to buy our own. our room was only cleaned once in a week, the pool area is really nice , but not very nice when you get in it to find there is lots of dead insects in it, also it is ice cold. we went all inclusive afterf four days, it is good value for the drinks but not for the food, it was disgusting and cold, if expect the same old fish in a sauce twice a day accomplanied by some hard chips and cold rice then you will enjoy it, also the bread rolls are stale, also when we got drinks from the bar the staff are very rude and arrogant , also when you wanted some change for the pool tables the manager sorry we dont have any change that was for the the whole holiday, unless you wanted to buy some batteries at 4 euros they would happily give you change. The best thing about this hotel is that it is very central to all local amminities, I WILL DEFINATELY NOT BE GOING HERE AGAIN

Room Tip: sdelect a low floor if you have young children as they have ver high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

went to this hotel with 8 lads on a stag doo. Hotel is a bit dated but still fine. Food was reasonable but dont expect lobster thermidor and champagne!!! if you want the food hot, get down there early its pointless turning up at 9,30pm and expecting it to be fresh.
The staff at this hotel are as pleasant or as miserable as you are. We found that even the "rude"Russian waitress everybody complained about on this site wasnt half as bad as expected, probably just sick of over expectant guests, even pregnant Penny managed a few smiles ( or was that just wind ??)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wilb125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Having read the previous reviews, we were expecting the worst. NOT TRUE.....

Arrived and checked in really quickly, just in time to get lunch. straight to food and drinks.. pleasantly surprised.. we never went hungry over the weeks stay..
.. If you want burgers and pizza don't go here.....
Never had to queue for food or drinks..
Service a bit slow sometimes, but they work very hard.. I believe in tipping,,they seemed to be happy with this.. but the staff where very nice., although no name badges... but we just asked them.. what's your name? Enrico, Eva, Abdul.. etc

Bedding and towels not changed every day, but asked for a change of towels and this was done, no problem. No daytime entertainment.. Nightime was 9 to 11 karaoke ..all our drinks served in proper glasses - plastic cups used nearer end of night.. but not a problem Las Americas has lots of bars etc. if you need other entertainment.. the star bar just along to the left @ front gate..

.happy to do sunbathing. Not too busy so always plenty of beds..be carefull the plastics covers get really hot...beaches close by. But must go to De duque beach a couple of euros on the bus, the station is right across from the hotel. Overall hotel nice, self catering stuff could be removed. we never used any of it. ok for 3 star..

Room Tip: our room 317 was nice and quite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeezoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
1.1 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#51 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Udalla Park
Aparthotel Udalla Park
#38 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#14 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocean Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean Ponderosa

Address: Ave Venezuela s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $107 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ocean Ponderosa 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ocean Ponderosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Ponderosa Hotel
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing