We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I GOT MUGGED, OUTSIDE THE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I GOT MUGGED, OUTSIDE THE HOTEL”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

The hotel has a drive, at the bottom of the drive your on a side road which is only 100 metres to the main street, commin home one night with my grand daughters i had turned off the main st onto the side road when 2 men in hoodies tried grabbing my bag of my shoulder, they got it in the end after a struggle, the police didnt seem suprised this had happened so be carefull. The hotel its self was ok, food not brill, not much to choose from, the rooms only get cleaned every other day, and we had to ask for clean towels, but we did get them it was just a pain asking all the time, some on reception were good but not all, Abdulla on the bar appears moody but a tip works well and then he does really look after you drinks wise. Do go to Sian park its a fantastic day out and not only for kids the slides are wicked, but dont try to take food in with you it gets took of you as you go in (after you have paid) the food inside is good and not 2 expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunseekerleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    87
    89
    68
    142
See reviews for
106
118
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed at the Ponderosa on 16th april. We didnt arrive till late reception staff lovely! We were quite pleased with are room, our balcony door locked (when reading other reviews before we left some said they didnt lock) but my brother and his girlfirend's didn't. Our room was clean quite big, fridge included which we were pleased about (getting drunk most of the week means stocking up on lots of water). As we arrived late all inclusive was over and the bar was closed so we walked into town which took us around 5-10minutes for some food. The hotel food wasnt brilliant but there was always something we could eat i ate chips, tomato sauce or bread and butter as did my partner (we are quite fussy eaters) but my brother and his partner tried most things and said it was pretty tasteless. Still there was something to eat for everyone! The bar and restaurant staff are quite miserable moaned about anything you asked for! But saying that if you tried to have a conversation with them they would be quite friendly, there was one man walked around at night and sometimes during the day very friendly always asked how we were, we thought he was the manager but he would wear jeans and tops but sat with all staff. I like going all inclusive for the drinks and not just alcohol it is a lot cheaper when your thirsty you get a drink then 10 mintues later its warm and flat, so for what we paid (£340 for 6nights) we couldnt complain. I am hopeing to go back around the middle of June i enjoyed my stay and tenerife that much. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachelle_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orpington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Staff on reception, in the dining room and bar and also the cleaners were all very helpful and friendly. The chef seemed quite jolly but unfortunately his only culinary talent was managing to make everything completely tasteless. Food was pretty much the same every day...a tray of chips, another with fish in some kind of sauce, another with pasta in some kind of sauce and meat..in another kind of sauce...every day!! There was also salad every day which sat out from lunch until eveing meal. Both lunch and evening meal were exactly the same choices. Soup!! oh god! so much oil floating on top of the 'minestrone'.. what the chef lacked in talent, he made up for in oil. Dessert was a kind of slice with something creamy in the middle and icing on top, sometimes the colour of the icing changed (but it didn't taste of anything different!). My favourite was the big bowl of mousse ...sometimes mango flavour, sometimes chocolate and I think either coconut or vanilla but could not be sure..there was also 4 flavours of ice cream. Occasionally either pears or apples in a marinade were available (again with no real taste...and, no..I don't smoke so lack of flavour cannot be blamed on lack of taste buds!) After 4 days we had a conversation with the manager about the lack of variety and lack of flavour...and the abundance of oil in the soup! We did then get some better soup after this...we then had surprise soup for the rest of the holiday ... as no body seemed to know what it was when asked!! Although it did vary.... and a major discovery was a bottle of HP sauce which improve things a little. Breakfast was ok. We did end up having a banana and roll every lunch time as the chef could not diminish the flavour of this! Apart from the food everything else was ok, the views of both mountains and sea, our huge balcony (we had an apartment on the end of our floor so the balcony went around the side of the bulding in an L shape). 2 unheated pools but ok. Close to the sea and the bus station and not far to walk for entertainment and shops. Room cleaned most days. Only other thing that was a bit disconcerting was the fact that our door had clearly been kicked in at some point and the 'repair' was several screws at 1cm apart all around the side of the door and frame...daylight could clearly be seen around the door from the inside and as our room was right next to the fire escape and out of view of the rest of the rooms... best not to dwell on it. On our last day we overheard a conversation at reception between staff and 3 young girls who had just arrived....they were complaining that the door to their room looked as though someone had broken in and it was not secure (these young girls had a room on the ground floor..so I can only imagine how they night have felt). For a budget holiday it was good and we did enjoy it in the main... not good if you like to eat though... Last but not least ..entertainment - wasn't...... same songs sang badly by different people, highlight was a show with birds of prey. Casino nearby ok but pricey. Siam park is just to rear of hotel. Bus station also to rear if you want to check out a nearby market or shopping in El Corte Ingles at Sant Cruz (cost around 15 euros one way though and about 1 1/2 hours drive) Check out the EXit Palace across the road to rear of hotel.. ABBA, Pink Floyd and Queen tribute bands and acrobats..an amazing night out with a comlimentary glass of champagne.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gollumOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south-east
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights got a good deal half board. Rooms are dated but clean. Had a kettle and toaster but only a small amount of cutlery, no plates, mugs. There was not a good choice of main meal for dinner, one veg, nothing labelled. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 042711b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed here for a week at the end of February. Following some of the poor reviews we were a little apprehensive about the hotel but we needn't have worried.

The rooms are comfortable. They are a little dated and could do with some refurbishment which I'm sure will come in time but both rooms we had were clean, the cleaners came in with new towels 3 times during the week. The balcony doors don't appear to have a key operated lock but the only handle is on the inside so I couldn't see how you could open them from off the balcony. The pool areas are fantastic and are cleaned daily as were the other communal parts of the hotel. The only criticism we could make is that there is some noise from a nearby bar that lasts up to midnight and could be heard if you are based in the centre of the hotel, with young kids we were in bed by then, and if you are towards the far end above the tennis courts in rooms *19 and *18 the bin lorry visits daily at 2am to empty the bins and the guy doesn't work quietly, only lasts 10 minutes but was a wonderful way to interrupt each nights sleep.

Most of the staff at the hotel were very attentive and couldn't do enough to help, a couple of them were less enthusiastic but were fairly easy to avoid so didn't cause us any problems. We were all inclusive, which worked out well with drinks especially during the day with 5 kids, the food was fine, the salads were particularly good, perhaps if you were here for two weeks it might become a little repetitive and labelling what things were would help, our kids loaded their plates with onion rings on one occasion only to discover that squid rings didn't quite taste the same!! Breakfasts were really good though and for what we paid for the holiday we didn't have any complaints about the food at all.

The hotel is very nicely located, the nearest beach is 10 minutes walk away, Siam park (well worth a visit) is about 30 minutes walk away and any of the other major attractions seem to have courtesy buses which pick up close to the hotel.

This hotel is great value for money, it is a well run 3 star hotel, and the staff try very hard to please their guests.

We would definitely stay at this hotel next time we visit Tenerife.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNW1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed in a studio accommodation which was very clean, and had everything there including an iron and ironning board, we were n the 6th floor views was great. Staff was friendly and the food was acceptable which we had 3 meals a day. The only fault is the entertainment its not up 2 standard,( not good for kids) Overall nice place to stay in a good location, for the price you cant beat it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sal George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed from Feb 20th for one week. Mother and daughters age 16 and 11. The staff were very welcoming, the room was very clean. tip here, probably best to be between floors 2 and 5 if possible. The others are a bit high and the balcony doors do not lock so insecure on the ground floor. Also if possible get an odd numbered room. These are in the block which looks onto the sea and pool, great for keeping an eye on the 11 yr old in the pool. These are also the quieter rooms as there is a nightclub in the bottom of the other block. They have safe boxes in the room 20 euros plus 30 euro deposit, wrt the balcony doors not locking put valuables in and take or hide the key. We had no problems with our belongings, but take no chances.

Maid service missed one day for us, was generally excellent, linen kept fresh and towels changed if you put them in the bath. Fixtures a bit dated but rooms have been painted. We had a 1 bed apartment, neat little kitchen which we did not use, out of choice and also because the third bed was in front of it. Fridge useful for water though. Furnishings and storage space were adequate. Mattresses hygienic and comfortable. No aircon, so this is not the hotel for you after April when it gets hotter. No problem in Feb. Your can get a wifi card for 8 euro for the week, but the link only works in the reception area, my daughter had to do her history homework!

One negative, I would not advocate the in house car rental man, I asked for a car for one day the day before to go to the Loro park and the camels, I asked for 8 30 am and it turned up at 10am. we missed the camels, the advert says open til 7pm, they were shut at 5 45. It was our only holiday blight though.

Food adequate, we were on the all inclusive and generally ate one meal per day there plus breakfast. Breakfast fine, rest a bit boring but adequate and suitable choices for the children, I ate alot of salad. House wine, forget it! Beer fine and the bar makes great G and T's. No problem with the bar service, but it was quiet when we were there. We didn't do much of the entertainment but the Loro show is sweet, bware they take your photo and sting you for 10 euro, if you don't want it go to the loo at that point.

Location, very good indeed, you are at the top of Playa, lovely beaches 5 mins walk. Another tip if you have not done Tenerife before, commit the children to one old cossie and keep it for the beach the very fine black sand gets right into the weave and never comes out. If you can take a bucket and spade do as they rip you off for them in the shops 6-7 euro for plastic tat. Shop around for lightweight beach towels you shoud be able to get 2 for 7 euros and they last forever. Lightweight is all you need there and they dry quickly. Also re location there are good restaurants along the beach and just south of where the road meets the first beach a fantastic ice cream bar with every flavour under the sun.

Do not miss Siam Park, great water park, much better than aqualand. 15 mins walk from hotel out the back past the bus station and turn L at next Junction, its over the bridge. Book on something like attraction tix before you go, cheaper, esp if combined with Loro park, but go for one of the simple packages. Big advanatage is that being so close you can ( and must if you want sunbeds for your group) get there really early, like 10 mins before opening. If you have the barcode tickets already you avoid the big paying queue. We went back for another day on the cheap return offer. We went the second time on the satuday which being a turnover day was relatively quiet.

Altogether a lovely holiday in the sun. Nice hotel, kind staff, quiet when we were there, not luxurious and if you just want to stay around the hotel not the best. As a lodging place with facilities and a nice atmosphere a really good deal. We would go back.
If you have already booked and have been put off by the reviews, please don't be, the reception people were very helpful when we asked for anything (with a smile of course).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suntimesforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
#40 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol
Hacienda Del Sol
#51 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#52 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#35 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Borinquen
Apartamentos Borinquen
#34 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocean Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean Ponderosa

Property: Hotel Ocean Ponderosa
Address: Ave Venezuela s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ocean Ponderosa 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ocean Ponderosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Ponderosa Hotel
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing