We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avante!!!! Tomorrow!!! Awesome holiday though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Optimist Aparthotel
Reviewed February 24, 2010

What a complete joke of a hotel establishment. The staff and managers were rude and very aggressive, it's a decent walk to hit strip and there's really not anything about the hotel for entertainment. However there is a little shop across the street were you can by the alcohol that turns these apartments into a mad house! If you go with 16 of your freinds and want sheer madness then this is the place for you, it's cheep and they won't punish you for wrecking the rooms, also most the people who come are there for the same reason, so get to know everybody. The managers is not the most decent man in the world, but his catchphrase AVANTE TOMORROW is very funny, just don't be intimidated. PS Angry Spanish men provide a lot of entertainment when board.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fester1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 131 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

Terrible!!! Do not go to these appartments. The staff r soooo unfriendly and unhelpful, our safebox didnt work and when we tried to complain they would act as if they couldnt speak english, our shower leaked and flooded the whole appartment and again, surprise surprise the staff couldnt speak english, the only time they did understand english was when we were giving them money or when they were telling us off for having our music too loud, YES TELLING US OFF AS IF WE WERE KIDS! :-| excuse me but i thought that these were escapades appartments? the food is crap and staff were always reluctant to give us ice for the drinks we were paying for. pool is unclean and the only semi-good thing is the location

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

after readig reveiews for the hotel we were a bit worried about what to expect, but when we arrived we found the appartments to clean and spacious, they were very basic but had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable.
although the decor and furniture were dated they did the job everything worked
for somewhere to sleep and shower and laze around the pool it was perfect
only saw 2 cockroaches
pool was much bigger than expected, and very clean, saw the man cleaning every other day, appartments were cleaned regularly and clean towels given
close to shops, nightlife, restaurants, beaches.
great holiday, and especially for the price we paid i have no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

horrible basic crap rooms building site right beside which we werent told about got you up at 7 every morning, till 7 at night reps were the only descent people there. must say tho wasnt as noisy as reviews said it was really quiet. as for the island it self boring nothing to do beaches were crap very stoney if you want a pair ov sun glasses you dont have to worry your asked every two minutes were ever you go. other than that got really good sun tan weather was great

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fozandtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

we arrived at midnight to be met by rude arrogant staff who did not speak english . We where left to find our room wich was in a dark corner we opend the door to be greeted by the smell of urine and over six cockroaches running everywhere even in the bath and toilet not to mention the ones on the BED !! . We imediatley went to reception but nothing could be done untill morning we spent the night sitting on the balcony wich had just one chair we had to use the wooden stools from inside the room we sat there all night with our suitcases watching other guests who had arrived sweeping cleaning and spraying there rooms to get rid of the infestation !!. Yes you get what you pay for we expected basic and comfortable not dangerous and a health hazzard we paid to move from the optimest quickley the next morning .

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This is used for teenagers 18 -30 club and escapades, which is brilliant for the nightlife and shops, I could not fault the peace as the teenagers dont rise until about 1pm and liven up at 5pm.
My problem was the spanish staff, they made no effort to show the bacic politeness, the pool bar closed around 4pm and offered basic seating, which they take away when it shuts!!. There are not enough sun loungers for evryone. The General structure and accommodation is very 70,s and in major need of modernisations and repairs. The rooms were generally dark and dirty with ants coming from everywhere even in the bed!!.
Towels were something issued i would think in a prison, and room doors were left open frequently by the cleaners.

For the money I am know there are much better hotels, i visited the britacona accross the road and the vulcano, which are the standard of general Hotels and appartments in this area and are first class.

I would not reccommend this accommodation even just as a sleeping base.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulabaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Me and my partner stayed here for 1 week as part of an ecapades holiday. Yes the accomadation is basic, but thats what we told when booking it. We only wanted to pay a certain (low) price so obviously it wasnt any ritz hotel we were going to!
Wouldnt have fancied cooking in the kitchen, it was spotless but as I said very basic, and I be very funny about food etc.
It is quite a lively hotel, as in lots of young people staying there, but I have to say there was no issue with noise during the night. Wasnt woke up at all by guest coming home drunk (which has been an big issue's in other 'family' hotels i've been to). It was just a bit lively during the day.
It was in a fantastic location, and very spacious. Wouldnt recommend bringing young children to this hotel, but apart from that no complaints. Dont listen to any other reviews about the accomadation, at the end of the day your getting what you pay for, if you want 5 star material, you should pay the extra and stay in the vulcano across the road!
By the way loved las americas and would really recommend optimist for the young and lively travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geminigem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Udalla Park
Aparthotel Udalla Park
#38 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#53 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Cardones
Los Cardones
#32 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Optimist Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Optimist Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Penetracion s/n, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $106 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Optimist Aparthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Optimist Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Optimist Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Optimist Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing