We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but still in the centre of things what a change!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Optimist Aparthotel
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet but still in the centre of things what a change!”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed in these apartments as part of a package deal approx five years ago. They were awful run down and noisy. You can imagine my dismay when I discovered my friends had booked us into them via holiday lettings .co.uk. However I have never seen such a transformation. The apartment we hired was a two bed and had been totally refurbished by the new owner. The place was immaculate and was fully equipped. The block itself was always well placed near the beach and local amenities but has now benefited from a complete revamp. I can now really recommend a stay in these apartments.

Room Tip: Always pick the sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Samuelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    25
    16
    18
See reviews for
28
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The Optimist Complex has been modernised to a high standard. Apartments are now privately owned and great location for beach and shops etc.My wife and i stayed here in April, The apartment had all mod-cons including bbc1-2 itv 4-5 channels, quite at night and all day sun. Have booked again for Sept in apt B 32 with Holiday Lettings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tenerife036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

i stayed in this complex and had a lovely time, the apartment has been renevated to high standerd and complex was so lovely clean and peacfull. the complex is so central to everything including super markets bars and restaurants, so pleased we plan to return in march.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I´m from Madrid (Spain). I´ve travelled for many countries in Europe. I dont usually stay in expensive hotels so I´ve seen all kind of monster houses called "hotels", not apartmenthotel. The most terrible ones were in Amsterdam, Bruxelles and London. Basic, dirties, small and expensives. An all those were suppose to be hotels!!! But I dont usually care about it because what I look for is a place quite and good location to stay. When I arrived to this aparthotel It seemed "The Palace" compared with all those I stayed before in Europe. Maybe costumers a bit noisy but cheerful. The relation quality/price is the very best thing I´ve found in holydays, I would come back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terygochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

What a complete joke of a hotel establishment. The staff and managers were rude and very aggressive, it's a decent walk to hit strip and there's really not anything about the hotel for entertainment. However there is a little shop across the street were you can by the alcohol that turns these apartments into a mad house! If you go with 16 of your freinds and want sheer madness then this is the place for you, it's cheep and they won't punish you for wrecking the rooms, also most the people who come are there for the same reason, so get to know everybody. The managers is not the most decent man in the world, but his catchphrase AVANTE TOMORROW is very funny, just don't be intimidated. PS Angry Spanish men provide a lot of entertainment when board.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fester1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Terrible!!! Do not go to these appartments. The staff r soooo unfriendly and unhelpful, our safebox didnt work and when we tried to complain they would act as if they couldnt speak english, our shower leaked and flooded the whole appartment and again, surprise surprise the staff couldnt speak english, the only time they did understand english was when we were giving them money or when they were telling us off for having our music too loud, YES TELLING US OFF AS IF WE WERE KIDS! :-| excuse me but i thought that these were escapades appartments? the food is crap and staff were always reluctant to give us ice for the drinks we were paying for. pool is unclean and the only semi-good thing is the location

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

uk
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2009

after readig reveiews for the hotel we were a bit worried about what to expect, but when we arrived we found the appartments to clean and spacious, they were very basic but had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable.
although the decor and furniture were dated they did the job everything worked
for somewhere to sleep and shower and laze around the pool it was perfect
only saw 2 cockroaches
pool was much bigger than expected, and very clean, saw the man cleaning every other day, appartments were cleaned regularly and clean towels given
close to shops, nightlife, restaurants, beaches.
great holiday, and especially for the price we paid i have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Cardones
Los Cardones
#37 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Borinquen
Apartamentos Borinquen
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Udalla Park
Aparthotel Udalla Park
#39 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zentral Center
Hotel Zentral Center
#30 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primecomfort California
Primecomfort California
#23 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Optimist Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Optimist Aparthotel

Property: Optimist Aparthotel
Address: Avenida Penetracion s/n, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 59 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Optimist Aparthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Optimist Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Optimist Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Optimist Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing