We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday and beautiful hotel but disappointed in staff”
Review of H10 Conquistador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H10 Conquistador
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently spent 10 days at the H10 Conquistador. This was our first time in Tenerife and we were very impressed with the hotel, in particular the cleanliness and the facilities available. We enjoyed the food and there was a large variety of different foods on offer. We were however disappointed in the attitude of some of the staff. Most were very nice but we did find some to be very snappy and unhelpful, in particular at the reception and dining area. I understand that the staff are very busy and have to deal with lots of queries but this was a holiday we had saved for and looked forward to for a long time and was our well deserved break from our work and daily routine. We did speak to other guests who were also very disappointed in the staff. I feel that our holiday would have been 'perfect' if it had not been for this issue. I would like to return to Tenerife in the future but would be reluctant to stay at the Conquistador again because of the staff. It is such a shame because the hotel really is beautiful

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teribus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at H10 Conquistador, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Teribus,

Thank you to give us your review about your exprience in our hotel, also we want to apologize about our staff behaviour, your feedback is very important for us, and we will take it on consideration ans pass the information to our manager.

Apart of some points that were not well covered, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed your holiday, due to your room, the location, our restaurants and food and our services.
We strive to offer an excellent holiday experience for all our Guests and we hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to recover your confidence in us.

Kindest regards from H10 Conquistador's Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,030 - 2,036 of 5,860 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

fantastic holiday , really dont know what all the negative comments were about , food , staff, entertainment was fantastic, white party , tropical party night , charlie chaplin , whole team were brill, waiters were great at finding tables when dining outside , could not fault it , other than one little thing all inclusive finished at 12 noon on the day of departure and we were there until 18.00 but guess this is tompson more so than the hotel. would defaintly return again next year

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at H10 Conquistador, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Lisa,

It is really lovely to recieve comments as your, we really thank you your kindly words about your experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we will take all your comments into consideration

It is a great pleasure for us to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel, your room and the food our restaurants offer.

Looking foward your next visit.

Kindest regards from H10 Conquistador's Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Have just returned from our second visit to H10 conquistador. Our first experience was June 2013 with my partner and my 2 teenagers. It was so nice and more like 5stars that we booked another stay. Our second visit in July 2014 we took my partners brother and girlfriend and left the teens with family. Both occasions we went A.I. and it's well worth it. Both occasions the hotel was very clean and well kept, rooms were a tad small but secure and maintained daily with everything you need. The food was excellent with plenty of choice for each of your three meals a day, so there was no trouble feeding fussy eaters. Alcoholic drinks were an issue for me personally as I'm not a big drinker or a fan of the "free pour", neither was my unfortunately limited taste catered for-that said my partner and his family were happy with the selections. Sun loungers were snapped up quickly by 930am, the pool manager is strict on reserving beds before the allowed time and will remove towels allowing others guests to use the beds if you go away for more than 40mins meaning there are always beds available. For each week you stay you get an hours tennis free which we took advantage of on the cloudy mornings. There are pool/activities throughout the day and varied, if not a little cheesy, entertainment through the evening and a there's a great kids club and mini disco. The spa is a little pricey but we used its pool and got a massage. Staff across the board were mostly multilingual, happy, helpful, friendly and engaging, Rudolf at the pool bar was lots of fun. Great location, central to all you need for shopping, gifts, beach, bars, restaurants and mini golf. I will recommend this hotel to everyone. Very happy customer :)

Room Tip: Pool view if you don't mind noise til midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Chrissixxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at H10 Conquistador, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Chrissixxxx,

Thanks a lot for posting on TripAdvisor your enjoyable holiday at H10Conquistador.

We really appreciate the confidence you have placed on our hotel by choosing it again to enjoy your holidays. Our best reward is a satisfied customer, and it is a real pleasure knowing in your case we succeded.. It is really lovely to know you had an amazing stay owing to our location, our entertainment, our restaurants, our spa, our staff, your pleasing room and our rules at the swimming pool.

We hope to see you soon !

Kindest regards from H10 Conquistador's Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent 12 nights in the Conquistador this time. We'd been here 4 times already, visiting each year since we'd been told about it from a fellow traveller on the plane home. We normally go half board but decided to try privilege all inclusive for a change. A bit more expensive but it was worth it. The rooms are about the same size as your standard room but you get a bigger balcony, not that we used it much, although there wasn't much privacy between yourself and the room next door. Privilege comes with a fridge, complete with a couple of beers and plenty of soft drinks free. Also there is a coffee machine that gives expresso only. We're not a fan of expresso but it didn't matter, other facilities made up for it. There's housecoats and slippers, but why anyone would wear these in the room defeats me. The air conn was great, just remember if you want your room cooled down whilst you are out, leave one of the two room cards in the power slot by the door. The maids came in twice a day, firstly late morning sometimes afternoon and they also come back at 8pm to do a quick tidy up and leave you fresh pool towels for the morning. A nice touch.
At the poolside bar with privilege you can get anything you want to drink free, even the malt whiskies which were nice, although you had to sign for them. We were told it was merely to control what was being served. Annoyingly if you wanted ice cream of a packet of crisps you had to pay for them (sign for and pay at reception). Sounds really petty but the bar staff told us it was because 'too many people are getting them', You can still get ice cream but it's not the good stuff. With privilege you can get breakfast in the a la carte restaurant . We chose to only have breakfast once, but skipped breakfast most days and had a long lie most mornings. As has been previously said if you want your pick of the sunbeds you need to be down at the poolside by 08:30am but you'll need to sit on them and wait till 9am otherwise your towels will be lifted. During the high season it's obviously more difficult to get a sunbed, if you want more than two, that's even harder.
Privilege allows you to use the Balinese sunbeds in the middle of the pool, which we used a couple of times, but felt like being in a goldfish bowl, so we just went for beds by the small pool where the pool activities took place. Aqua gym was popular with Monica in charge, she's got so much energy. Water polo was on most afternoons, with the guys (and gals) plus the kids being involved as well. A wee bit too rough for the youngsters (under 10 weren't allowed as it gets too competitive). This year they've added entertainment in the afternoons as well as the usual evening acts. Dancing to the music was really popular especially after the mohito cocktail making demonstration with as much as you like to drink as well. The usual sangria making was on on Wednesdays with the champagne foam party on Thursdays.
The poolside bar staff were mostly very pleasant, a bit understaffed at times with lengthy queues at times and only one member of staff serving. I think they need to check the busy times and have more staff on at these times as it was like that most days. A mention needs to go to Rodolpho for his great customer service and Thomas who welcomed us like long lost friends having come back to the hotel again.
As has been mentioned the privilege gives you access to the privilege lounge which is on the 6th floor, same floor as our room. Was busy most times but it was always possible to get a seat (or a sunbed) outside plus inside was air conditioned and a free bar with croissants and nuts and plenty of soft drinks and water. I must mention the jacuzzi which was outside the privilege lounge. The water temperature was boiling, more like a hot tub, fantastic. Internet access was also available in the lounge.
On the subject of internet access, the Wi-Fi was just as bad as previous years. you can't get Wi-Fi to work in your room, the only place you're sure of a signal is around reception or around the pool bar. Come on Conquistador, as has been said many times on Trip Advisor, this is 2014. You need to seriously improve your Wi-Fi.
This year reception only give you a ticket for 3 days for Wi-Fi (yes 3 days) then you have to get another ticket. So if you're on a 14 day holiday then you need to get 5 new access codes - ridiculous,
Back to the a la carte restaurant, privilege gives you free use of the restaurant but you must book in advance at the restaurant reception if you want an evening meal. No point in just walking in as it's very busy. We chose most times to eat in the normal restaurant, where you could help yourself to a variety of varied food.
There are loads of activities for kids, from table tennis, kids water polo, darts etc, as well as the nightly kids disco, which started at 8:30pm and finished at 9:15pm, then the adult entertainment came on after that. Taxis are available from reception if required and only take minutes to arrive.
All in all, still is a beautiful hotel and there is still an ongoing program of room refurbishment which seemed to be around a dozen rooms at a time, this can only be a positive move, and no disruption to guests.
We’ll certainly be back hopefully next year, looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank AJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at H10 Conquistador, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Ajok,

We thank you and appreciate the time you have taken to leave us a review. This helps us to meet our main goal; to ensure all guests have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. It is a great pleasure to us to hear that in your case we succeeded.

We are proud of us konwing you have came for four times in our hotel, this meaning we get our main goal, a satisfied guest. Our privilege service is something which we strive to ensure is perfect for you, we are glad that you took up the option available and enjoyed the services it offered.

We look foward your fifth visit next year.

Kindest regards from H10 Conquistador's Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

First class hotel in perfect location. We stayed at the end of July and were lucky enough to be there for the White Party ..... what an amazing day from start to finish including foam party, dancing, champagne, show and firework display. Never seen entertainment like this before in a hotel setting. Brilliant !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mickmacfadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at H10 Conquistador, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Mickmacfadden,

Thank you so much to post your review about your experience in our hotel and share on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed one of our special party we have on summer. Our personal work hard to give you and unforgottable experience, and we are proud knowing in your case we succeded.

We hope to see you soon one more time.

Kindest regards from H10 Conquistador's Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just returned from a two week break in Hotel Conquistador! We had an amazing time..came back feeling totally relaxed. My husband booked a privilege room on arrival extra to our original booking..we were not disappointed. we had access to a privatel lounge with snacks and drinks with internet . The outside area with sunbeds on a balcony high up with hot tub and sunbeds only for guests who have paid extra. No having to rush for sunbeds plenty for everyone. A waitor came round daily with cocktails to try. The rooms were serviced twice a day and sheets changed daily. We were invited to the A La Carte Italian restaurant for meals and used the main restaurant too! both were excellent! All the staff were friendly and helpful with a smile for each resident! We particularly would like to mention a few of the staff we met..Camilo, Connita, Davinia, Jose Ramon and Thomas all made our stay enjoyable! It was well run and entertainment was very good for all ages! Yes we will certainly recommend this hotel and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbbben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at H10 Conquistador, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Bbbben,

We want to thank you to post your opinion on TripAdvisor about your wonderful experience in our hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend it for all travellers looking for a relaxing holiday destination.

We really appreciate you had chosen the Privilege services. Our best reward is a satisfied customer, and it is a real pleasure knowing in your case we succeded.

It is really lovely to know you had an amazing stay owing to our location, our entertainment, our restaurants, our staff and your pleasing room.

We are looking forward your next visit,

Kindest regards from H10 Conquistador's Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Excellent hotel. Staff are friendly, hotel is very clean, always sun loungers available. Plenty of food choices, good quality drinks choices/cocktails etc. I was all inclusive and would definitely do it again! Right on the promenade so can walk to all other areas really easily.
Only thing is rooms are on small side but you are hardly in them so not a huge issue. Also the queues for the pool bar can be quite a wait but that is expected as it's such a busy time. Had a great holiday and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lornamac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at H10 Conquistador, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Lornamac8,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the H10 Conquistador on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you found the hotel to be as you would have expected. We are glad to know you have liked our food, entertainment, our staff, location and all our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in our city.

Kindest regards from H10 Conquistador's Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,557 reviews
2.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Conquistador

Address: Avenida Rafael Puig 36, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $171 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Conquistador 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea in Playa de las Americas, with direct access to the promenade, H10 Conquistador has just been revamped, giving it a very bright and modern design with a maritime feel. You'll be amazed by the extensive range of services offered by the hotel: Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services, for stays with that extra touch of exclusivity, Despacio Thalasso Centre, our Health and Beauty Centre for pampering yourself during your stay, and our wide variety of gastronomic options, including new eateries such as the Italian restaurant La Vita e Bella, the Teppanyaki Sakura and the specialised coffee shop Mike's Coffee.​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your H10 Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Conquistador Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Tenerife Conquistador
h10 Conquistador Resort
Conquistador Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Conquistador Tenerife
Conquistador Tenerife
H10 Conquistador Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing