We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conquistador.. very hard to beat for luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of H10 Conquistador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Conquistador
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Conquistador.. very hard to beat for luxury”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed again at the Conquistador in August 2012 but were unable to post a review as we had been there in June, and trip adviser won't allow you to post another review until 3 months have passed since your last review of the same place, strange. So hence the delay in reviewing.
The hotel was just as good in August, perhaps even busier as it was the height of the season.
We personally like it really busy, so much happening or going on, you'd never get bored. This time we took part in most of the water activities, like water polo, water volleyball, aqua gym, etc. The pools are safe enough for the kids to join in as well, everybody who wants to join in is encouraged.
When the guys get involved in the water polo it can get quite competitive but the kids are looked after. When some of the young ladies take part it gets quite funny.
The choice of food is still excellent, from breakfast to dinner, a huge choice as usual, with the occasional champagne breakfast on offer. Dress code for dinner, in the summer months (June onwards) is shorts (dressy) or trousers for men. Jeans are fine for the teenagers. Beach flip flops (men or women) are not allowed also no vest tops
Re the sunbed blockers, since the rule brought in during our last stay (June 2012) that advised that no beds can be reserved before 9am, this appears to be still working which is good, tho you'll still get folk sitting on the sunbeds from 7am until 9am so that they can get the best positions. The rule that if you leave your sunbed for 30mins it can be cleared to allow other guests to occupy a sunbed, is a bit more lax, especially if you're only going to the bar for lunch. Best to get someone to keep an eye on your sunbed, if possible. Rooms, as usual are clean and bright, try and get a sea view if possible. Entertainment is on every night and closes at 12. If you want another drink you need to go inside to the bar.
They have sangria & paella making demos every week, the sangria is free, as much as you like but the paella was around 5 euros per person.
They also have the foam parties once a week, on a Thursday, which is great fun with free champagne and soft drinks for the kids. I've enclosed a couple of pics to let you see the range of ages that this attracts.
One thing when we arrived, our luggage was taken to our room for us, which was a nice touch. No we're not pensioners and are fairly fit, so the only reason we could think this was done was either the porter was available or the fact we were H10 members.
Something the hotel could do with is more umbrellas/parasols to keep the intense heat off you if you intend spending the full day at the poolside. Remember the sun in Tenerife is extremely hot and it's easy to get sunburnt. Keep the kids well protected or get them to wear a t-shirt.
We are returning to Conquistador in July this year, so looking forward to it. We will let you know what you're missing should you decide not to go to the Conquistador.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view. Also when you get a sunbed try and get a parasol to keep you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director de Recepción at H10 Conquistador, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs.:

We thanks a lot for your extended review. It is very nice to hear you enjoyed so much at our hotel, that´s the best prize for us.

We hope it could be improved on your next visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,836
    1,559
    497
    154
    87
See reviews for
1,331
2,673
124
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed for 5 days at the beginning of March. We travelled from Canada and it was our first time visiting the Canary Islands. We were very happy with the hotel, GREAT location and very clean. Food was good, lots of choices in the buffet and it always seemed fresh. However, we stayed in the Privledge A.I. option and we were very dissapointed. I must mention, we are very used to travelling to the Caribbean where A.I are the norms. Our major complaint is that we had a lot of trouble getting served at this hotel. I am unsure if it is because we had black bracelets which meant we didn't have to pay, as it seemed as though the staff, especially the bar staff, catered to those that were paying. At first we didn't mind waiting, but by the second and third day we waiting almost 20 minutes for a drink, (even for a pop or water!!) while standing at the bar. We even tipped the staff, hoping that would help and it didn't seem to. This was beyond frustrating and disappointing based on the fact that we paid a lot of extra money for the AI option.
Another reason we stayed AI was the fact that we had the option of eating at the A La Carte restaurant, which we prefer to do for dinners. We were only there for 5 days and 4 nights, and found out upon arrival that this restaurant it closed on Sundays and Monday- this was not listed anywhere on the website and it was disappointing to find this out after we had paid for the AI and after we arrived.....
I also wanted to mention that we travel a lot and I have never posted a review but wanted to let others know that spending the money for the AI may not be so wise after all, as it seemed to change the quality of service we received comapred to what others received- we saw this happening night after night!!
Lastly, this is not a complaint at all, but I thought it may be worth mentioning, that we are in our 30's and found that we were much younger then the other guests at the hotel. We actually had other guests ask us what we were doing there! haha It by no means changed our holiday, but for others it may!
Overall I would say this is good hotel for its cleanliness and location, but for us who like to travel AI. I would not go back for this option!! The service changed our opinion of the H10.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor S, Director de Recepción at H10 Conquistador, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Lauren,

Thanks a lot for posting on TripAdvisor your enjoyable holiday at H10Conquistador.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we will take all your comments on board.

We are very glad to know that you were very satisfied with the choice of food.

Kindest regards from H10Conquistador's Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here on a half - board basis for 10 days during October school holiday with our 9 year old granddaughter on her first trip outside UK. Immediately upgraded to a sea view when I saw the drab outlook of our first room (looking onto street) and ended up in a central area on the 5th floor, with a spectacular sea view. However the room was very small for the three of us and we didnt have much room to stow our empty luggage, kept tripping over it for the rest of our holiday. Pool area was good. Entertainmant , by & large was pretty poor. I like "live" music but didnt witness much here, mostly backing track type stuff - Karaoke and X-factor have a lot to answer for !!! Food was generally good and varied , but as usual you get ripped off at the evening meal for drinks. Wouldn't go back here personally, but it might suit some.

Room Tip: Sea view on higher floors is excellent. Chocololate fountain nights are ACE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director de Recepción at H10 Conquistador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr.:

We thank you for your review. We are sorry to know you woulnd´t back reading that the only 2 points you are describing as not according at your expectations was a show and the size of room for 3 people.

The show are changing regulary and the are adapted at what mostly requires, and about the room size, obviously we cannot do anything.

We hope you change your thinking and try us again, choosen 2 rooms or a Junior Suite, bigger than a double.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in October 2012. I have been meaning to write a review but did not get round to it. The hotel is in a great location, good facilities and very clean. The room was lovely but it had twin beds pushed together. After the first night I asked the reception if I could have a room with a double bed as the twin beds kept moving apart. This was no problem and we were moved to a room that even had a view of the sea. The pool is lovely and we never had any trouble getting sunbeds. The food is great and you are spoilt for choice both at breakfast and evening meal (we stayed half board). There was entertainment every night and it was a good variety. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. I would like to thank them for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhughes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director de Recepción at H10 Conquistador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs.:

We thank you for your review, doesn´t matter when you write it, the most important for us is to know how did you stay in our hotel, because it is the best valuation we can obtain from our guests according to improve points that we could do.

We hope to welcome you.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, great location. We stayed there 4 years ago and it was very dated, now much improved, very smart and exceptionally clean. We took advantage of the Privilege package and would definitely recommend it. Lovely private quiet lounge and private sun bathing deck.

The a la carte restaurant was very limited in its menu though. Some other guests we spoke to said the menu hadn't changed for 4 years. The food they did serve looked delicious and the waiting staff in there were excellent. But an Italian restaurant with no chicken or steak dishes on the menu was disappointing. Also the food in the main restaurant was at best average.

A bit short of drawer space in rooms, would be really stuck if we had been there for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetDunn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director de Recepción at H10 Conquistador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mrs.:

Thanks for your comments. It is very nice to hear from our guests this type of reviews.

We let you know that we have sent your opinion to our decorators, in order to let them know what are you thinking about the draw space.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed in Las America many times but first time at the conquistador, and I couldnt fault it (well if Im being really picky a heated pool would have been nice).
We had a triple room AI sea view, and thought the room more than adequate for our needs. The food was excellent at every meal and we were really spoilt by the quality and choice on offer. Drinks were also very good all branded and even included a excellent cocktail selection.
After many years of AI, Ive got used to bland food offerings and cheap local drinks, it really was worth paying the extra to stay here.
Priviledge - well I did try to upgrade but was told not possible as we were a party of 3, did we miss anything? I dont think so..
Staff lovely and friendly at every stage, and yes reception was tricker, but they where very busy and coped best they could under the circumstances.
Entertainment was good as they didnt pester you and left you to decide if you wanted to join in or not, and each evening a professional act was brought in to entertain us and all where very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alicatali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director de Recepción at H10 Conquistador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mrs.

We are very pleased to know you have spent nice time in our resort, and we thank you for these comments on Tripadvisor.

Let us know inform you why we don´t permit to allocate more than 2 people in our Privilege rooms, and it is because due to the built of the rooms these are not quite bigger to offer what we understand must be a higher level of comfort in our hotel, and we decide to not allow more than 2 people in each room making their stay more comfortable and nice.

Always can be found the option to book 2 rooms and be allocate 2 persons in one room and the other into the another one.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked privilege superior room and were allocated a standard room with a small side balcony and a view of the pool partially obscured by a dingy green roof. On complaining we were told that prvilege superior room does not guarantee one of the refurbished rooms with full sea and pool views. Apparently it only promises access to the privilege facilities. We were also told that being Grand Class members we wasted money on paying for Privilege rooms. If only we had known this before booking!

Room Tip: Insist on a sea facing room when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director de Recepción at H10 Conquistador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mrs.

We are very confused when we read your review because we are sure that you didn´t understand that the H10 Grand Class benefits and the Privilege Services that can just be taken on in Privilege rooms) are diferent things. Privilege rooms are located on the 6th or 7th floor facing the sea (the unique direction of the view on these floors), so we are sure and you would be sure that you didn´t ever book Privilege room.
Having the H10 Grand Class member you are very, very repeater from our hotel, for this reason we also don´t understand your review, and we would be pleased to hear from you directly, so if you want, please contact us to clarify exactly what your have been written.

Waiting for your contact,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Las Palmeras
H10 Las Palmeras
#15 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#10 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Conquistador

Property: H10 Conquistador
Address: Avenida Rafael Puig 36, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Conquistador 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea in Playa de las Americas, with direct access to the promenade, H10 Conquistador has just been revamped, giving it a very bright and modern design with a maritime feel. You'll be amazed by the extensive range of services offered by the hotel: Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services, for stays with that extra touch of exclusivity, Despacio Thalasso Centre, our Health and Beauty Centre for pampering yourself during your stay, and our wide variety of gastronomic options, including new eateries such as the Italian restaurant La Vita e Bella, the Teppanyaki Sakura and the specialised coffee shop Mike's Coffee.​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Conquistador Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Tenerife Conquistador
h10 Conquistador Resort
Conquistador Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Conquistador Tenerife
Conquistador Tenerife
H10 Conquistador Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing