We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, can't wait to return x”
Review of H10 Conquistador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H10 Conquistador
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We arrived at the hotel mid day last Friday the 29 June, we was greeted at the gorgeous reception area and was provided our privelidge bands and our room card.

The room - the hotel room in the privilege area on the 6th floor was lovely, when we first got in to the room there was a bottle of champaign and some welcome chocolates waiting for us because it was our anniversary, all was perfect until I sat on the bed.... It was like rock! I thought after plenty of wine I would fall to sleep but that wasn't the case, my husband went to see reception and they were brilliant, they arranged for someone to bring a foam thin mattress to put on top, this was much better.

The all inclusive for privelidge was outstanding u could have absolutely anything apart from champaign which was fine for me.

The food is lovely, lengthy of choice even for me because I'm fussy, fresh omelettes in the morning and the older guy who makes them was lovely. On an evening I had pasta and again this is also prepared in front of u with choices of sauce and meat veg etc. everyone who goes here must have a doughnut they are to die for!!

In the mornings we would go by the pool in the middle island and chill in the sun and after lunch we would go on to the roof section and sit in the jacuzzi and take In the views.

The location is perfect, next to everything you need.

Apart from the hard bed we had a lovely relaxing week, I highly recommend this hotel to all my friends family and to anyone who reads the review.

We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicnnev12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director de Recepción at H10 Conquistador, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Mr/s..

We are pleased to be knowed you excellent opinion about us. We are very proud our work has been correctly done, and you felt this.

We hope we can welcome you in a near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,951 - 2,957 of 5,994 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday staying at the hotel conquistador player de las Americas, it is located in a fabulous position, right on the sea front, ideal for many walks and prestigious shops.
Hotel couldn't be faulted, we upgraded to a sea view double room, able to watch surfers and sunsets from our 5th floor balcony. We have previously stayed in many hotels in Tenerife, but will definately return to this one

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room, also guests are not permitted to reserve sunbeds, before 9am works much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TILLYTROTTERUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs.:

Thank you so much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know you consider our resort as the best you have ever stayed on Tenerife, it is the best reward we could receive, because it help us to value correctly our daily efforts to cover our guest´s expectations.

Waiting for you next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here for a week in march (bit late writing on here) but it was lovely! checking in did take about 20/25 minutrs but it was worth it. our room overlooked the pool area and the sea and I could not fault it. the room was clean and actually had a good nights sleep in the beds!

we went all inclusive but during meal times, we had to be at the door for when it opened otherwise we would have to walk miles to find a table, most tables were for 2, so being a group of 3 it was a lot harder. i am a very very fussy eater so mostly ate the same everyday, however there was a lot of choice and mostly always warm. all waiters/waitresses were very friendly and good at their job. your plates were cleaned from your table near enough as soon as you finished and were very helpful!

after one/two days we worked out what sunbeds got the sun all day, we woke up at 7 but looking down from our balcony these sunbeds already had towels on!! we did manage to get some by the pool though which was very nice!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Mrs/Mr.:

We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, and after reading it and waiting for your next visit, we recommend you to ask at the Maitre for a table according at your requirements and we will be able to offer you it, because it is so easy as put together two tables and you can have a table adapted for 4 people.

We would like ta have you as guest newly in a near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We returned again this year to the Conquistador, which is our 4th visit as we were again impressed by the majority of reviewers and of our past experiences visiting this hotel. The hotel has been upgraded, internally & externally and is looking fab. Not sure what other reviewers expect with regard to a 'class' system. You get what you pay for, if you want extras i.e. better rooms/being pampered/roof top pool you have the choice to pay for them or not. If you want first class rail tickets as opposed to normal standard class you pay extra, so it's your choice.
We travelled again as half board, which suits us a couple. All inclusive (AI) gets you most things free including beer, whisky, wine, spirits etc but some things like bottled water, half decent wine, good whisky, you have to pay for, whisky costs 3.30 euros but you get a fair amount for that. The house wine is not great. If you're a privilege customer then you get much more stuff free, privilege plus gets you anything you want free. Again all depends on what you sign up for. You can upgrade to AI at the reception desk, costs about 50 euros per day, I think.
Now for the changes since our last visit (Aug 2011). At last they have appeared to sort out the sunbed bagging, which only came in on our 2nd last day (18th June). Notices in our room and everywhere, including the lift warning that sunbed reserving was not going to be tolerated any more. If you put your towel down on a sunbed before 9am it will be removed and freed up for someone else. Also if you leave your sunbed for 30mins it will be cleared of any belongings and made available to someone else. If you've hired a towel it won't be returned if it's been removed. I must add that I was guilty of this, but as I said before, if you can't beat them join them. So we had a long lie without having to go down at 7am to reserve a sunbed. On the first day of the sunbed rule some still reserved their sunbed by sitting on them until 9am. Can't really say if that's reserving a sunbed but if you want a particular bed you need to stay on it until 9am. Only time will tell if this has been a success, I hope so.
The poolside bar now does NOT take any cash, only in exceptional circumstances, like if you've already checked out and don't have a room key to show at the bar. You need this to pay for anything that isn't free and you need to sign for it. Just be aware, if you like a few drinks during the day and something to eat at lunchtime and a drink in the evening, if you are paying you might want to settle the bill at the reception now and again. We did this every 2nd day, rather than face a hefty bill on checkout.
The evening entertainment has, on the whole, improved. There are still some entertainers that could make their performance more lively. The entertainment usually stops around 11pm, sometimes goes on a bit longer but bar closes at 12 midnight. If you want another drink you need to go to the piano bar inside the hotel near reception, which is open until 1am. There is also an Italian restaurant in the hotel, never actually used it but looks really nice. If you're half board they will give you 40% off your bill.
The food was excellent, no issues except if you eat outside, with a slight breeze, your food goes cold quite quickly. They have increased the outside seating area for the restaurant by around 50% so many more tables available. They still have champagne breakfast a couple of days a week, if you can face it. We found the bar staff very friendly as usual with most of the staff retained from last year except for one young girl, who tended to be pleasant enough but would rather chat to her colleagues whilst serving you. I think she needs some training in the hospitality trade as I found this quite ignorant. There was a wide range of nationalities at the hotel this year, not many Germans, which was quite unusual, but also a few from Russia! The smaller pool where they have the aqua gym and water polo was really warm, even from early morning, The big pool was a good bit colder. As usual there are security personnel present at all times during the day, even around the pool and also at night. The whole area has now been resurfaced with non-slip flooring and is looking good.
The only gripe I have is that the lifts are quite slow and that if you're on the ground floor going up you can only press for down as it goes down to the restaurant level (-1) first unless there is no-one there waiting.
The sangria making demonstration on a Wednesday is good, with as much sangria as you can drink, but beware it's quite strong, probably not the stuff you can buy. They made it last year with champagne but this year it was made with red wine. Probably cheaper than champagne but still strong. It looked like sangria this time around. Pool games like water polo are on twice a week, but it all depends on the type of guests that are staying at the time. There weren't enough younger people to get the water polo going. Maybe later in the year when it's busier with younger folk. Also there was no foam party, which I think may only be on around the busier months.
The kid's disco is on between 08:30pm and 09:15pm, great to see the youngsters having fun. A few of the kid's entertainers missing this year, new ones are trying their best. Raphael, who takes some of the pool games and is also the master of ceremonies is a great asset to the hotel. His perfomance making the sangria is not to be missed. Great entertainment.
The hotel requires guests to wear appropriate clothing when entering the dining room in the evening. NO flip flops are allowed unless they appear quite dressy, definately no beach wear, and no vest tops. Gents need to wear long trousers, although in the summer months, June onwards, they will allow shorts that go past the knee. Also long trousers mean jeans are ok, especially with teenagers who may not possess dressy long trousers. Ladies are ok with shorts. This review was edited as I forgot to mention the dress code for the restaurant.
All in all, another great holiday, can't wait to go back in August.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank AJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs.:

We are very pleased to know your opinion about our hotel and also how well have you cleared that everyone gets what they want to pay for.

We thanks so much, and we hope to see you back in August as you wrote.

Best regards,

Tobias Bossecker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Having read a lot of reviews before making our choice we decided on this hotel as we are aware you will always get some negative feed back,but i am pleased to say we made the right choice.Check in was a breeze as we were the only party dropped off,reception area is very clean and fresh looking.The rooms were clean and tidy with an excellent pool view only complaint would be that my friends had three beds in their room and it was a bit of a squeeze.Pool area is lovely no sign of rubbish as noted in other reviews , we arrived around 2.pm and managed to find a sunbed no problem thanks to the no reserving rule.Bar staff were friendly Thomas beening very helpful and patient more than i can say for one member of staff who at times could be rude and also called us B***tard English when we requested smirnoff and not the cheap vodka ,that said he was the only member of staff we found to be this way .Rafeal worked tirelessly from water aerobics to night time entertainment and he had us in stitches worth his weight in gold!
The food: I am a very fussy eater and i can honestly say i never had any issues with the food at all the salads were fresh all the hot food was hot and while there wasnt a huge selection it was more than adequate for the size of the hotel .The italian was amazing and the wine list is good but of course you have to pay extra for these wines.My only complaints would be the All Inclusive rules are not very clear for example tomatoe juice is not AI a list with what you can and cant have would be usefull and the house rose wine was not very nice.We would definately return and look forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrea l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs.:

We thank you so much for leaving your opinion about our hotel in so popular site. The F&B Manager would like to know by private communication (sending us an mail) how was the incident at the bar described on this review if you don´t mind.
About the All Inclusive rules, we inform everyone how is incluide by a leaflet, so usually there is no problem at all.

We hope you come back near in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My new husband and I had a fantastic honeymoon at the Conquistador from 12th - 19th June. On arrival we had a complementary bottle of champagne in our room, which was a lovely welcome. Room had been refurbished and we had a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea, it was perfect! We were all inclusive and there was a huge variety of food and drinks to choose from. Bar and restaurant staff were all polite and friendly, as were the cleaning staff. However we did find some of the the reception staff rather rude and unhelpful, they were always busy which could be why but I do think they could adopt a more friendly approach. The pool area was really nice and we enjoyed both the pools, especially the smaller one which was always warm. The day before we left there was a new rule introduced to prevent anyone reserving a sunbed before 9am which is a great idea as so many people did this, although there were always plenty of sunbeds available anyway and we never found it a problem. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay here, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone else and hope to return one day in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs,

We thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor, we are very pleased to know you want to come back and you decide to recommend us, that´s a fantastic news.

We are also glad to know our new procedure about the sunbeds is going well, because it was an improvement we got from guest´s recommendations.Also, I would like to know further information about what you wrote respect at some person at the reception, because it would be a way to get better this kind of things. If you don´t mind, please write privately at our hotel mail about that.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week. We were half board. Pool was brilliant, staff good majority of the time. Excellent location. Clean airy rooms. Food was great too, excellent choices. Tenerife was excellent, food was great and cheap. A new policy was introduduced, SunBeds couldnt be reserved which was good as people were commenting about towels left on the beds.

Room Tip: Were were in room 537, looking over the pool. 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IrelandBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Mrs.:

We thank you so much for writing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that our new procedure about the sunbeds is going good. It is a fantastic notice.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Las Palmeras
H10 Las Palmeras
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Conquistador

Address: Avenida Rafael Puig 36, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $173 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Conquistador 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea in Playa de las Americas, with direct access to the promenade, H10 Conquistador has just been revamped, giving it a very bright and modern design with a maritime feel. You'll be amazed by the extensive range of services offered by the hotel: Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services, for stays with that extra touch of exclusivity, Despacio Thalasso Centre, our Health and Beauty Centre for pampering yourself during your stay, and our wide variety of gastronomic options, including new eateries such as the Italian restaurant La Vita e Bella, the Teppanyaki Sakura and the specialised coffee shop Mike's Coffee.​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your H10 Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Conquistador Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Tenerife Conquistador
h10 Conquistador Resort
Conquistador Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Conquistador Tenerife
Conquistador Tenerife
H10 Conquistador Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing