We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed here with my family 2 years in a row. It is located right across the beach and is rather far from any possible club or nightlife venues. You'll get access to other Mare Nostrum resort hotels that have nice selection of activities for kids starting from age of three.

Room Tip: Evenings can be windy so mind that when choosing room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I´m glad to know that you have enjoyed our services, specially those related to our Kids Club.

As a resort, we offer activities for all ages and I hope you and your family have had the chance to make a good use of all our facilities.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information regarding your next booking. We´ll be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,


Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 3,101 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Good points:
*Beds are large and a bit firm, but the hotel provides mattress toppers if required.
*Sunbeds are good and usually there are enough for the number of guests in the hotel.
*Front of the hotel, facing the main road can be noisy, especially at night, but there is an
excellent quiet walkway to the rear, between the hotel and the sandy beach.This wide
pedestrianised walkway, provided by the local Council, runs at the edge of the beach, right
along the whole of the area from Los Christianos to Costa Adeje and is great if you like walking.
*The adjacent beach is artificially sanded to a good standard, with lots of sunbeds , but they
are not owned by the hotel and you have to pay for a day's hire. Like all these artificial beaches
you have to be careful of sharp rocks when swimming in the bay, or even paddling there.
*There are large safes in the rooms.These are very useful and free!
*There are also large efficient refrigerators in the rooms, but these have to be paid for, in
advance. But in my opinion well worth the money.
* We had half board and found the breakfasts to be very good and the evening meals were also
to our liking.
* The Cleopatra is much superior to it's sister hotel next door. The Mediterranean Palace is
getting really run-down and has all the charm of Butlins. Can't believe that both hotels are
rated with the same 4 stars.

Not so good points:
*There were noisy building works in and on the Pyramid ( for the new Hard Rock Cafe ) with
no warnings ( or any apology for the disruption ).
*Cleaning staff are pleasant and quick. unfortunately they aren't too good at cleaning. Our floor
was really filthy when we moved in and we had to get "Housekeeping" to clean it. They did ,but
it was never well cleaned subsequently. Our shoes were cleaner than the floor!
*Reception staff, average to poor. Can't cope with complications and best avoided when
reception is busy.
*"Customer relations" staff, absolute rubbish and generally disinterested.
*Beware of shards of broken glass in the pool area. The construction of the area is formed of
square blocks with grooves between them. It's quite obvious that when there is broken glass
it is swept up, but not the shards that fall in the grooves. This glass appears to become
dislodged when the area is hosed down and I had the misfortune to tread on a piece one
morning when I wasn't wearing flip flops. Only bled a bit!!

Dispite the above we would go there again! We looked at all the other hotels in the area and on average they weren't as good.
*

Room Tip: Avoid most rooms in the wings especially those near the near the main road, unless you like loud mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have invested on writing such a a detailed report about your recent stay with us.

I´m glad to read that your stay has been pleasant in general terms although I´m not happy about some of the points you have mentioned and I will try to improve some aspects of our service, mainly those related to the standard of cleaning and reception service.

Please, accept our most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me through our web page so that I can take personal care of your booking and make sure that everything is up to your expectations.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Best hotel in las Americas for location walk the sea front from the front entrance would have been a 5 for room if upgraded to sea view nothing wrong with pool view requested a pool nothing available ?????

Excellent food spoilt for choice

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshireminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting here your positive comments.

I´m happy to read that you have enjoyed our services and surroundings.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us through our web site for any information on prices or availability or for any requests. We will be glad to assist you.

Warmest regards,


Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here a few years back and was looking to go back to Tenerife and glad we revisited.
This hotel is quality. We walked thru Los Cristianos and Las Americas and not one hotel matched the location and the seclusion. The only slight downside, and it was not too much of a problem, was the building work (looks like a new Hard Rock Cafe is being built at the front/in the Pyramide).
Things we loved about the place...
1. The location; on the beach but gated so no-one can venture in without a key card
2. The pool area; lovely and secluded, quiet in the main and with plenty of sun beds
3. The breakfasts; can't fail to find quality food and plenty of it
4. The link with the Mediterranean Palace facilities; used the gym every day (20Euros extra tho) and the pool area is also great.
5. The room; well furnished and clean plus new LCD Tv's (with BBC, ITV, C4 & C5) we were west facing and the balcony after 3pm got the sun for 2 hours - lovely and relaxing with a bottle of fizz!
6. The free staff show in the Pyramide; brilliant "Glee type show" put on by the staff then a free drinks and extra show with live band after
7. The check out and room extension; we paid 30Euros to extend the room on the final day unto 5pm for our evening flight - made this an extra day for our holiday and meant we could relax until the last minute
8. The staff; in the main, very friendly and the welcome fizz made us relax and feel that we were in a hotel that cared about its guests

The hotel guests were respectful and were mainly middle to older age, which means that the younger set go elsewhere - even the Mediterranean Palace, which means we get a nice quiet holiday.

To top off the great holiday, we had amazing weather. For November, you can expect a few clouds and an odd shower but, we were lucky and had 26c plus daily and only 3 hours of overcast from 7 days there.

We will be back, a great hotel that provided us with a relaxed and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeLandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for the detailed report you have posted.

It has been a pleasure reading it and verifying that you have thoroughly enjoyed our services and facilities, as well as other activities within the resort.

As you have noticed, we are opening a Hard Rock Cafe, the first in the entire island and hopefully a new meeting point for our guests that you will be able to enjoy in future visits.

Thank you once again for the time invested in this comment. Do not hesitate to contact me through our web page for any information or assistance with your next booking. I´ll be happy to assist you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just after a very satisfactory week in the Cleopatra. Hard to find any major fault and would be happy to return. Hotel is in a super location, arguably the best in this part of Tenerife. Happy with all the main factors that determine a sun holiday hotel experience - check-in, room, breakfast, pool area, staff etc. Would rate hotel above H10 nearby which we also stayed in previously.

As for quibbles, our issues are as follows: wifi, while free, could be agonisingly slow; there was a charge for the gym, which was not expected; and at times what was available for breakfast was not replenished when the supply was exhausted.

But overall happy to recommend Cleopatra and it certainly gave us fair value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Fritzod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I celebrate that, in general terms, your experience with us has been positive.

I would also like to thank you for showing us the points we must improve.

The wifi signal has been affected by the high number of users at certain times, which has had a negative impact on this service.

Regarding the breakfast products, I will make sure that all items are being replenished on time.

Please, accept our most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information on prices or availability.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have stayed at several Hotels arounf Europe, including thje Hilton, I can honestly say this is the best Hotel that I have stayed at. the staff and management are true professionals. The fact that it was full to the brim in November speaks for itself.
I would have liked a sea view, but you can't have everything.

Well done to anyone who books here, you will do yourselves a favor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbrosna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your fabulous comments and for sharing them here on TripAdvisor.

I couldn´t be happier to know that you have enjoyed our services and facilities and I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Do not hesitate to check availability of our sea view rooms in our web page for your next stay. also, if you have any special request, you can contact us and we will do our best to help you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great location, overlooking Playa del Camison, in the best part of PDLA. The hotel is made up of three buildings - we stayed in the main building (Cleopatra) in a sea view room and this was our first stay at the Cleopatra.

Quick check-in, glass of cava and shown to our room. The room was a decent size but the decor and fittings were rather dated. The room has an inner door so you can close off the noise from inside the building. The room was made up as a double (simply two beds made up individually but pushed together). Good aircon system, bathroom OK. The main issue with the room was nighttime noise from outside - more later...

We stayed B&B - excellent choice for breakfast although the supply could be a bit inconsistent over the week.

The pool area was fine, the pool itself a little on the cool side. We usually spent our afternoons there and always found two sunloungers together although there aren't enough parasols to go round. There was some noise from the ongoing work at the Piramide but not enough to bother us. I think most families were going through to the Med Palace to use the bigger pools there.

The reception and piano bar are adjacent with a lounge on the mezzanine. This whole area could do with a refurb, especially the garish lighting. I think there was live music in the bar every evening.

Finally the noise issue:
(1) the hotel has its own private road around the three buildings - delivery vans, taxis, etc can skirt the hotel at all hours.
(2) the beach maintenance team start work anytime from 6am (woke me almost every morning). I know this is outwith the hotel's control of course. Just a warning for you light sleepers!

I'd like to see the group spend a bit of money on this hotel and bring it a little more up-to-date to bring it in line with other 4* hotels I've stayed in. Think we'll try the 5* Med Palace next time.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JustMe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you´ve taken to write such a detailed report of your recent holidays with us.

I hope that the general balance of your stay has been positive, in spite of the few negative points you have mentioned.

Of course all your suggestions are very welcome, as they show us which points must be improved, and we thank you for this.

As you have been able to see, we are in the middle of a new project that hopefully will please all our guests. Our next project will be the modernisation and refurbishment of the rooms and common areas.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future. Do not hesitate to contact me through our web page for any assistance with your next reservation. I´ll be pleased to help you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
631 reviews
3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,707 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Las Dalias
Iberostar Las Dalias
#8 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $145 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Expo Hoteles, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing