We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A touch of class"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Cleopatra Palace in August this year on a bed and breakfast basis. We had stayed here the previous summer and were very keen to return again. The hotel staff are extremely pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast at this hotel is a real pleasure – there is an enormous range of food from which to choose as the hotel caters for the preferences of different nationalities. It feels so special to be able to sit beside the indoor Roman style pool, with fountains, whilst listening to the resident pianist! Guests at the Cleopatra are able to use the facilities of the adjacent Mediterranean Palace Hotel which is all part of the Mare Nostrum Resort. Here there is a really large pool which is good for swimming with various daily activities such as the aqua gym. (We have also stayed at the Mediterranean Palace several times and love it here as well.) There is a Summer Night Festival arranged for all guests once a week during the summer months. This is always a fun-filled evening, starting with a musical show performed by employees in the adjacent Pyramid de Arona theatre. This is followed by a wonderful buffet meal at the Hotel Cleopatra, with entertainment and even fireworks from the roof. The location of the hotel is ideal being right beside a beach, but also near to the stylish Safari Shopping Centre. We are delighted to have been able to stay at this hotel and truly enjoy our holidays here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 3,052 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

My two friends and I wanted to go to Tenerife for a holiday. We booked nine nights in Cleopatra Palace Hotel, because we thought it was good, after we saw it on internet. But, when we came, it was a big disappointment.
First, I have to say that hotel complex looks great, but only on first sight. When we came in our room, first impression changed. We booked triple room, but there were not enough toiletries, towels, chairs... We only had three beds and everything else was just for two persons. Door on the toilette couldn't close so it was not very pleasant to be in it. And it didn't smell nice.
We asked on the reception for wi-fi password, which we got, but only two connections could be made. When we complained to the receptionists, they said it is how it is - every room gets only two connections, regardless of how many people is in the room. That meant, for example, if I was online on my smartphone and tablet at the same time, no one else could use the internet. That was unacceptable for us. And the worst thing, which was very unprofessional, was when receptionist told us that Cleopatra was a holiday hotel, not a business, meaning that we don't need internet at all. She was very rude.
Further more, the hotel was crowded. Room for breakfast was full, we couldn't get the table, but no one from the staff was there to help us. We had to wait that someone finishes his/her breakfast so we can take the table. Of course, the table was not clean and we had to wait again for the waiter. It was not pleasant at all. We expected that, if we took four stars hotel, the service will be great, but it wasn't. Even on the reception there were only three people and hotel has over 400 rooms. We always had to wait for something to be done.
Cleopatra Palace Hotel is typical tourist industry! If you want to stay in a hotel where everything is like on a conveyor belt, without any human approach, this is a place for you. But, if you want pleasant and professional staff, good service, room as you asked for it when you booked - you will not be satisfied with this one. Their only goal is to make money, not to satisfy their clients.
At the end, we stayed there only one night and ran away after our stressful breakfast.

Room Tip: If you stay in this hotel after all, be careful what you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I went with my friends to tenerife this year. Our choice of cleopatra hotel was a highlight of our holidays.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Service very good. Breakfast choices were just incredible, best breakfast ever!

Great experience, thank you!

Room Tip: Room with a sea view just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Returned from yet another great weeks break at the cleopatra, our third this year, and already looking at dates to return. Have been visiting the mare nostrum resort more or less since it's been built and can still not fault it. The location is second to none the staff, as always, are the nicest you could possibly get, professional and yet not at all stuffy, with all the time in the world for your needs - nothing is to much trouble and somebody has written on here they did not get a reply from 2 e-mails I'm amazed - I e-mailed within 2 days of returning home to personally thank Mr Sedano (the general manager) his staff do him a great justice - his secretary Ivette e-mailed straight back thanking me. Great Hotel, great communication, great location, great staff, great food, can not imagine what else you would need, We have over the years stayed in all parts of the Mare Nostrum including the Sir Anthony & Med Palace & stayed top floor sea view with plunge pool - all very, very nice but for pure value for money a weeks B & B Cleopatra as a few people on here have said overlooking Santiago apts. you can not beat it. I met a couple this holiday who arrived the same day as us, whom like us used to stay in the Sir Anthony, they now stay in the Cleopatra like us - I think that says it all.

Room Tip: unless your staying sea view ask for one on either side of hotel facing med palace or santiago apts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have waiting untill now to write this review as I expected the courtesy of a response to Two E mails to the Cleopatra palace expressing my disappointment at the level of service etc.None have been received to date.
My wife and I spent a very enjoyable 10 day HB break in the Cleopatra in Feb 2012. On returning home we booked online another 10 day break BB for late Sept 2012 at the same time registraring as E club members.Received e mail confirmation of membership.Towards the end of our holiday we realized from talking to other residents that we had recieved none of the E Club benefits. On checking with hotel staff there was no record of our membership.
Nothing could be done by way of recompense other than confirmation that we would have the benefits if we decided to use the hotel in the future
.A typical case of one department in Barcelona not knowing what was going on in Tenneriffe.
Regarding the hotel facilities etc we could not believe how much it had depreciated scince our previous visit.
Breakfast.
No apparent staff supervision.
Food quality and availability very poor. Empty food trays not replaced quickly.
Cleanliness and quality of cooking areas very poor (eggs/ommlettes)
Cleanliness.
Generally the hotel has become shabby and in need of refurbishment
Snack Bar/ Bar Hall
Snack bar food quality and variety. Poor and not value for money
Bar Hall. Needs improvement and change to encourage a better atmosphere. Understaffed.
It is our opinion that the only good thing about this hotel is its location.It is no longer 4 Star and certainly not value for money

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank william813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Mr william813,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken transmitting us your impressions about your stay at the Hotel Cleopatra Palace. It indeed means a lot to us as every shared impression helps us improving our service.
We would like to apologise for the incident you mentioned regarding the e-mails you have sent. We really do not know why you did not have a response as you do not inform to which e-mail address you contacted. However I can assure you that this is a punctual error as all emails are responded and every guest contacted.

Your feedback is truly significant as it enables us to improve constantly. Trust me when I say that we will continue working hard, especially at the buffet, to verify that we continue offering the best quality standards we are used to.

Before I say goodbye I have to transmit you our biggest apologies in reference to the incident with your EClub membership. Thanks to your report we have detected a program failure in our system that we are dealing with now.

We still hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Cleopatra Palace Hotel once again.

Yours sincerely,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

back from a week at cleopatra/deluxe room with plunge pool/
check in with glass of cava very pleasant helpful staff/ explained the pool might not get much sun-she was right- we had large terrace with loungers /umbrella etc it was scorching but pool was cold.
large room welcome wine and chocs/fridge free safe but no kettle/ linens changed daily if you want and the room was spotlessexcept for the fact that she did not wash wine glasses.
baloons on door and chocs on bed on my birthday plus cake from restaurant.
there were a few worn tiles round pool and chips on furniture and it was noisy at night with band/singers at restaurants out side but we enjoyed sitting on terrace listening
beautiful main pool and public areas
buffet breakfast was plentiful always hot with an orange juicer and sparkling wine/only thing is it is self service so you fetch your own coffee pot
the property location is excellent with secure entrances/use your keycard
not enough parking but we got a space every day
we were worried after reading some reviews but if you remember it is not brand new then you wont be let down/would go back

Room Tip: top floor with own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borjuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely hotel in great location, close to shops and beach. We were booked in B&B and the rooms are nicely furnished but disappointed that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room (had to order room service which is at an additional cost) and you had to pay for the use of the fridge. Think they should review this, as this is not one of the cheaper hotels and very few people expect to pay for the use of a fridge in a 5 star hotel (understand the contents but not for the use). Apart from that the hotel was spotlessly clean, and secure, breakfast catered for everyone more than enough choice for even the most fussy of people. Only spent one day around the pool area, but didn't feel that there was much of an atmosphere so opted for the beach for remainder of holiday. The hotel is an ideal location if you want to walk to Los Cristianos (stroll of approx. 15-20 mins) and the same if you go in the opposite direction to Costa Adeje. Overall we enjoyed our stay here, but didn't feel we were getting value for money so have booked a different hotel for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#13 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
559 reviews
3.0 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $145 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Expo Hoteles, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing