We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed at response from management.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have waiting untill now to write this review as I expected the courtesy of a response to Two E mails to the Cleopatra palace expressing my disappointment at the level of service etc.None have been received to date.
My wife and I spent a very enjoyable 10 day HB break in the Cleopatra in Feb 2012. On returning home we booked online another 10 day break BB for late Sept 2012 at the same time registraring as E club members.Received e mail confirmation of membership.Towards the end of our holiday we realized from talking to other residents that we had recieved none of the E Club benefits. On checking with hotel staff there was no record of our membership.
Nothing could be done by way of recompense other than confirmation that we would have the benefits if we decided to use the hotel in the future
.A typical case of one department in Barcelona not knowing what was going on in Tenneriffe.
Regarding the hotel facilities etc we could not believe how much it had depreciated scince our previous visit.
Breakfast.
No apparent staff supervision.
Food quality and availability very poor. Empty food trays not replaced quickly.
Cleanliness and quality of cooking areas very poor (eggs/ommlettes)
Cleanliness.
Generally the hotel has become shabby and in need of refurbishment
Snack Bar/ Bar Hall
Snack bar food quality and variety. Poor and not value for money
Bar Hall. Needs improvement and change to encourage a better atmosphere. Understaffed.
It is our opinion that the only good thing about this hotel is its location.It is no longer 4 Star and certainly not value for money

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank william813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Mr william813,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken transmitting us your impressions about your stay at the Hotel Cleopatra Palace. It indeed means a lot to us as every shared impression helps us improving our service.
We would like to apologise for the incident you mentioned regarding the e-mails you have sent. We really do not know why you did not have a response as you do not inform to which e-mail address you contacted. However I can assure you that this is a punctual error as all emails are responded and every guest contacted.

Your feedback is truly significant as it enables us to improve constantly. Trust me when I say that we will continue working hard, especially at the buffet, to verify that we continue offering the best quality standards we are used to.

Before I say goodbye I have to transmit you our biggest apologies in reference to the incident with your EClub membership. Thanks to your report we have detected a program failure in our system that we are dealing with now.

We still hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Cleopatra Palace Hotel once again.

Yours sincerely,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 3,085 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

back from a week at cleopatra/deluxe room with plunge pool/
check in with glass of cava very pleasant helpful staff/ explained the pool might not get much sun-she was right- we had large terrace with loungers /umbrella etc it was scorching but pool was cold.
large room welcome wine and chocs/fridge free safe but no kettle/ linens changed daily if you want and the room was spotlessexcept for the fact that she did not wash wine glasses.
baloons on door and chocs on bed on my birthday plus cake from restaurant.
there were a few worn tiles round pool and chips on furniture and it was noisy at night with band/singers at restaurants out side but we enjoyed sitting on terrace listening
beautiful main pool and public areas
buffet breakfast was plentiful always hot with an orange juicer and sparkling wine/only thing is it is self service so you fetch your own coffee pot
the property location is excellent with secure entrances/use your keycard
not enough parking but we got a space every day
we were worried after reading some reviews but if you remember it is not brand new then you wont be let down/would go back

Room Tip: top floor with own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borjuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely hotel in great location, close to shops and beach. We were booked in B&B and the rooms are nicely furnished but disappointed that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room (had to order room service which is at an additional cost) and you had to pay for the use of the fridge. Think they should review this, as this is not one of the cheaper hotels and very few people expect to pay for the use of a fridge in a 5 star hotel (understand the contents but not for the use). Apart from that the hotel was spotlessly clean, and secure, breakfast catered for everyone more than enough choice for even the most fussy of people. Only spent one day around the pool area, but didn't feel that there was much of an atmosphere so opted for the beach for remainder of holiday. The hotel is an ideal location if you want to walk to Los Cristianos (stroll of approx. 15-20 mins) and the same if you go in the opposite direction to Costa Adeje. Overall we enjoyed our stay here, but didn't feel we were getting value for money so have booked a different hotel for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have just got back from a week at this hotel half board. This hotel is in a great GREAT location, it is just steps away from the lovely beach and minutes walk away from restaurants, bars, shops. We had a pool view and after reading many reviews I would say this is definitely the most quietest part to have a room so I would opt for a room with pool view. We found our patio door would not look and although I was not too worried about it I felt the need to ring down to reception.as I didn't want them to think we had broken it! Within a few hours a maintenance man rang our door, walked straight in and fixed it there and then within about 30 seconds, great service! The food as most people are saying is very much the same sort of stuff but was tasty! I was impressed with the breakfast, you can have omelettes and eggs cooked however you like there and then in front of you. Plenty of choice too! On the Monday evening we watched a show called "Time Of Your Life" this was free and included a free drink by the Roman pool. I thought this was a fantastic show and was put together by the staff! I thought all the staff were extremely friendly and would do their best to help you whenever possible. I thought the Hotel could do with updating a little but was very very clean and the maid service was excellent. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Gentleman- ONLY long trousers when you eat dinner in the evening and get a room by the pool for peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Welshpool, United Kingdom
5612
Reviewed November 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hi we stayed at this hotel from the 2nd Nov to the 9th the hotel was great spotless room service daily our room for the money good but no tea or coffee making facilities! we had to ask for kettle and if you asked room service they would charge us 5 euros after buying tea bags sugar they could charge for using a fridge the best is still to come breakfast what a bad joke the water for a cup of tea or coffee never hot enough the actual breakfast never hot enough to eat the last two mornings my partner had cereal and fruit! by the time we got our plates back to the table everything was cold lovely food wasted!

Room Tip: rooms near main street too noisey we had to change
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andythegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here in Oct for a week, nice place but what a smell from the plugs in the sinks. Im sorry but its not worth the star rating. We went for breakfast one morning and the table was absolutely disgracefull, butter smudges, spilt suger and crumbs all over. We went b&b to Golf Del Sur in Tenerife last year and it was half the price and much nicer, in fact we chose to back there in April. We would of went back to Cleopatra Palace but to be honest between the 2 I would choose the 1 in Golf Del Sur all day long.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ft1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
615 reviews
3.0 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,628 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
5,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $143 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Expo Hoteles, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing