We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another unforgettable wonderful holiday with the Mare Nostrum team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have travelled to Tenerife for the last 15 years and for the past 10 years we have stayed at the Mare Nostrum Resort, either at the Cleopatra Palace ( more relaxing, quiet yet suitable for families) or the Med Palace (where all the entertainment is based during the day) and have had a wonderful time, everytime. We would not stay anywhere else in Tenerife. I think the main benefits or staying here are:
1) Wonderful location - right on El Camison Beach and lovely, classy shops and restuarants opposite. It is not noisy.
2) Service - the team from reception, porters, chef's, waiters, maids, Management - everyone is always ready to help and nothing is too much trouble.
3) Cleanliness - amazing, the rooms and public areas are spotless.
4) Apperance - the most opulent, luxurious looking hotel in Tenerife, the fountains that make the front of the hotels are the main focul point of the whole area and I would guess nearly every holiday maker to Tenerife, staying in the area takes a photo of them. I am always so proud to say we stay there. It is a very admired hotel by all nationalities.
5) Rooms - spacious enough, clean, well equipped bathroom, not oppulent but very comfortable and clean.
6) Views - in my opinion a sea view is worth the supplement or ask for a view at the beach end overlooking the Med Palace if staying in the Cleopatra, or if staying in the Med Palace, I would always book a pool view as a Mountain view may be nosier. With many pool views at the Med Palace you should also be able to see the sea.
7) Food - breakfast, lunch and evening meal are all buffett and there is a tremendous amount of choice, fresh smoothie bar, fresh meat counter, cooked to order omlettes, pancakes, eggs, anything you want and the standard cereals, nuts, fruits, breads, cakes, hot buffett and for lunch and evening meal there is a typical buffett plus wonderful fish, salads and meat cooked to order.I think we lived on fresh prawns, mussells and steak!!
In summary, we truly love this place, as do my parents, it really does feel like going home. If you want to go to a hotel where you will be looked after, have an excellent location and like wondering around shops in an evening and soaking up the atmospehere you can not beat it

Room Tip: Sea view or mountain view overlooking the Med Palace towards the beach - they will understand??!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clair1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,918 - 1,924 of 3,103 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel needs investment, hotel needs a total refurb, it needs new furniture in lounge areas, take down the filthy net curtains, rooms need to be modernised, dining room again showing its age. Towels everywhere when it rained, lots of leaks.
Plus points for this hotel, location, fab welcome, lovely pool area, security good, great free staff show.
Other not so good bits - Needs a total refurb, Staff at breakfast need more support, they don't seem happy at work, queuing too long for egg dishes and fresh orange juice.
Disappointed that planned events were cancelled at short notice because of weather, we were looking forward to the Halloween celebrations, hotel has a lot of space surely it could have been held indoors. Seems to be lots of space/rooms in hotel not being used, sort of lost its way/ soul this hotel. Wifi hit and miss. Hard mattress in rooms.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the sea or pool or you could end up facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Escapingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We used all premises of MARE NOSTRUM (Medit./Sir Anthony/Cleopatra)
At the end of the 'old' Sir Anthony and the start of the 'new' it was unbeatablle!
As for now CLEOPATRA is far the best in terms of price/quality:.Staff is 'SUPER'
Close to the beach,ROOMS very clean and still OK,Breakfast complete etc.etc.
Thank you for a perfect break! ...we will be back in december!

Room Tip: as far away as possible from the 'piramide'(close to the seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for 5 years now visiting twice a year (Mid Spring & Winter)! The first time we stayed was as spectacular inside as it was from the outside so we keep going back. We stayed in May for 2 weeks and now can't wait to get back for Christmas, it feels like our second home. Looking forward to seeing the staff again, they cannot do enough for you; absolutely fantastic every time we have stayed. It will be our second Christmas at the Hotel, can't wait! After staying at different resorts on the island, would not stay anywhere else now. The breakfast buffet is amazing with excellent choices as other reviews has said.The location is also a huge plus for us as we take elderly parents who cannot walk far and the area is very flat with numerous restaurants, cafe's & bars within a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: We like to stay in the Marco Antonio side opposite Parque Santiago nearerto beach end as it is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

very solid 4 star Spanish rating.
Hotel consists of 3 buildings: Cleopatra Palace, Julio Cesar Palace and Marco Antonio Palace. Last two are closer to the main street, so if you are to go to sleep before 12pm do not choose rooms that face outer perimeter of Julio Cesar Palace and Marco Antonio Palace buildings - notable noise from the streets will keep you awake. If you choose room facing inner pool - does not really matter they all aren't noisy. Keep in mind that east and south side rooms are under direct sunlight. That applies to expensive Sea View rooms of Cleopatra (main) building - you can't sit outside during the day due to direct sun. Also, breakfast and dinner are served in Cleopatra building that has inner 4 story high empty space full of glass and stone. That is beautiful but noisy for me during breakfast preparation around 6:30 - setting of glasses and tableware does make a know that echoes throughout all 4 levels of the building and thanks to doors that have 1cm gap between floor and door itself you get to hear all the music very early in the morning. Same goes to live music in the evenings in Cleopatra lobby - you'll hear everything as if it was next door. Most people I believe won't even notice such things but for me that is very important as I am accustomed to quietness of Scandinavian hotels. Also all buildings are result of Spanish construction industry, so you'll see some rust in bathroom and silicone here and there - be prepared that you are not coming to 5* Radisson in Stockholm that is all high-end perfect.
When renting a car beware that inner parking spots can hold approx 20 cars for 400 rooms so you'd be parking outside of hotel territory if you are unlucky.
Hotel is quite friendly for babies so you'll get all support you need including, bed, bath, milk-warmers, etc. You can always feed a baby in restaurant. The floors in rooms are made of stone, so your baby won't be able to crawl on the floor - it is still a stone and it is cold. So ask for carpets or use bed. Double beds in all rooms I've seen (?) made of two mattresses that are very hard with too soft pillows in a shapes of a sausage. Can spoil vacation for those with demands on good sleep. I would not accept such bed on a business trip. Note that hotel charges approx 3 EUR per day if you store your own food in the fridge. That does not apply for baby food.
Staff is really helpful and service is personal - if they can they'll fix what you need for you.
There were very few young couples so I felt being in an elderly home mos of the time. Mediterranian palace near by (same hotel group) has considerably more younger guests.
Note - there is more and more wealthy tourists from Russia that can make some noise during the night with drunk singing.
Especially good was in room music-radio with 4 channels oriented on calm music and Sinatra-time hits.

Room Tip: if you are to go to sleep before 12pm do not choose rooms that face outer perimeter of Julio Cesar P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Cleopatra Palace Hotel we have been 3 times this year and have booked again in December,when you arrive it feels that you have arrived back home, the staff could not make you feel more welcome,we look forward to seeing you soon

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8888kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have been to the Cleopatra Hotel at the Mare Nostrum Resort for a number of years now.
This time we chose to have a standard sea view room on the front of the hotel over looking Playa Camison. The room was clean and tidy, as expected, but the view was spectacular - it was great being able to sit on the balcony and look out over the beach towards the sea and watch the boats coming and going from Los Cristianos. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast were again as expected for a buffet style meal, but the choices were limited and depended upon what time you chose to go for breakfast. The Staff upon arrival were, as always, very pleasant and the porter service for bags was first class. The breakfast Staff seemed less than happy but it is always busy and the Lady who cooked the eggs was more than happy to teach me Spanish whilst I waited for my 'tortilla de quesos' to cook - many thanks to you. We were invited to the gala dinner which was indoors as it was later in the year. It's a great opportunity to see nation v nation in a party environment - make sure you attend and arrive at your own conclusions. We also went to see the Staff Show - Time of your life - what a spectacular performance - it makes you wonder how they have time to do a day job and learn such a complex show - well done to all involved. The pool towel arrangements may seem expensive at €15 per person, but it's only a deposit and you can have clean fresh beach towels each day.

My only point to makes is that it always states 'late check out', but have never managed to stay in room in all the years we have been going. Instead we get 30mins in a courtesy room on the day of departure which is just about enough time to get changed into more suitable travelling clothes but little else. This is not a major issue as at least you have some where to change.

Overall, we have had another fabulous holiday at the MNR.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms can be noisy as they clean the beach with a tractor first thing in the morning. Use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIXDeeJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
631 reviews
3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,710 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Las Dalias
Iberostar Las Dalias
#8 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $146 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expo Hoteles, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing