We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location, Hotel Not Without Its Faults”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, Hotel Not Without Its Faults”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel, we stayed for 1 week in a family room, (interconnecting rooms). The location was amazing and the staff very good, however, I do not think that the hotel itself warrants the 4* status or such acclaim from other reviewers. I shall start with the positives.
The Positives:
Fabulous location, very secure (24 hour security) right on the oceanfront.
Friendly check in with a free Sea View upgrade as it was a special occasion (we requested this)
Glass of Cava on arrival, bags taken directly to our room
Free entry to the staff musical in the theatre opposite (fab talent and great fun)
Lovely pool area with cocktail bar and Jacuzzi, towels require a 15 euro deposit per person
The black out curtains were a must in the hot weather and great for a short lie in
The lady who worked in both the pool bar and piano bar was beyond friendly and amazing with customers, she is an asset to this establishment
Rooms cleaned most days with fresh towels
Access to The Med Palace and daily activities for all
The Negatives:
Rooms very basic with little character for a 4* and for the price, E.G. fridge not working, poor Iron and very basis bathrooms, our rooms had small balconies with no loungers
Breakfast was not amazing at all, lots of cold food (eggs, bacon, german sausage etc, all very greasy and not very flavorful, they had Cava and a small bowl of caviar available as well as a selection of deli meats, Orange Juice and an omelette station.
I was put off breakfast most days because of the stressful experience of people pushing and cue jumping, I also witnessed many people stocking up on food to take away for their lunch, I felt this to be distasteful and rude, E.G. 1 "lady" ordered 18, yes, 18 slices of meat from the Deli and took a whole loaf and bottle of Cava with her which was obviously for later. There was also a lot of waste at each table, with many plates full or half full, such a shame when some people have no food to eat in parts of the world, this put me off breakfast completely.
It was virtually impossible to get a sun longer in a good location as people hogged them daily, even if you got up early, they were all taken, we had to go to The Med Palace on several occasions to sun bathe.
The sea view was a nice touch, but I wouldn't pay the extra for it as you are so close to the beach
The cocktails were well made, but they had no Cherry Brandy on 3 consecutive days for my cocktail and they also had no burgers available, the menu was Very limited
Reception was always busy and to make an enquiry, you had to wait for ages.
The Spa was very expensive also
The holiday was great fun, but for the price and experience we had, I would not return to the Cleopatra Palace as its overrated in my opinion, (my family shared this opinion too) there are much more reasonably priced hotels and self catering Acc in the area.
I loved the location though as it is so central for everything.
For amazing food go to The Players Lounge in Los Christianos (such amazing for for an amzing price, great service, British Food on the menu, British managed and owned)
For a great night out head to Dreamers bar around the corner from the red Lion, Angela teh host is amazing and they have great drinks prices and karaoke and a show every night.
We also had dinner in the upmarket Chill Out at the arch in los Christianos and it was divine.
I hope you found this review helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade, all sea view rooms are good, but the hotel has only 4 floors, so ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    947
    307
    88
    56
See reviews for
582
1,715
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow Scotland United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Wow,! We chose This hotel after looking at many and what a great experience. Our check in was faultless with glass of wine to welcome us. What a great touch. Spotless room for 7 days and the best breakfast in Europe I have ever had. magnifique!,,

The staff polite and helpful and the location superb. Facilities included use of the other 5star hotel as well. Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Warm welcome when we arrived with a glass of cava,plenty of free parking space,although that was a waste never moved the car the whole week,rooms a bit tired,but balcony was great.
Breakfast was fantastic even had their own charcuterie and real fresh juice bar,would def stay again, hotel was great and location fab.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WinemerchantPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Last time we stayed at the Cleopatra it was wonderful....so much so that we decided to return and, once again, we were not disappointed. The food is lovely (a niggle of my fiance's from last time was that the evening meal was not always as hot as he would like - there is now a microwave in the restaurant and a choice of warm or cold plates), the rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff are warm, welcoming and extremely efficient. The hotel could do with a lick of paint here and there - but we did see evidence of this happening during our stay - and I have to say that this decorating was done very discreetly and with no obvious intrusion. I would imagine it is a logistical nightmare trying to paint a hotel of this size without upsetting the occasional guest.
We will definitely return to the Cleopatra. We had a look around a few other hotels of the same rating while we were in Playa......none even came close....the Cleopatra delivers the full package.

Room Tip: Higher rooms overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BluizeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Would return to this hotel, room was nice & breakfast was good. Only problem is finding your way about the hotel got lost several times

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have just got back from the Cleopatra Palace, and it was the best sun holiday I have ever been on.

The hotel receptionist was quick to check us in and provide us with a welcome drink of Cava (after a long day travelling, it really WAS a 'welcome' drink!). Our room was in the Marco Antonio building, but don't worry about the three buildings - they are all as smart and secure as each other. To enter the hotel, you need your room key card, so it was safe for my mum and I who travelled together.

The room was spacious and the bathroom was superb. Toiletries were provided, but weren't of a great standard. Just buy some in the resort - there are plenty of shops.

The maids changed the towels every day, and the bedding was changed every 3 days. The only problem with the maids were that they never wiped down the drawers or surfaces for the entire duration of our stay (12 days).

The hotel is central for everything, and has a great designer discount shopping centre across the road (the Guess outlet is AMAZING), and there are plenty of high end bars and restaurants there. Or, if you walk along the front of the hotel, there are plenty of sea front bars and restaurants which are very reasonable.

The pool is also amazing. The hotel does not really cater for families, to on the whole, the pool is very quiet. There is also a fabulous jacuzzi next to the pool...a great place to relax.

We will be back to this hotel again, and we are used to travelling around Europe and staying in the best five-star hotels, so I think this speaks volumes about the quality of Cleopatra Palace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VixiLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After reading other reviews we were quite disturbed.Thinking whether or not we had made the correct choice.
At breakfast the first morning we were so pleasantly surprised to see a wonderful selection of different foods for most people's choices.Even a machine that squeezed fresh orange juice directly from the oranges inserted into it.There was such a great variety of meats,fish,fruit,cereals and everything was done with a smile.I can't believe that we just found great staff and presentation in the week that we were there.Rooms were comfortable immaculately clean.It's definitely not a contemporary Hotel and slightly dated but perfectly functional with a good pool area.The location directly on the beach was a plus too.The only one small tip is 'make sure you get your car parked early' otherwise it's street parking.

Room Tip: High floor and outward looking.Don't take a pool view as one feels isolated from everything else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#23 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel

Property: Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expo Hoteles, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing