We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Caribe
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cockroaches!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights, 20th -24th November. The rooms were spacious and looked clean. However returning one evening and turning light on in kitchen found cockroaches running for cover, when i reported this to the front desk he just shrugged his shoulders !!!
On the plus side in a good area which is quiet and only a short walk from the beach

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    173
    98
    22
    30
See reviews for
57
172
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here the end of September this year. Really enjoyed our stay. Apartments basic and very clean. Plenty of Space. Views were fab! pool and sea view. I believe all rooms share these views. The location is perfect. only 5-10 minutes away from everything.Siam park is only a 2 min walk away, dont miss it its amazing!! Read reviews about noise but nothing bothered us. If there was music it was not overly loud or anything! all in all had a great holiday and the price was very good for this accomodation! cant fault it! well just one thing was that the elderly man on reception was really ignorant and our greeting could have gone alot better, but we didnt let him bother us!!! we went about our business and had a fab holiday!! Cairbe - definately a recommendation!

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 92mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spacious apartment with separate bedroom, living room, kitchen and balcony.
Quite a large wardrobe in the bedroom.
Sea view from the most apartments.
The hotel is conveniently situated near the ocean, Siam park and airport Reina Sofia.
Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
There is a washing machine and dryer for an extra fee. Clothes can be dried on the balcony.
Well equipped kitchen with stove, microwave, small fridge and plenty of cookware.
On the balcony there is a table that is convenient to eat and enjoy the ocean view.
In the lobby there is a vending machine for various tickets.
The hotel has a mini golf course, swimming pool, mini-shop.
Free parking (no problem with the free space).

In the cupboard live ants and they are crawling all over the kitchen. If you leave the cup on the night, in the morning some ants will swim inside.
In the bathroom we met a cockroach, but it is not likely to be the hotel's fault because cockroaches are widely spread in the town and the whole island.
There was very unpleasant smell in the mornings due to the poor ventilation in the bathroom.
Bed linen and towels already had been dirty when we came and it's not clear if they had washed it before we arrived. They didn't change bed linen during 6 days and changed towels just once (but the rooms was cleaned and garbage was carried away every day).
Internet is very expensive. Safe is also quite expensive (15 euro/week).
Walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbours.
Two days in the morning there was no hot water, but it was quickly repaired after a complaint at the reception.
Air-conditioner and cooling fan was available only for additional fee.

Price-quality ratio is adequate. You can choose this hotel if you want cheap rest near the ocean and you can live with ants, dirty towels and linen and stink in the bathroom.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea-side view. So you don't need to pay additional fee for sea-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miha_Ulanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, Uk
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I chose this accommodation as it appeared on booking.com with a substantial discount. We stayed for 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment and paid €170
Please ignore the bad reviews on here because I am extremely fussy and could not have been happier with the accommodation. We were allocated room 711 on the top floor. We had a 1 bedroom apartment, big bathroom - bath with shower attachment, fully equipped kitchen including kettle, toaster, coffee maker and all the utensils you can imagine. Living area, dining table, balcony with table and chairs, bedroom with built in wardrobes and plenty of space. There is also a safe available to hire in the bedroom.
Towels were provided and the cleaners came in on a daily basis to replace or clean etc. The Apartments themselves are well located only a 5 minute walk down to the main strip and beach. The complex has a pool and snack bar and also a roof top sun terrace. This is possibly a fairly new addition as it had nice padded sunbeds and a shower.
I can honestly say I could find nothing wrong with these apartments - 10/10 for cleanliness, location, service and facilities. I would definately go back in a shot!

Room Tip: Choose top floor - no noise above you and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cass1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here with my Fiance for 5 days from 13/10/12 - 18/10/12, and can safely say we were very impressed with the hotel, its facilities, the location and basically everything else! For the price you will pay you can't go wrong.

Our room was very spacious, we staed self catering so had our own kitchen that had a kettle, hob, frige/ freezer, microwave, sink, toaster, cutlery etc - all in fine working order. We had to single beds pushed together but they seemed rater wider than normal single beds, but they were VERY comfortable (quite surpised).
The whole apartment was a very decent size, plenty of room and places to put your things. All balconys are a sea view - which may I say was gorgeous as night. Only downer would be they are a little outdated (but who really cares?)

The staff were all really friendly, and very helpful. We loved the woman in the mini supermarket she was lovely and bubbly.

I wouldn't say this hotel was aimed at a specific age, when we stayed there were children, teenagers, young adults, middle aged and older people. Me and my fiance are 22 and we felt more than comfortable here.
There were a few 'groups' there, but everyone was lovely and respected eachother and if at anytime they were disrupting others the lifeguard would just have a quiet word and everything was fine.

The pool area is lovely, clean, plenty of beds and the pool wasn't freezing - was a nice temperature to get into.

To get to the main part where all the bars and restaurants and Veronicas is, is about a 5 minute walk.
To get to Siam Water park it took us about 10 minutes to walk there - no need for a taxi

Check out time was good - 12pm at the latest of your last day, and as we weren't being picked up until 3 they have a locked room you can put your suitcase in for free

All in all I would defo recommend staying here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharna90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

me and my friend returned back to hotel caribe of may this year, we make this a regular stop off on our trips around the world each year. when we arrived we were greeted by the extremely helpful receptionist with red hair, he gave us our keys and we went to our room. the room had lots of a facilities including a microwave, full length mirror and a bench right next to the bed ( very handy! ). one night we decided to stay in and cook a real spanish feast there was alot of crockery to assist us including a pressure cooker along with lots of pots and pans and untensils. However, it seemed that the 2 girls in the adjacent balcony were also takin full advantage of the kitchen facilities and took to there balcony at 3am clanking pans together and whisks together and potato mashers at our balcony window, we think this attack was provoked as we may have stunk their apartment out with the fish piella we made. as peacemakers we offered them to come to our room for a nibbles buffet but sadly they declined and the attack happened to have a round 2 the next morning we woke up to find our balconette covered with a dirty protest of donner kebabs they had also squirted chilli sauce in my bikini bottoms, not nice! However we put this past us and tried to enjoy the rest of our holdiay and keep a low profile, we avoided the pool as we were getting daggers by the 2 offenders and decided to spend our qualitie time together in the restaurant and discovered a wide variety of scrumptious choices and yes you guessed it ... all dishes come with ' chips and salad ' i would recommend the omelette it was to die for! the hotel shop has a wide variaty of produce such as fresh baguettes, cheddar cheese and lovely spanish inspired sandals at 5 euro a pop!!! you cant grumble with them prices! all in all we had a fabulous time at hotel caribe apart from thatl ittle blimp at the start of the visit, if you are planning on going here i do have a top tip!.... take some binoculars with u as there is lots of midnight actions on the balconies !! if its room hopping your after then caribes the place, in the small hours u can often see semi naked young males in and out each others balconettes and once there was even ... yes you guessed it... a used jonathon on the balconette below. Defo returning next year for another holiday of a litetime.... ps! ... whatch out for bed ants .. pps!.... whatch out for cocoroaches on stilts under the pillow and catapulting out of the fridge!

Room Tip: 220 full length mirror and bed bench!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a weeks at the caribe, and we had an amazing time!
All the staff were lovely the hotel and the room its self was excellent, big enough rooms with plenty of place to put all your stuff. the maids come in everyday and gave us fresh towels, we lost the key once and the receptionist was nice and gave us a new key for €2.
Pool very nice and clean, lifeguard always around the pool to make sure people didnt mess around.
I had read it was a hotel with mainly young groups of people staying here but that could not be further from the truth. There was some noise at night but just what you would expect on holiday and not to the extent where you could not sleep and security guard was always on hand patrolling the corridors.
if you are wanting a very good 3 star hotel that is very good value for money then stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly5gd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#24 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Cardones
Los Cardones
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Borinquen
Apartamentos Borinquen
#37 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#22 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zentral Center
Hotel Zentral Center
#32 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Caribe

Property: Apartamentos Caribe
Address: Avda. V Centenario 3, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#24 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Apartamentos Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Caribe Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Apartamentos Caribe Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing