We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Hotel Bitacora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

Hotel is really nice - bedrooms (non poolside) are a bit basic and dated but everywhere else is lovely and everwhere is spotlessly clean. Food is out of this world - great choice and plenty of it.

Hotel is situated in quite a quiet area and is close to the beach and some nice shopping areas.

Would definately recommend the "hole in the wall" Irish bar (about 200 yards away from hotel.)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gollach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,725
    1,021
    328
    99
    58
See reviews for
1,591
1,066
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

We have visited this hotel many times, and each time we have been very satisfied with everything, the food, the cleanliness, and especially all the staff. This time we took our grand-daughter who is 8, and she absolutely loved it, she learnt to swim, and then really enjoyed the pool slide. The only down-side ( if any) is I think some of the sun beds could do with being replaced, as they are getting a bit grotty!! other than that, nothing at all to complain about. Hope to be going again in the New Year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GranthamDaisypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

If you go here, you will not be disappointed. As most of the reviews say, the hotel is spotlessly clean, staff always never too much trouble to help, polite and love the children. This is our 2nd year on the trot as we used to stay at the Bouganville up towards Adeje but this is in a much better position away from the madness of Veronicas etc. although you can get there with a small walk therefore its good for all travellers.

The room sizes are great and even with 4 of you in the room, you still have loads of space.

The sunbed hogging is actaully quite amusing watching from your balcony! If you want the best spots, be prepared to get down to the pool around 7.30. I dread to think what its like in the Summer holidays but I think whereever you go, the Brits are the best at it. Just make sure your down there before 8.30 and you should get a bed although we went down in the afternoons and got beds quite easily. Again, this could have been as we were out of peak therefore you have been warned! Make sure you are down before 11am otherwise they will remove your towels - Its quite amusing watching people come down only to find someone else in their spot and no towels!!!! Althought they do this, they do not keep to the 8am putting towels on beds therefore again, you have been warned!

We went with 2 kids aged 2 and 7 and with the grandparents who are 64 and 67 from 6/10/09 to 20/10/09 - The hotel seems to cater well for all ages so it makes the holiday even better. The weather was nearly perfect, just a couple of hours on a few days were the clouds came over but what more do you want in October.

THE FOOD - My word, this is the highlight of the holiday. Breakfast is ridiculous, there is everything you could possibly want (only complaint was the sausages weren't up to English standards!!!!). The evening meal was superb every night and there is certainly enough for any appetite. The meats alone were unbelieveable and its just so nice that if the kids don't like something, you can get something else. Recommend Half board as prices of food over in Tenerife was horrendous. The waiting staff were excellent and really good with the kids. The service in the restaurant is up there with any hotel I've ever stayed in.

The only downside was that the kids day time entertainment wasn't brilliant. Although the play area is OK, some bits are tatty and need updating. For some reason, the rota of kids activities wasn't being followed and once we had spoken to the head person, this was rectified. I think they had some new staff who weren't up to scratch therefore in the holidays I am sure it will be better but when we went, there were not that many kids and therefore they seemed to shy away from a structured environment for the kids. Its only a small niggle as the pools are great and there are so many other things to do, we just used to use it for a bit of colouring/writing etc and to get out of the heat for a while therefore not too much bother. If you expect a kids club keeping the kids entertained all day, this is not the place for you.

Went to Siam Park, what a great water park that was - Had something for everyone and as it was outside school holidays, it was nice and quiet and no queues therefore a lovely day was had by all (although very hot!!). We took Grandad down the lazy river which he enjoyed until it turned into the rapids!!!!! Classic

Anyway - Not much more I can say about this hotel other than enjoy if you are going. We would be going back next year but off to Florida for 3 weeks instead therefore it will have to wait a couple of years but we would certainly not hesitate to go back just like many families that you will meet there. Well done Springe hotels.

Any questions, happy to answer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcthe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Just spent 10 days here based on the given reviews. Here is how I sum up Bitacora:

Pros:
Excellent food
Good location
Friendly Staff
Very clean

Cons:
Bit tired looking
Reserving sun lounger is a pain. (Put towel down at 8.00am else you won’t get one)
Bar prices bit inflated.

Make sure you get the spring hotels card and het 15% off the bill. Not quite 4 star % I would say and a little bit too old fashioned, carbarets, bingo etc. I also just got sick and tired of eating twice a day in the restaurant (although the food can’t be faulted). I feel this hotel is being merited only on the food which is a shame. I dont know why these places cant give free internet access either, 1 euro for ten mins on their pc's is a bit lame. Spring hotels are very good at the hard sell.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clash_City_R0cker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

first class service throughout only gripe is the surly attitude of the head waiter in the poolside snack bar

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobebeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed for one week in October 2009 and were very sorry to go home. There are some hotels which appear more modern from the outside but once you are in you wouldnt want to be anywhere else. We had a high room overlooking the Pool which also gave us a good view of the sea and surroundings even though the hotel is a little inland. The room is a good size with all the normal ameneties. Mealtimes were great, I just wish I could eat more. Always plenty of choice at breakfast or evening meals and well cooked - you have no need to eat out at any time. (Our friends were staying in the wonderous Med Palace but had to eat out regularly). The Pool is great though quite busy but you can always get sunbeds. The Hotel is in a fantastic position for evening entertainment. There are bars all around being a short walk away. Far enough for quiet and near enough for pleasure. This really is the ideal position to be in.
This was our 4th time at this Hotel and we will definately go again. Talking with lots of other guests we found that many are returning guests and the first timers will also be returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestMidlandsWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed at the Bitacora for four nights in a Superior room, which was a really good size and spotlessly clean. Yes the decor is a little dated and I've stayed in classier 4 star hotels but I would stay there again.

I had a room at the end of the corridor on the 8th floor so cracking views over the pool, surrounding area and out to the sea. As a solo traveller I wanted to make sure I got some peace and quiet and this I was able to get.

The staff at the pool bar were friendly and attentive. I didn't go into the hotel bar so can't comment on the service there. Staff on reception were ok. A mistake had been made on my booking - I booked a superior room through Alpharooms but the hotel only had a booking for a standard room - and they felt it was down to me to sort out, even though this was clearly stated on my confirmation. It took two days to fix, with various emails from me to the booking agency.

If the staff had taken responsibility for sorting out the mistake on the booking, I would happily have rated this as a four.

This wouldn't stop me staying there again - the location is very handy being close to lots of bars & restaurants but not so close that you have to cope with the usual Tenerife madness.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shem_the_ween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Tenerife
Best Tenerife
#25 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Property: Spring Hotel Bitacora
Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing