We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Winter Sunshine Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Having never previously taken a Tenerife Winter break, I was pleasantly surprised by the hot weather averaging 28°, typically 7 hours per day in the last week of February. The hotel Bitacora is a well established and popular choice, attracting repeat visits from many of the guests we spoke to. My friend and I were treating ourselves to a 50th Birthday celebration and had a lovely relaxing stay. We were delighted to find a bottle of bubbly in our room on arrival! Thank you to our travel agent and the hotel management for arranging this for a wonderful start to the week! Comfortable, recently updated rooms, plenty of sun beds around the pool, as much all inclusive food and drink as we could wish for and all complemented by superb staff and service. Special thanks to David and Alexandre for their welcoming smiles each day.
The hotel is perfectly situated to walk 5 minutes to the main shopping area and a further 10 minutes into Los Christianos which boasts wonderful beaches. Alternatively, turn right out of the hotel and you will only have to walk 10 minutes to reach the fabulous promenade at Las Americas where you can walk for miles in either direction, watching the surfers and enjoying the warm breeze. Not wanting to retire early, even though we are now the grand old age of 50 (!!!!!!) we ventured out most evenings and discovered "The Strip" a row of bars consisting of soul singers and tribute acts which was a welcome change from the typical hotel entertainment. Also worth mentioning is the Dubliner bar on the corner of las Palmeras hotel, which has fantastic late night live entertainment. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,744 - 1,750 of 3,514 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

this was our first visit to the bitacora, we chose this hotel for our stay based on reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The location was great, within easy access to the promenade, clubs, shops etc. The staff, were always courteous and helpful to us , especially as when we were out one evening one of us fell victim to a pickpocket, they were extremely helpful and did more for us than the thompson rep! Food was superb in both choice and quality. Rooms spotlessly clean, towels changed daily. One more comment, we look forward to returning in November, 2014.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 888yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I travelled with 2 children (a boy of 8 and a girl of 6) - the first time without my husband.

The hotel is an L shape, and rooms face one of the compass points, so the superior, pool facing rooms get the sun (S & W), and the standard rooms face either east to the front of the hotel, or north over the childrens' playground. We were allocated a high floor north facing room, and the views toward Adeje made up for the fact there was no sun in the room, which is usually very important to me. The room was fine, and the beds and sofa bed were comfortable. The laminate flooring was in need of a thorough clean,as my daughter's socks were filthy within minutes of walking on it, and there was thick dust under the beds,. The balcony chairs were uncomfortable, but as it was cool and north facing balcony it wasn't somewhere I wanted to sit anyway, although I'm sure it would be nice on a hot summer day.

Although the room had been renovated, the bathroom was in need of an update - cracked sink, and water leaking under the over bath shower screen onto the floor. Plenty of hot water and a thermostatic valve to keep a constant temperature. The hairdrier is one of those odd hose things you often get in hotels - 700w, totally useless and uncomfortable to hold - take your own. Toiletries were minimal - bar of soap and shower cap, and there was a gel dispenser over the bath, so again, probably best to bring or buy your own.

Kids club - this was a vital part of the trip for me, and had activities 10.30 - 12.30pm and 3pm -5pm each day, although the great kids play area was open much longer. My daughter loved the kids club and the lovely Selena who ran it most days. My son is a bit old for this mainly craft based activity now, and was delighted to find a number of boys of similar age to play football with, which he did at least 4 hours every day. As there were a lot of children in the hotel this week, I felt the hotel could have put on a few more activities for the slightly older children, although they did organise a remote controlled car competition one day which my son appreciated. My daughter enjoyed the well attended mini disco, and another couple of shows they put on for the children in the evening (starting 8.30pm). The other children were mainly British, with a few Spanish and other nationalities. Both children really enjoyed their holiday at this hotel.

Food - another important aspect of any hotel. My parents have stayed at this hotel, so had told me the food was generally very good, which it was. The standards were rather lowered by breakfast, with sausages of such poor quality that I couldn't eat them, the juice undrinkable, and the coffee is instant from machines. It was very busy in the restaurant & we did have to wander around on several occasions looking for a table. The restaurant staff work hard clearing tables etc.

The outside space was the one thing that would probably dissuade me from returning to this generally well run hotel. With children who just want to play in the day, we stayed in the hotel most of the time. The sunbeds around the pools were in rows, & too close together for my liking - I don't want to sit an inch away from strangers, and there didn't seem anywhere else to go apart from the lobby. This being half term, and the hotel full with lots of extra children sharing rooms with their parents, it was very hard to find even one sunbed at 11am. This is another of those hotels with rows of beds covered in towels, and under half of them occupied at 11am. Pool towels can be collected from reception, and they charge 1 euro each time you want to change one, so not worth bringing your own.

Room Tip: This is an L shaped hotel, with rooms facing one of the compass points. Standard rooms face east ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mussyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your comments into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our first visit to Tenerife and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay! The hotel was spotlessly clean, the rooms were large and the beds were comfortable. Some English TV channels eg True Movies & True Drama which filled the time whilst getting ready in the evening. The food was incredible! Possibly the biggest variety we have seen & the quality was fantastic.The location is ideal. Within easy walking distance of the promenade, beach, shops, bars & restaurants. The pool area was a little crowded but we always managed to get sunbeds even though we mostly arrived after 11am. The main pool was lovely and warm although I think they were having work done on the little pool and it was very cold. Although the Hotel stipulates no reserving sunbeds this does go on. We saw people who put their towels out at 6.45am when it was still dark & they didn't appear until early afternoon. I am sorry to say they were Brits (as were most of the guests). This wasn't a problem this time of year but I guess it could be in high season. We always holiday All Inclusive and although we didn't experience any problems it was a bit of a strange system having to produce your room card for everything you ordered even though you were wearing a wristband. The main problem we felt with the AI was that you had to have lunch in the main dining room. The pool bar was closed to AI guests for food between 1pm & 3ish for half board guests to buy lunch. We would have liked the option of eating outside around this time and not having to change to go inside. The entertainment was very good. Early evening saw guitarist/vocalists who performed easy listening music for dancing and later there was professional shows including Eagle & Beatles tributes, Parrot show, Magician, Acrobats, Drag Acts and Animation team shows. We didn't meet any of the Animators as they mostly seemed to speak to those they knew but they seemed friendly enough. There were various activities during the day but I don't feel they were announced very well & missed most of them. All in all a very good hotel in a fantastic location! We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool had a lovely view over the sea in every direction. The rooms above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank depsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just returned home from the bitacora had a great time yet again that's our 4th stay there and it's what all holidays should be about the food is 1st class the staff are friendly and are always willing to help the animation team based at the hotel are a great bunch are hard working and always put a good show on a special mention to Monica for the work she's doing one down side the English tv channels have been removed from the tv which have been on in the past apart from that to everyone associated with the hotel keep the good work up see you all soon thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our second visit to the Spring Hotel Bitacora. Lovely hotel, clean and comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. There is always an excellent choice of well presented food at every meal. The pools are clean and heated. Situated near to the beach, shops and bars, with opporunities for walking to the nearby ports. Far enough away from the main street to not be distrubed at night. Faboulous place for a carefree holiday.

Room Tip: Choose 'pool view' room on a high floor, sun all day, great sunrises in the morning, and sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

just got back from this lovly place the hotel was amazing the food fantastic, all the staff friendly, but what made it for us was the great team of entertainers that work so hard in all ther shows and keeping people happy by the pool, they were absouletly fantastic especially carlo this is tina turner speaking its a private joke, but all off them work so hard and the cleners keep ure room lovly would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank isabella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#28 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Spring Hotel Vulcano
#13 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $144 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Otel, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing