We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofa Bed very disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was my first time in the Spring Bitacora Hotel, and sadly until my son gets older it will be my last. The hotel had only a sofa/pull out bed for him to sleep on, I was disappointed that the room was then missing a sofa and there was clutter all the time. This spoilt the hotel for me, the pool, park and kids entertainment where fantastic but the bed situation let it down a 100%. I was also disappointed that a 4* Hotel charged for the use of the Safe and worse again when I discovered no tea or coffee making in the room and thought I was hiring a tea/coffee making tray it turned out to be just a Kettle!! then you had to buy tea/coffee and milk and then hire the fridge to put the milk! Please Bitacora stop being mean, it seemed a complete rip off. I was not happy with this.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room ours looked onto the play park and never got the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaz3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. I do not understand what is the problema with the sofá bed as they are almost new and much more comfortable tan before. Safe is charged in Estándar Rooms , our Superoir rooms the Safe is free of charge and also Kettle is not included in the Price , hiring Price of the Kettle is very economic and therefore we do not include coffee, tea , milk , wáter , etc.. please note that in Spain not many hotels offer this service , it can be common in other countries but not here.Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your comments into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,759 - 1,765 of 3,514 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my girlfriend and another couple. The hotel was excellent. The staff were happy to help when we needed them, the food was very good with a great choice which varied daily, both pools were nice to sit around and the hotel is located in a great spot. The only negative was the evening entertainment which was shockingly bad but we avoided it as much as possible.
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank TheW1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed at the hotel 6th-13th FEB 2014..room 730..pool view. situated on the smaller wing. The room had been refurbished ..large rooms. Only problem with this room was that it was in the corner of the two wings and we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time as people sitting on their balconies could look into the room. Better alternatives are 734/36/38/40. Apart from that the holiday was perfect..food great .entertainment pretty good .We had Beatles/Queen/another Rock group/Flamenco/and the team performing dance routines to mime .cabaret etc.Food is brilliant,plenty on the show cooking dinner time and evening ie carvery/steaks/chicken/turkey/and fish at every meal . Would recommend all inclusive if you can afford it We will definitely return for a third visit Enjoy yourself

Room Tip: If you haven't got a POOL VIEW.... rooms 729 and 629 are at the front of the hotel on the corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretBlackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have returned for our now regular February half-term escape to the sunshine and relaxation of lovely Tenerife and feel much at home at the Bitacora. This year everything is again as we hoped - but a first look around confirms some really pleasing new features - we are staying in one of the refurbished superior rooms overlooking the pool, they have made a great job of the decor whilst maintaining the overall standards, there's a lovely decked sun terrace area that looks the perfect alternative to the sun beds, layout in the dining room has been changed but still the central attraction is the wonderful food, some new faces around the staff, mixed in with our old friends who are welcoming. Best of all this year Wifi in the room and across the campus - for someone who likes to read and then surf to research up various topics or access Spotify and The New Yorker on line its brilliant and a really welcome development - all the better when linked with our Springs card. A great week in prospect - and the wind has dropped and strong sunshine in prospect again this morning. A welcome return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorneliTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a brilliant week at the hotel Bitacora.
We went all inclusive and had a pool view.
The food was really varied and of an excellent quality, I must admit by the end of the week it did feel a bit like Groundhog Day going for breakfast but that is nothing to do with the hotel or the food, we should have maybe skipped breakfast and got something at the pool bar.
Both the poolside and main bar served tea, coffee etc as well as alcohol and water.
All of the staff seem happy in their jobs, from the entertainment team to the woman that checked us into the restaurant.
The evening entertainment is varied although we did not avail of this very much as we preferred to go out for a walk.
Lovely location, very close to the golden mile if that's your thing, or two minutes from the sea and who could resist a beach walk in January without a coat.
We booked with Cosmos and our rep was helpful, all of the other tour operators came to the hotel most days.
It is worth doing a price comparison as we found the price really varied from one company to another.
On our last day we were given a room to get changed in before our flight.
I really cannot fault this hotel in any way.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CathyTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just back from a week at the Bitacora. We had a refurbished room which was fabulous with a pool view on the 3rd floor. Having stayed in another Spring hotel the Vulcano a few times I got 15% discount on all drinks which was great! The food is excellent- I am a vegetarian and I got plenty to eat. Service faultless as usual. Look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: On the 3rd floor we overlooked the pool but did hear the entertainment every night in our room - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We came for some winter sun on 4th February for a week and returned here again since the food is excellent. Last year we tried the la siesta but the food was not as good. At Bitacora we had a refurbished room but two nights in a row our power failed in the room. Could of been a bad plug socket but won't blame the hotel! The big issue we had was the noise of the air conditioning which kicks on at 17 degrees. Very noisy and kept us awake. Generally a top hotel good location and nice food. The meat and steaks were amazing. A safe bet! Good kids pool but a bit cold.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#28 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Spring Hotel Vulcano
#13 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $143 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing