We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but times are changing at the Bitacora”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I think this is about the 8th time we have visited the Bitacora so they must be doing something right! This time it was for a short 3day break and the hotel is still great but it doesnt have the sparkle it used to have.Stan,whom is the man to email should you need to book is very efficient and professional.It was a shame to see that Romi from the excellent animacion team had been moved to the Vulcano,the kids loved her so why Spring has put her in gods waiting room is beyond me! A lot of staff have changed but Fransico who is a great waiter,very friendly and efficient and always takes time to talk really is a true asset to the hotel and the Bitacora need more staff like him.As mentioned by so many other people bar service is slow,they simply need more staff but i guess that is a sign of the times and with various other cut backs we noticed standards have started to slip.One thing you must note is that if you arrive on a late flight and miss evening meal be sure to get your card stamped at reception for the extra meal on your final day.We forgot about this and when we went to reception on our last day the new lady there told us we should have had our card stamped on arrival,now surely this is not for us to ask,they should have told us,after all its their rules.Although we were AI we were told we would have to pay for lunch, now im quite aware AI finishes at 12.00 noon but as we had missed the lunch on arrival surely its only common sense to allow us to eat on the last day especially after we are regular visitors and spring card holders.I think had Paco,the very efficient receptionist had been on he would have sorted things out for us.Great to meet up with our firends again and thanks for the good times,see you all soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment, and for visiting our hotel for the 8th time.

We will be looking into the issue you mention of the extra meal after a late arrival.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Best regards

Spring Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,597 - 2,603 of 3,514 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

Hotel in general very clean but could do with some modernisation. Pool area quite crowded. Food very good and staff very pleasant. Overall a pleasant holiday. However I do want to complain about the door key cards which seldom worked when the waiters swiped them when ordering drinks. This caused huge delays, particularly at the evening shows (Michael Buble in particular). I was also very embarrassed one afternoon when the waiter at the pool bar refused my order because my card would not swipe - this was not my fault but he sent me away despite me having my "All Inclusive" pink card with me at the time. My other complaint is about towels being on the sun beds before 8am despite your own rules. I would ask you to do something about the "card" technology and the unfair reservation of sun beds.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinJoanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dea Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.

We will definitely be looking at the points you mention, in ofer to be able to give you a better quality service.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Spring Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I will be staying at the Bitacora in July but am a bit worried about the bar and the sunbeds.I certainly hope things Chang or I will not be staying!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussDarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Had a lovely time at the bitacora, but it was ruined a bit by the service in the bar, we were all inclusive and found it very difficult to get the attention of the waiters in the bar, so i went to the bar to get drinks but still had along time to wait. Some of the guests staying waited over an hour to get a drink, this is not acceptable and needs to be sorted.

Another gripe was the sunbed situation, some guests were putting there beach towels down at 5am in the morning, which is ludricous. We were at the bitacora in May so i dont know what the situation would be in the height of the season

If these 2 issues were dealt with i would give the hotel top marks. There is a lot of older age generation which was not a problem, they were all very nice,alot of them have been coming to the bitacora for years, and they have noticed that standards were not quite as good as previous years.

Reception areas beautiful, Bedrooms are very nice, large, but do need updating, but i do know they are in the process of doing this. Restaurant is lovely, nice food and staff.

To conclude i would love to stay at the bitacora again, if the bar service was sorted out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debadjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.

Since your last stay, more staff have been employed and trained to adapt to the new computer system which at times, slowed the bar service.

Also beds and matresses have benn change and redecorating plans are in the way.

We hope that you can try our service in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Hotel Vulcano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The Bitacora is a lovely, family friendly hotel suitable for all age groups in an excellant location ( a short stroll to the beach, shops and bars etc). The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. The variety and quality of the food in the dining hall is excellant. The staff are friendly and efficient. I have always enjoyed staying at the Bitacora and I hope to return next year all being well. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargaretBanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are glad you enjoyed your holiday once again in Hotel Bitacora, and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards

Spring Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

just returned from 10 days with parents aged 78-80 and brother/ sister in law 45ish . hotel is definitely more suitable for elderly, even though there is a mini disco and play park etc for young children, the pool area was exceptionally busy sunbeds packed tohether like sardines, no privacy for conversation, so needless to say it was exceptionally quiet with no atmosphere, talking to other patrons we found out that the hotel has recently cut down on staff which was evident at the bars and getting into the restaurant, however all of the staff were very pleasant, the food was okay, plenty of steak fish and prawns, we were not all inclusive, and wouldnt reccommend it at this hotel either , pool towels were not included unless you paid for superior room, fridge was 1 euro per day, and safe was 2 euros per day, the rooms are large and clean, they are being refurbished at the moment, but we found the beds exceptionally hard and the pillows were terrible.( something i dont normally notice) entertainment at night was standard hotel acts, there is a resident singer on every night for those who like to dance, overall we enjoyed our holiday. and no real complaints

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TyneAndWearJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your rewview.

We are glad you overally enjoyed your stay with us. Since your visit two points that you have risen in your comment have been sorted out, as more staff has been employed and the beds and matresses have been changed.

We hope you have the chnace to try them on your next visit.

Best regards

Spring Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The hotel was clean& the food was exellent, the only down side to this hotel was the staff serving drinks in the bar, they were very boring& had no time for guests. Me & my wife named 1 Norris ( coronation street) so please look out for Norris, I bet you can find him haha

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review, and we are very sorry your feel that way about our staff.

We look fowrward to seeing you sometime in the near future.

Best regards

Spring Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#28 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Spring Hotel Vulcano
#13 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $143 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing